We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, a few minor quibbles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Cairns International
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay, a few minor quibbles”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Had to attend to some family business in the city so chose the Sebel because of its location. The hotel is very nice, rooms are spacious and well-appointed. Pool area is lovely and staff are always very friendly and helpful.

I do agree with those who remark about the cost of extras, the valet parking service is very good and for $20 per day you can come and go as you like but there really isn't a lot of choice but to use this service if you have a car-it would be good to have been able to include this in the room rate. I did find the additional cost to use the internet-(either in your room or in the business centre) a bit irksome-in this day and age surely this should be a basic amenity in a 5-star hotel. Similarly paying a $20 deposit to get a KEY to the safe in your room is a bit antiquated and not reflective of 5 star hotel-these are minor things but that's what counts in a 5 star establishment. On check-out we had to ask for the safe deposit to be refunded plus we were charged for breakfast each day even though it was included in our room rate-this was sorted fairly easily but still a bit unprofessional and would have been most irritating if we had been in a hurry.

Enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the seafood buffet at dinner and drinks and snacks in the lobby bar, although lobby bar service was slow-particularly for food. Service at the buffet in terms of getting drinks, clearing plates etc was excellent-good to see an adequately staffed buffet.

Overall I'd stay there again, and kudos to them for having good staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holydaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    810
    283
    73
    41
See reviews for
378
914
117
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Have been here a few times and when possible do try to book either here or the Shangri La.
Rooms spacious and clean. Room service excellent.
Only downside is the mandatory $20 parking fee that is charged daily for your car. (the only alternative is to park your car on the street in council parking meters charging an hourly rate.

Room Tip: Get a room rate deal with 'free parking"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Had a great experience here. Came back to the room whilst diner was still going. We went to the restaurant to ask about breakfast in the morning. Staff were very helpful and when I asked if there was chocolate in the room the waiter said yes but hold a minute. When he returned he gave me a plate full of chocolate deserts from the restaurant at no cost. great service the whole stay apart from paying $20 for parking.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausjet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

After many years of travelling to Cairns for the Sebel has provided the best value for money.
The Hotel foyer is grand and inviting. The rooms are very clean and a above average size with very comfortable beds. The bath rooms are also a good size, with bath, shower and large mirror. Overall, very quiet and relaxing.
The Sebel is located at the southern end of the esplanade and close to the casino and restaurants.
It’s unfortunate that on this trip the level of service was below expectation. Whilst working in my room I ordered dinner but after 90 minutes it hadn’t arrived. I called to check and the girl apologised but had no record and seemed not wanting to take responsibility and I was transferred to the kitchen who also apologised but they also didn’t want to take responsibility. Going around in circles I abandoned eating in.
In balance on previous visits the service has been quick and precise. On all occasions the lobby staff are polite and helpful.
Would I stay at the Sebel again? Yes
Near the driveway entrance there is a great cafe, “The Sweet Bistrot”. A great place instead of the hotel buffet breakfast. Good coffee.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallaby_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The pool area is awesome. The rooms are large. We stayed on the top level and there is a great view. It was well priced. They even setup a cot for our baby and changed the sheets in the baby's cot every day. I would stay here again. There are options to park on the street and you don't have to pay until 8:30 am otherwise it is $20 per night to park at the hotel.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CaspianJVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.8 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
2.5 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Cairns International? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Cairns International

Property: Pullman Cairns International
Address: 17 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#4 Business Hotel in Cairns
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,562 - ₹ 18,482
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Cairns International 5*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Cairns International is a grand upscale hotel conveniently located in the CBD of tropical Cairns, boasting 321 spacious rooms over 16 floors, with either harbour or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Cairns International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Sebel Hotel Cairns
Sebel Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing