We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cut our stay short to go to another hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cut our stay short to go to another hotel.”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel was not horrible. Wasn't good either. First there is the location; not that good especially as it was a long wet walk back after a lovely meal! The room was nice with breathtaking views. The bathroom was basic but the bath was old and very shallow, it was almost a shower! The cleaning staff were very slow and the front of desk staff were indifferent. The restaraunt was a nice concept not perfectly executed. The level of service for the price you pay was awful so we moved to the shangri la which was cheaper and so much better. All in all not a bad hotel just needed some of those finishing touches or a cheaper price!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdodd1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Matthew Katy D

Your comments are appreciated and will be reviewed further with the Executive team. We are four star hotel that prides its self on five star service, again your comments will be reviewed with action.

I would sincerely appreciate you using the hotel again and welcome you to contact me directly should this situation arise.

Best regards
Steven Oakley
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    460
    250
    83
    42
See reviews for
294
369
85
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Nice pleasant stay. Clean modern rooms. Only gripe is that there was no free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JouyousJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Jess79UK

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. The hotel is indeed in good repair and offers some of the largest room in Cairns. We are currently in the ‘quoting and investigation’ stage of our internet options with hope for a positive result for all our guests by the end of the year.

Best regards
Steve Oakley
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Here as part of a South Pacific tour and generally liked this facility. Handy location-right accross from the beach and a short walk to all the action. While this appeared to be an older facility, it was will maintained. This hotel had the feel of a "beach location"-outdoor dining, large pool, beautiful grounds, although didn't really have an opportunity to just relax and enjoy it all. Friendly staff; self service laundry facilities; standard buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank like2travelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear like2travelAtlanta

Thanks for your positive reflection of our hotel. The location is indeed a huge plus for the property and we pride ourselves of being a resort with close proximity to Cairns CBD. I sincerely hope that on your next trip you can enjoy the facilities.

Once again many thanks.

Steve Oakley
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The room was comfortable and clean. Most of the staff was friendly. The breakfast was redundant it was the exact same thing everyday would be nice if there was a little variety for the people who were there multiple days (eggs looked disgusting couldn't bring myself to go near).

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arieldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Arieldb

I appreciate your feedback and will liaise with the chef on how we can make some form of variation to our daily breakfast offering. Just to confirm the hotel uses 100% pure egg in its scramble mix unlike some of our competitors. As mentioned I will review the presentation also.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and fantastic view the hotel offers. The Ocean view rooms certainly provide a pleasant start and finish to the end of the day’s activities.

Best regards

Steven Oakley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Booked 1 room on wotif.com and verified with check-in staff 3 times that apartment was prepaid. Upon check-in, received two apartments. I had told reception that I had only paid for one apartment but he insisted all rooms were prepaid.
At checkout this morning, I was informed only one apartment had been prepaid, and the second room would cost above $300. The duty manager ended up reducing it to $259.
Beware - this hotel gives you an extra room saying it's been prepaid only to charge you the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jodymevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven_OakleyGM, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Jodymevans

I am sorry to learn of the recent miscommunication, it appears a duplicate booking has been generated hence two apartments offered on your arrival. In lieu of your booking request of one apartment it should have been apparent when two keys were issued, my apologies for the lack of clarity. Despite the situation I am pleased that the team reduced the rate to accommodate for the use of the two separate apartments.

Regards

Steven Oakley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.3 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,058 reviews
1.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
554 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Property: Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
Address: 209 - 217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,701 - ₹ 10,690
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story hotel towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing