We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
US$ 175
US$ 156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 191
US$ 169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pacific Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$ 158
US$ 150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$ 295
US$ 257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Styles Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$ 136
US$ 107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 216
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 164
US$ 154
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$ 184
US$ 170
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,475)
Filter reviews
2,475 results
Traveller rating
516
1,012
598
227
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
516
1,012
598
227
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bara pool view roomgreat pooltour desklarge poolbuffet breakfastpool sidetwo blockscentral locationport douglasthe great barrier reefesplanadefoxesduskcbdqueenslandtours
Filter
Updating list...
2,150 - 2,155 of 2,475 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We began our 10 day Australia tour @ Cairns with the Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort.

The first thing to note of this hotel was its location. Fairly central, easy walking to the train station (for Kuranda e.g.) or to the Reef Fleet Terminal (for the Reef trips) or just the market (including the Woolly's store!).

Since we came in a red-eye to Cairns, we reached early @ 7am. Both our rooms were available, however they were charging us AUD 40 per room for early check-in. We took one of the rooms to freashen up as we were hitting the rainforests in couple hours.

The buffet breakfast in the Japanese restaurant Mizuno is OK if you already have it in your room reservation. If you are paying additional, step out. It is definitely not worth the steep AUD 28 per head that they charge!! By comparison, a lavish dinner which included crocodile satay with cocktails for everyone @ the Bayleaf restaurant set me back by just AUD 35 per head!! There are several places jsut round the corner that serve you all-day breakfasts for AUD 8-10.

The rooms: All that we expected. A lot of people in here have complained about musty rooms and such, but we slept like babies (of course, we mostly came back to the rooms to shower n sleep!!) But then i may go easy on this one - afterall i got a preety good deal from the ACCOR site of AUD 79 per night.

The hiccups:
1. I asked the staff for a dinner reservation before going up to freshen. When i came down after half an hour, i causally asked the reception to confirm my reservation. To my surprise, the earlier lady had not booked any!!
2. One of the 2 rooms i got had a leaky wash basin and when i came back on the first evening, the bath floor was a mess. However, the staff responded promptly and my room was changed ( and i got a private corner room instead).
3. The PCs in the lobby were often broken down.

The indulgence:
Obviously the pool with its inbuilt bar! Unfortunately, my schedule was tight for me to enjoy this delight well...Will be back some day to take advantage of this.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel_Bug_Neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

In humid weather, just be prepared to get a taxi to the esplanade. Too hot to bother walking. Staff were a bit inexperienced - eg the pool furniture and deck chairs had been put away the day before because of a storm warning. The storm didn't eventuate, but the furniture stayed locked away, leaving guests to play towel tag with the few seats available.
Also be booked a suite thinking it would have a kitchen - that meant bar fridge and a sink. No hotplate, microwave or kitchen equipment. There was a BBQ outside, but not even plates or cutlery in the room (there were two teaspoons and a bread knife)

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I'd been to the novotel oasis in feb. Very nice hotel but a few problems. The service n the staff was simply great n gave us a warm welcome. we were in last room near the Garden, unfortunately this room is bang outside a huge tree where there r hundreds of BATS!!.. we were really disturbed at night n couldnt get proper sleep. since we were on our honeymoon, my wife was [--] scared of those bats. All the other services in terms of staff courtesy was excellent. when we requested a change of room they could not do it coz it was really busy on those days..

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vikramarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

The best hostel of our honeymoon.
The pool is beautifull with the sandy beach, and the water is the warm, it's a pleasure to swin at 9PM after a long fly.
The breakfast is not exceptionnal but it's the standing of the 3 stars hostels.
The dinner is better, with a good service and different foods for europeans like us.
Very nice hostel, and nice room with jacuzzy an d a so great bed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manic78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Second time we have been to Cairns, first time at this resort.
We stayed here over Easter for 3 nights. Hotel is only a 10 minutes drive from the airport.
We had a deluxe garden/city view room, glad we didnt upgrade as the rooms that looked over the pool were quite noisy with lots of kids at this time of year.
Large, refurbished rooms, super comfy soft bed and pillows, plenty of towels and pool towels supplied, as well as toiletries in the bathroom. The bathroom tiling could do with an update and the shower is in the bathtub, but great hot water and pressure and very clean. Airconditioner worked great and was well appreciated! Very soundproofed, we didnt hear any noise at all. Tea/coffee, kettle and milk restocked each day.
The pool area is beautiful, with a swim up bar, but could do with a few more sun lounges! We had one breakfast in the restaurant, great choice of food, a bit expensive at $28.50p/p so if you can get this included in your stay it would save some $$. We are Accor Advantage Plus members so got 50% off. Also had dinner in the restaurant, they have buffet with a wide choice including lots of seafood, hot dishes, salads and to die for sweets!
We had hired a car so were very pleased with the free underground parking, only time the carpark was full was on the Saturday night.
There is another entrance gate at the rear of the resort, this brings you out one street away from the esplanade where all the touristy cafes, restaurants and shops are.
A great located resort which we would definately stay in again when visiting Cairns!
Hint: when booking, check on the Accor website, at the time of our stay they had rooms for $89

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheznandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews