We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
122
59
31
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
59
31
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree dinnerfree wifimassive bonusevery eveningbed dormearly nightclean facilitiesprivate roomhuge balconycommon areaskitchen facilitiesceiling fanthe air conditioningthe east coasthostelfridgenoise
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I don't recommend this place. Does not feel homely. The room smelled bad and there was a scent sprayed automatically from an electronic scent dispenser every hour, this smelled terrible. The bunks are cheap and squeaky, you can't turn off the air-con, the blinds didn't close properly, the bathrooms need renovating. Very loud.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I have been 3 time in Cairns, and every time was at the Jack.
All you need is there !
The rooms are good, the kitchen and showers are cleaned.
The staff is really nice, from the receptionists to the house kipper !
I recommand it 100% !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blondelfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

This was the first hostel i stayed in on my trip down the east coast. Being a solo traveller I was worried about making friends but Jacks is probably the most social hostel i've stayed in so far! You're allowed to bring your own drinks and the balcony area is huge. The kitchen facilities are good, they have a common room but most people spend time socialising on the balcony. You get a free evening meal every night and 9/10 it's really good! And you can't complain at free food. The bar downstairs also does ladies nights, pub quizzes etc. So always something to do! It can be a bit loud at night time but that can be expected when you stay at a hostel that's attached to a bar.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This place is great if you are on a budget and looking for a party. Free dinner & discounts in the pub for the guest. Seemed like there was a Party on overnight.
But we stayed here for 1 night, before catching a bus early in the morning. End up getting very little sleep, as the party downstairs was going on till all ours in the morning. Worst part, no cluttery in the kitchen and no electricity before 9 am, so there is no way of making a cup of coffee or tea.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lizzy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a private double room for 3 nights. When we checking in you have to sign a disclaimer to say you accept that there will be noise until 2am, but at check in is a bit late when you can't necessarily find anywhere else. All private rooms are very close to the outdoor area of the bar and the windows vibrate from the noise so it's not recommended if you aren't interested in partying.

There are some positives there is a free tea every evening while the portions are small you can pay a few dollars for seconds which is a good deal. The staff were really good at helping us book an excursion and giving us advice on which would be best for us.

The location is really central and easy to walk to everywhere.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank purplepolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews