We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns Aquarius
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
162
57
13
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
57
13
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium apartmentapartment buildingapartment numberspacious sizelarge balconypermanent residentsboth bedroomsequipped kitchenself contained apartmentall mod consthese apartmentsexcellent locationliving roomrestaurant stripnice apartmentcheck in was easyfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Sold the business and had our first family holiday in six years. We toured all over Queensland from the Gold Coast to Cairns.
Really outstanding and much more to come in the future. Highlight of this trip was Cairns and our 5 day stay at the beginning of March in Aquarius Apartments.

We had a Premium garden level apartment (no 3). Huge, immaculately decorated, modern apartment. Spotless. Every facility plus walk out the large sliding glass
doors to a huge verandah with ocean views garden and pool. Kids ( 12 and 9) paradise. Could not wish for a better place to finish our fantastic holiday adventure.
We actually looked forward to getting back to the apartment after our Reef Trip and Tours. Huge TV’s in all rooms. Back in South Australia now and already planning
another holiday to Cairns in the next School holidays. Cairns Aquarius Apartments will definitely be on the agenda.

Room Tip: Ask for Don and Annette who are delightful, helpful and very professional.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cilla1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Thank you Vacillika for your lovely review. It means a lot to us that your stay at Cairns Aquarius was a special experience.

We wish you every success with your new business and look forward to seeing you back at Cairns Aquarius when you next visit Cairns.

Regards from,
Don and Annette,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed in apartment number 66 for 3 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it. The apartment has a fabulous view of the sea from the living room and balcony. Everything is clean, new and modern. You can find all the cooking equipments that you would ever need, including a few baking trays and tins!

Oh the location was superb - smack bang in the middle of everything!

My dealing with Don and Annette was wonderful. Booking, checking in and out was simple and easy. Note that it's a self
Check in/check out process.

Added bonus was the late check out without any additional fee as our flight was late in the afternoon.

I will definitely stay here again when i'm in Cairns. Really can't fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0cha12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you m0cha12 for staying at Cairns Aquarius and for sharing your experience with others . Knowing that guests enjoyed their stay is hugely rewarding for us both.

We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Cairns.

Kind regards from,
Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Apartment complex on the beachfront in Cairns. Aparments are not a "hotel", but by rent of private owners. (If I have understood it right). Anyway, a great premium apartment om a high floor overlooking the beach. Great interior, and 2 bedrooms with separate toilets. Very nice balkony to sit down and relax looking boats coming and going from the Great Barrier Reaf. Good equipped kitchen and washing mashine. Will definitive try to get the same apartment next time we go there. Many restaurants nearby.
A little weird greeting by the reseptionist, but she isnt actually a reseptionist.... just working there, sort of....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frode R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for your comments. You are quite right, Cairns Aquarius is not a Hotel. There are 85 apartments all separately owned. Many are occupied by residents who live here and the remainder are holiday let.
We believe this is what makes staying at the Aquarius such a unique experience. Guests can feel like there are in a home away from home environment. The residents are very freindly and helpful and Holiday Management is on site 24/7 to deal with any problems which may arise.
The receptionist in the foyer is employed weekdays by the body corporate to assist with trade enquiries.

We look forward to seeing you back at Cairns Aquarius.

Regards,

Don and Annette
Holiday Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our family has stayed at the Cairns Aquarius on a number of occasions. Our experiences have always been very positive.
Excellent service from management and also very pleasant staff in the foyer who made one of our little girl's day by giving her some fresh flowers.
We have stayed in unit 42 on each visit, both before and after renovations. The unit is very well equipped for our growing family. We visited in Oct 2011 with our 8 week old and 20 mth old daughters and then returned in Feb 2012.
The Cairns Aquarius is very conveniently located close to lovely restaurants and the Lagoon.
We will definitely return and would recommend the Cairns Aquarius to others. Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable.
See attached photo of our daughter Grace enjoying the unit during our recent stay in Feb 2012.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Thank you Anne S, for staying at Cairns Aquarius and for taking the time to do a review. It is allways rewarding for us to know that our guests enjoyed their stay.
Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Aquarius resort is perfectly located in Cairns, right next door to the city but in a slightly quieter corner of the Esplanade. Everything is in with easy reach without feeling that you're in the middle of the tourist zone. Cairns is hot so much of our time there was spent either in the Lagoon, at nearby gorges or in the Aquarius pool, which we basically had to ourselves. There are too pools on site. We stayed in unit 42, which has been recently refurbished and has great views out over the bay, the balcony is out of the afternoon sun, which makes it ideal for a few drinks before dinner to cool down. The staff at Aquarius were generally very helpful making it a really nice place from which to enjoy Cairns and the nearby Northern Queensland hot spots.

Room Tip: We would recommend unit 42 - on the 7th floor. Great views and nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danieljohnyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review.
Several guests who have also stayed in newly renovated apartment 42 have made similar positive comment.
As our previous reviewer aptly put it "what's not lo like".
All of our Premium apartments feature huge living and entertainment areas. A very modern and functional kitchen, which is fully equiped with all the plates, cups, curtlery, cooking utensils, oven, hotplate and microwave you would find in your own home. Fully air conditioned throughout, with, large comfortable bedrooms that offer complete privacy and separate bathrooms and toilets. Pus, more cupboard space than you could ever use. When did you last stay somewhere that allowed enough cupboard and shelf space for you to easily put all of your things away?
All of this and located right in the heart of the City on the waterfront with magnificent 180 degree ocean views.... next door to five of the best seafood and Italian restaurants in Queensland.
If you are coming to Cairns, enjoy the Aquarius experience. We promise that you will enjoy every moment of your stay.

Don and Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews