We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid place to stay with no thrills”
Review of Balinese Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balinese Motel
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I recently traveled to Cairns and stayed four nights in the Balinese hotel. Overall, it was about what I expected...nothing too fancy but nice enough that I wasn't depressed or grossed out about staying there. The rooms were clean and nicely laid out with solid AC and a large TV. We booked this place mainly due to the airport pickup and wifi. We did have to wait almost 45 minutes for the shuttle to come which was a little disappointing after finding out the hotel is less than a 10 minute drive from the airport. The wifi was also a little buggy at times. Breakfast consisted of toast and cereal....pretty basic but was nice to have. The location was a little bit of a hike from the main CBD in Cairns but we enjoyed the walk to and from along the esplanade. Some days, we wished it were closer. But overall, for the value and the nice room, it was a solid place to stay. We also had a slight misunderstanding with the shuttle to the airport on our way out, but they worked it out and provided the customer service I expected. I would recommend staying here for a solid, no thrills hotel in Cairns!

Room Tip: Room 17 was much better than 19...we stayed in two rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

The bedroom was really nice, air conditioning and a really comfortable atmosphere. The bathroom was fine; the pool was small but nice for a dip and to relax. The Kitchen was clean and had everything we needed. Got picked up at the airport no charge (just let them know when your coming, otherwise there is a special phone at the airport to contact the hotels). They also dropped us back for our next flight (Sweet).
I felt really relaxed at this place. It is a 10 min walk into the centre of town and if you haven't been to Cairns use the map they provide, however it was very affordable and I felt they went the extra mile to make the rooms really special eg. Nice furniture, no tacky useless stuff and very clean. Service was good. Will go there again :D

Room Tip: Look at reveiws. There is no lift to the second floor, tell them before hand if you need a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brisbaneisnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Pretty nice place, kindly staff, nice swimming pool and pretty close of the down town (10 mn walking).
This hostel should be greater for a couple or family instead a solo backpacker.
Rooms are very nice and confortable, kitchen are clean, u can go there without any surprise.
The only bad point perhaps, due to the low season, is there isn't more people for meet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

the room was clean, cute and tidy. the aircon worked well and additional ceiling fan and balinese design features were a nice touch.

the little extras were good; the toast and cereals were a nice touch for breakfast.the airport transfers need you to remind them and access to the desktop computer for internet was handy.

close by the restaurant at the related hotel, bay village was amazing and well worth a visit. the beach volleyball on the esplanade, and green space was good or a morning walk/ run. and a small convenience store across the road was handy.

the location was just a little too far from the main event for me though, about a 15 minute walk or $10 cab ride.

not sure it was great value for money, it was tired, but comfortable enough.

Room Tip: request upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlebitofluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The excellent service began with the pickup from the airport. Nice self-service continental breakfast provided provided (not common in Australia). Breakfast was in an open room next to the (small) pool - very pleasant. The location is within walking distance to the town center. The room was clean and free parking was available (we picked up a rental car in town). This is not a luxury motel, but it was just what we wanted and a very good value. We wanted to see Cairns and visit the Great Barrier Reef. For this it was an excellent base for us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alvinjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 63 in Cairns
510 reviews
0.4 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
5.7 km away
Cairns New Chalon
Cairns New Chalon
#42 of 63 in Cairns
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#20 of 63 in Cairns
196 reviews
1.0 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
614 reviews
0.4 km away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balinese Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balinese Motel

Address: 215 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 4,429 - ₹ 7,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balinese Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Balinese Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balinese Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing