We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stop over for Far North Queensland holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonbeach
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect stop over for Far North Queensland holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We previewed our room before booking and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff who were very helpful with advice and dates. Our stay did not disappoint... great location right on the esplanade and all activities able to be enjoyed from our balcony. Plenty of restaurants and cafes very close by as well as supermarket for supplies. We loved the spaciousness of the main room and that early morning sunshine was well appreciated by cold old Melbourne visitors! We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: The front rooms have slightly larger balconies and great views of all the activity on the Esplanade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetBonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you Janet for your positive feedback. These days people seem quick to complain but it's not so common for people to take the time and trouble to say something nice. We are most grateful.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    236
    71
    17
    15
See reviews for
117
370
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tully, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights on 6th level ocean view. Pay a little bit extra than the garden view but believe me, it's worth it. Absolutely gorgeous! Beautiful views. Had a late check in and all good, (staff leave welcome letter and key in safe outside reception door). Ideal spot. Walking distance to shops. Units spiffy clean and I can safely say that because my wife is a cleaner and she gave it the thumbs up. We've stayed at quite a few in Cairns and even the best of them didn't even warrant lifting the elbow! Lovely huge unit, with all you could want. Francesca at reception was very friendly, helpful and courteous. Definitely stay here again, but for longer next time. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Many thanks Michael, your kind words are most appreciated.
Cheers,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights on level 4 overlooking the waterfront and hotel pool. A top location, walking distance to shops, night markets, restaurants and attractions. staff were very helpful and we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteraot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to say something nice, we appreciate it very much.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in a 1BR harbour-front room, big and spacious and very high standard of finish, very clean with everything you could want. We arrived late, but received exceptional personal attention for the staff, Brian the live-in manager was just fantastic, and looked after us exceptionally well during our stay. All the staff are amazing, Meegan on the front desk was superb and organised our tours, finding really good deals for us. The hotel was brilliant and with this exceptional level of service we really felt part of a family there. They only downside was our stay was too short! we will definitely be back and next time for longer! highly recommended (and thanks to Brian and the team for making our stay superb!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeKLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Mike
Many thanks for your praise. We are always delighted to know that our hard work is appreciated. But for great people like you, being nice is not hard work, it just comes naturally.
Cheers
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moora, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

This was our third stay at theRoyal Harbour in Cairns, at each end of our trip to areas in FNQ.
The location is one of the best in Cairns and the staff have always been very helpful with early check ins & late checkouts and given good advice.
I have seen other reviews quite digicam of the cleanliness it I really think they may be hard to please. We have had no issues in this regard on either of our stays although this time any time spent on the balcony (which has the best views) resulted in very black feet that unfortunately transferred through the room.
The Royal Harbour is great value for money in our opinion.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.0 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
0.5 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.3 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort

Property: BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort
Address: 73 - 75 The Esplanade | Cars enter at 60 Abbott Street (Level 1), Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,260 - ₹ 11,669
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns is the primary gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, Daintree Rainforest and Tropical North Queensland's outback. From a great waterfront location overlooking Trinity Bay and the spectacular Cairns Lagoon, BreakFree Royal Harbour is perfectly positioned for guests to enjoy the best of this vibrant tropical city. The resort is within walking distance of Cairns CBD and the bustling hub of the Esplanade's restaurants and cafes. The famous Cairns Night Markets are on the hotel's doorstep and the Reef Casino is nearby. BreakFree Royal Harbour offers self-contained one bedroom garden spas with a private courtyard and one bedroom ocean view spa apartments with a private balcony all including kitchenettes, laundry facilities, spa, air conditioning, internet access, ironing facilities, hair dryer, digital TV and a VHS/DVD player. From the level two pool deck, guests can enjoy views of the ocean, Cairns Lagoon and the passing parade of marine vessels heading out to the Great Barrier Reef. Guests can enjoy recreational facilities including a swimming pool with sun deck and shade, gymnasium and BBQ facilities. Cairns is a city of many moods. The crisp clear air of its mornings, the tropical warmth of its days, as well as balmy nights lit by the moon shining over Trinity Bay offer an unmatched appeal and BreakFree Royal Harbour is the place to enjoy it. Please note: For guests arriving by car, including taxi, please arrive at our rear entrance where Reception and car parking is located - Level 1, 60 Abbott Street. This is above the Night Markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Royal Harbour Hotel Cairns
Breakfree Royal Harbour Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing