We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT BOTHER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The accomodation up front, although a bit old school, seemed ok for the money. The room rate was $80 per night, not a lot but concidering how many are on the same road for cheaper, i would expect better.
I asked for the room to be serviced and all that was done was the rubbish bin empties. The old towels and face washer were just hung back up. The tea and coffee centre noe refilled even after specifically asking and the bed, they didnt even bother to make it, just peuuled the doona up to cover the thing.
All in all a really crap experience and i hope nobody uses this accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skippyinsiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    23
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
2
33
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
dublin - Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

When I heard we were off to cairns i was delighted - Plenty of sun
I got there to find that Cairns can have rain in July.
that might be why I was not impressed with this hotel
We had an apartment beside the pool.
the room did not look clean and i spent my first night cleaning the outside of the fridge
there was a restaurant on site but breakfast was from 7.30 and seemed to end before 9.
Dinner seemed to end very early also , but was very nice and a good price also.
Overall I was not happy with hotel/ apartment

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

QLD
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

This is an affordable, but ordinary hotel on the main road from Cairns city out to the airport and the north. The rooms are fairly standard motel-style arrangements with nothing special to note. The bathroom was a bit faded. There were a few things I wouldn't have accepted in a higher-rated hotel, but given the price (quite cheap for Cairns) and my short stay, I didn't mind it too much.

The staff were friendly, but the hotel is a bit of a walk from anything of interest in the city. It can be just a little bit uncomfortable walking at night in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constant_traveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Stayed for work overnight. Staff were friendly. Clean & tidy, basic & dated room (505) with good size & OK view of mountains. It is on the main road from the airport but I did not have any problems with noise & slept well in comfortable bed. Breakfast was included in my rate which I would recommend unless you want to take 10 minute walk to esplanade for dining as nothing really close except service station & newsagent. I would definitely recommend a 10 minute walk to the Esplanade for dinner. I ate at the RSL (cnr Esplanade & Florence) where I had the biggest & best Lamb Shanks I have ever had for $23. All meals & drinks seem good value & cheaper than other cafe's on Esplanade.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezer1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.4 km away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
760 reviews
0.2 km away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#24 of 64 in Cairns
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
495 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#32 of 64 in Cairns
231 reviews
0.1 km away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#60 of 64 in Cairns
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns

Property: Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Address: 136-140 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,843 - ₹ 8,669
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Sunshine Tower Hotel is ideally located just 3 blocks from the city centre and 10 minutes' drive from the Cairns International Airport. The hotel has a beautiful backyard with a large sun deck, an outdoor swimming pool, heated spa and barbecue facilities that can be used free of charge. The hotel's location is the perfect starting point for exploring the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Atherton Tablelands. The rooms are decorated in a tropical style, and all have air conditioning, tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a private en suite bathroom. Get advice at the tour desk before exploring the area. Guests also enjoy free secure car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing