We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend this hotel.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would not recommend this hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have stayed in other tropical places, and I have not encountered the type of bug infestation as in the property of this hotel. There were bugs in our room and in our pool. To my surprise, I confirmed the rooms are NOT vacuumed daily. The TV was 26" and from the 1980s. The only thing good about this hotel was the location.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

There was a plague of black beetles that covered much of Cairns for a number of days. I can assure they were being cleaned up daily and in some cases like the pool three times a day, but their numbers were not reduced until the natural occurrence ended.

I have lived in the area for 13 years and have never seen anything like happen previously. Please let me apologize that this disrupted your time with us.

Regards

Matthew
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    523
    338
    118
    68
See reviews for
280
550
91
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel and found it comfortable, convenient, in a lovely location at a quiet part of the Cairns Esplanade. Our bed was so comfortable, we kept sleeping in! The room was very spacious, with a balcony and lovely water views. Lots of birdlife we observed from our balcony which also had good mountain views. We stayed on the fifth floor. It was an easy walking distance to the hub of the nightlife, the marina, the night market and restaurants.

Some minuses: The corridor was overchilled with horrible fake smelling citrus 'air fresheners' which I personally find irritate my sinuses. Tip to the hotel: just open the windows in the corridor from time to time. The weather is lovely outside! Our room carpet was very worn (almost bald) in places. Also install energy saving lightbulbs instead of millions of downlights and incandescent bulbs.

Parts of the building are certainly old, eg the corridors. Some of the lifts were clunky. But the hotel was comfortable, pretty well maintained, with lots of space in the lobby and in the rooms. The pool was a weird shape and cold, but it was ok. The reception staff were competent, if not warm.

One major complaint was the buffet breakfast which was of a terrible standard. For $25 each, it was extremely poor value. Tinned tomatoes were served in the bain marie - something I have never ever seen in Australia (or anywhere actually). Tinned tomatoes are for cooking! Rubbery scrambled eggs, tinned baked bean and bacon which were ok, the cheapest (with the least real meat) breakfast sausages, poor choice of breads, some kind of mush that was supposed to be muesli, lots of tinned fruit when fresh would have been better and plain white rice (to be eaten with what exactly?). Rydges, this was an insult to your guests and to your brand. Please lift your game - and guests, don't opt for the buffet breakfast. Go to a cafe outside yoru hotel instead.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will definitely look into the issues you raised.

Regards

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Usually I believe you get what you pay for, but this hotel was way above what we paid! Got a great deal online and couldn't believe the location when we arrived! Right on the ocean, views in every direction! Staff were awesome especially in the Restaurant. Breakfast was just awesome could've sat there all day! The hotel is old, so if you want new fashioned stuff not the place to go, but location and staff were top quality!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthewgm, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Regards

Matt
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Wanted to mention that we booked a week here but we were really disturbed by the rooms we were put in - bugs everywhere, even one splattered blood on the wall and noone had cleaned it. The rooms were outdated too!
BUT a special mention to Alex at front desk to took care of us, understood our issue with the bugs and hygiene, and kindly booked us into the Rydges Esplanade! Thank you Alex - you are the reason we would rebook with the Rydges - your service skills are impeccable!

Room Tip: Make sure its ocean view and on a top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bronkaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for leaving your comments. I am very pleased to hear that Alex was able to look after you and meet your needs.

Kind Regards

Matthew
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I'm not sure what rooms all the people writing positive reviews stayed in but we just stayed 3 nights at Rydges Tradewinds and experienced nothing positive about it.

This hotel is rundown and needs a major refurbishment.

CONS
- beds were old and bouncy
- pillows were rock hard
- staff was not overly friendly or helpful. No friendly face upon check in. When I asked for towels to use at the pool, it seemed like I was being a bother. No asking how our stay was on check out. No information about the restaurant at the hotel ie. breakfast etc.
- TV was small and ancient
- movies were $15.95 to rent - to watch on a tiny tv? I don't think so!
- no in room internet - hotspot was in lobby - $5 for 1 hour
- ceiling was filthy, it was disgustingly dirty
- fan was either dirty or mouldy - again disgusting
- was noisey - could hear the people above us going to the washroom - could hear room doors slamming
- the corridor to the rooms is carpeted - along the edges of the carpet, next to the walls was dirt or dust - like the vacuum didn't reach all the way to the wall

POSITIVE - struggling to find any positive
- location on The Esplanade - few minutes walk to all the restaurants
- friendly maid service

Parking is $10/day - we parked on the street for free.

Just writing out this review, my husband pointed out that we had a Double bed (and a single for our daughter) and NOT the Queen bed I had booked.

I would absolutely NOT stay here again and I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wifeofanaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Rydges Tradewinds Cairns, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for leaving your comments. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely

Matthew
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.1 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.5 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.9 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Tradewinds Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Tradewinds Cairns

Property: Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
Address: 137 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Tradewinds Esplanade)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,336 - ₹ 10,245
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Tradewinds Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Cairns hotel suites are convenient to Cairns lagoon precinct, where guests can take a dip in the clear, blue water or enjoy sunning on sandy shores. Nearby departure points for The Great Barrier Reef make it easy for guests staying in our Cairns hotel accommodation to explore its incredible natural beauty. The Cairns city centre is also within walking distance and offers premier area shopping and dining hotspots. We offer 246 Cairns hotel rooms exceptionally equipped with desirable features. Most rooms open onto a private balcony overlooking scenic views of the ocean, tropical gardens and swimming pool. All rooms are en-suite and boast complimentary WI-FI, a mini-bar, iron and ironing board and secure safe. Rydges Tradewinds is also pleased to offer recently released movies and games for hire on tablet computers. The cost is just $15 per 24 hours for a tablet which plugs directly into your room TV. Our Cairns hotel executive suites and ocean front rooms include luxurious signature Rydges Dream Beds where guests can rest from the adventures of the day. A variety of Cairns hotel rooms are available to perfectly suit those seeking business, leisure or family accommodation. Dining is available at the onsite restaurant, Drift on the Esplanade, where guests can enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner overlooking the Coral Sea. Spa by the Sea offers guests seeking relaxation luxurious onsite spa treatments. Those staying at the hotel for a Cairns event will appreciate its conference and events facilities, capable of hosting up to 500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Tradewinds Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Tradewinds Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Tradewinds Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing