We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaways Backpackers
Ranked #16 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed at the hostel 2 nights and booked this as it was one of the hostels that have free wi-fi and airport transfers. This is not the case as they no longer provide the transfers (even though this is clearly showed on all their websites). This costs $12 almost the same as a nights accommodation. I could not get access to the wi-fi in my room so had to use the communal areas.
On the whole the hostel is clean and large, I also managed to get a 4 bed dorm on my own as they were not busy and the staff were friendly. There is no aircon unless you pay for this in 3 hour blocks and it is very necessary as it is extremely hot and humid at this time of year.
The free meal in the evening is not the case as they provide shuttles to the town which is about a 15 minute walk but the last shuttle is at 7pm. In order to get your meal you have to buy a drink that starts at $5.5 and then because of the torrential rain a cab home for $9 so dinner actually cost $13 which you could either go and get at a restaurant at the hostel or go to the supermarket.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Castaway's is a very friendly hostel. The staff are awesome, they went out of their way many times to help us plan our trip. Very informative and always gave great advise. The whole hostel is very clean. Stay here when you come to Cairns! Great value for your money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmc717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My friend and I stayed in a twin bed dorm, and it was great. Clean, individual bathrooms, hot showers with good pressure. Very helpful staff who gave us rides to the Marina and Cairnes Central. Castaways made our Cairnes experience very easy and affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was just great! No bunk beds, enough space for everyone, a fridge in each room, fans and airconditioning (you have to pay for that but considering the price for the hostel this is still very convenient!!!).
Aside from the good rooms, the staff was the most helpful and kind one that we have encountered in our entire travels - around Europe, New Zealand and Australia! They take really good care of what exactly you are looking for and listen to your wishes. As all the staff has travelled a lot themselves they can often recommend places and tours no matter whether it is to Cape Tripulation, the tablelands or any diving or snorkelling tour!
We stayed there for nearly 2 weeks and were sad to leave as it felt a bit like home already.
And if you are concerned about the fact that this cute hostel is a wee bit out of the centre, don't worry about that! There is a free shuttle a number of times each day and the walk is only 10 minutes - good thing is to go down to the Esplanade and head to town then as the view is always beautiful. Plus the free dinner in town is nice and you can get cheap upgrades for it as well.

We will definitely come back and there is no way of going to another hostel at all!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenja Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Very cheap, clean, and really friendly, helpful staff!!!
It also has a very nice atmosphere and the dorms are not too big. One of the best hostels I've stayed at in Australia!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.3 km away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.2 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.5 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
0.8 km away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#7 of 83 in Cairns
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Backpackers

Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 1,177 - ₹ 3,401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castaways Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Castaways Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing