We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in the centre of Cairns” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Plaza Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Ranked #60 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location in the centre of Cairns”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel does not live up to the expectation created by the Rydges badge. The room was a decent size but the carpets and curtains had past their use by date. The bed however was wonderful ,the best of the trip. The location was good but could be noisy at night if there are any concerts on in the near by venues.
The staff were really helpful but must be very tired of dealing with complaints from people about unrealised expectations. It is priced as a Rydges hotel but it is not up to that standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chookPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear chookPerthWA,

Thank for submitting your feedback on Rydges Plaza Cairns.

I’m sorry that you felt that this property was not up to the Rydges standard.

We have recently been purchasing new curtains in order to improve individual room aesthesis as well as putting an extreme emphasis on enhancing the look and feel of the overall property.

Thank you for your friendly comments on the staff. They are definitely a highlight to Rydges Plaza Cairns.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    114
    117
    93
    74
See reviews for
84
94
40
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Pro: Very close to all amenities in cairns city. Close the to reef terminal and Information center also Cairns Casino. Easy to find food all round, its about 10 mins walk to Night Market. Price is average for budget users.

Con: Not like other rydges that I was staying, this is a bits old building style and poor room design. I thinks it need to be renovated. Customer Service is so so.

Room Tip: Don't stay the room facing to Spencer st as there is a bit noisy due to the pub operating at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsk888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear rsk888,

Thank you for your review of Rydges Plaza Cairns.

I am please you found the location of the hotel to be ideal as a visitor to Cairns. Since the renovation of Lilo restaurant, we are currently updating our dinner and bar menu, which we hope that you can try on your next visit to Cairns.

We are consistently working towards elevating our customer service and guest amenities. I hope your next stay with us will be of a higher standard.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Having stayed at a number of Rydges properties before I was expecting middle of the road quality and friendly customer service.

Unfortunately what I found was a tired old building in desperate need of maintenance and front desk staff who acted like I had asked for an organ donation rather than simply a secure car space for my vehichle!!

The room itself had stains all over the roof/walls and looked as though it might have had half a renovation - they had installed a flat screen TV and this is where the renovation ended.

If you are looking for really basic accommodation, this place will do, but there are far better options at the same price point available in Cairns.

Also be aware that if you are allocated a room on the driveway side of the hotel (left if looking at the building from the street) be prepared for noise from the nightclubs across the road which seems to bounce up between the buildings.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitsundaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Whitsundaze,

Thank for taking the time to review us at Rydges Plaza Cairns.

I was extremely disappointed in the level of the service you have received on you stay with us.

I have brought this review to the attention of the front desk manager, who has discussed this with the team, and reinforced the level of service that we like to adhere to.

The housekeeping department has also been working diligently on an overall deep cleaning of the rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great week in Cairns. The staff at Rydges Plaza were friendly and helpful. Our room on the 10th floor was spacious and clean with a great view, the king bed very comfortable, the buffet breakfast was delicious. Superb location. Walking distance to many restaurants, the harbour, markets and shops. You don't need to hire a car unless you are going to travel a little further, maybe up to Port Douglas and beyond. Most attractions, including the Scenic Rail, Kundara village and skylift have Hotel pick up. Many attractions such as Great Barrier Reef, Fishing trips depart from the harbour which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Definately be visiting again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 10th floor facing the water and overlooked the swimming pool on the fourth flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Karen T,

Thank you for your glowing review, and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Rydges Plaza Cairns is certainly set in a prime location in the heart of the CBD.

I am happy to inform you that we have renovated our restaurant area and launched a new breakfast concept - Rise at Rydges. Please do try it out on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Thanks,


Fareid Taheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The Good stuff, kind friendly, helpful staff, they had my late check in all ready and waiting. Sweet guy at night, sweet woman in the morning. My Bed was comfortable with good linens and pillows. Good Location, never saw pool or restaurant, as I was only there one night.

The ok stuff.. Average size room, the entire place did smell of mold. In the tropics this is tricky as it needs ventilation to get rid of it. Bathrooms are dated, with cheap plastic faucets, that drip into the night, mold in the grout of all the tiles. Super expensive mini bar and snacks.. Internet 75 cents a minute with a cap of the bargain price of $29 LOL haha. The place is just not that clean, the hallways are really dirty. JUst small stuff like where they keep hotel info, the cover was all dark with dirt and coffee stains... I could hear housekeeping above me vacuming and banging kinda early.

It was a perfectly ok place to stay for one night, but not much longer. I felt safe, my bed was good, and they were friendly. It was quiet.. Just an average hotel..

Room Tip: take a room on one of the higher floors....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareid T, General Manager at Rydges Plaza Cairns, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear MadroneJack,

Thank you for your review.

Glad to hear that the service you received from our staff was of the high Rydges standard.

Since your stay, we have been working quite hard on the overall cleanliness and feel of the common areas that I can assure you is of a higher level.

For your next stay with Rydges, if you sign up to our free loyalty program, Priority Guest Rewards (PGR), you will be entitled to up to 50% off your in-room internet at any Rydges. You will also receive 20% off all full price food and beverage consumed in the restaurant and bar.

Regards,


Fareid Taheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#13 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.2 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#58 of 65 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 km away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#39 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 km away
Il Centro Apartment Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Plaza Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Plaza Cairns

Property: Rydges Plaza Cairns
Address: Cnr Grafton and Spence Streets, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,662 - ₹ 10,490
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Plaza Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly appointed rooms overlooking the Cairns CBD. 5 minutes walking distance from the Cairns Convention Centre, Reef Casino, dining precinct, Birch carroll and Coyle cinemas and Cairns Central shopping centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Plaza Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Plaza Hotel Cairns
Cairns Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing