We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous staff”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Shangri La. The room was huge and nicely decorated. BUT it was the staff that really made our experience 5 star. They were amazingly helpful and accommodating with even the house keeping writing us a lovely personal note one morning regrarding imitative they took regarding a matter. We are really impressed and will absolutely stay here again next time we come to Cairns.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Yet another review about our fantastic staff! Thank you so much for your lovely words and we all hope to see you back here again very soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    841
    344
    121
    74
See reviews for
458
1,279
139
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

We've travelled around the world regularly on business and have stayed in many different hotels both internationally and locally. The staff on check in were superb. Chris the duty manager was delightful welcoming us on arrival. The porter Hiro was so helpful nothing seemed to be too much. He soldiered on pushing the trolley with so many of our heavy bags and still kept a smile. After a long day of travelling we ordered In room Dinning. We were told at least 20-40 minutes long only to receive the food order in 10mins. The in room attendant was so pleasant and after delivery followed up with a call to see if the order was okay. I was so impressed because I've never had anyone care like that! The beds were so comfortable. Later that evening we strolled down to the reception area to ask for any recommendations on where to eat. Two receptionists both greeted us and I ask where would be the best place to get a nice steak? One of the ladies said Waterbar and Grill. We asked for directions and proceeded to walk through ba8 as we proceeded through the bartender said hello and shortly after that more people said which appeared to be staff. A young kiwi lady was walking in our direction with a huge smile and asked us if we needed any assistance? We asked her if she could point us to the Waterbar and Grill. She smiled and asked us where abouts have we travelled from? Its like she knew something about us without even asking any personal questions. She asked us how long we were staying in Cairns and asked us were we meeting anyone at the Waterbar and Grill and I said no we weren't. She smiled and invited us to dine in her restaurant. She offered us both a glass of wine and seated us with a beautiful table overlooking the marina. We had the most beautiful dinning experience. A waiter Ben was exceptional. Not too much. Obviously trained and guided well. At this point we learn that the young kiwi lady is the Restaurant & bar manager. How gracious and so focused. We are delighted that she intercepted us on our way to Waterbar and Grill. You can't train people to be nice and I'm talking to my husband how she made us feel. She cared and it's obvious she loves her job. It shows. She made sure she said hello to every table and I've never seen a restaurant so full of happy people wanting a piece of her time. We would watch people look for her just to say good bye. She is something special and played a huge part of our stay at The Shangri-la Hotel. I've never seen a full restaurant acknowledge one person with hugs and kisses. She made everyone in that restaurant feel like family. It's touching to see. Then to see the same thing in breakfast the next day? We know that this girl is really special. Wow! Great staff, great hotel, delicious food, and wow! The restaurant & bar manager.....A great find.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenTaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your terrific review. The Restaurant & Bar Manager you refer to is Illy and she is one in a million! She really does have that knack of making everyone she comes into contact with feel like one of the family –the perfect example of Hospitality from the Heart.

Thank you also for your words about Chris, Hiro and Ben. They are again, all fantastic people who make sure our guests are well looked after and enjoy their stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

The welcoming from the moment we got out of our cab, to the welcoming at the front desk, the porter delivering our bags. The staff in the lifts, the pool bar attendants, the restaurant staff. What more needs to be said when you have such a personable experience. I'm so blown away how every staff made me feel when I stayed at the hotel. I felt like a queen. I will tell everyone about this hotel. They have my loyalty!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhenyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Wow – thank you so very much for your wonderful endorsement of our staff. I have said before on many occasions, they are our greatest asset and your review is indicative of their dedication making each of our guests’ stays memorable.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns for 7 days over the Easter Break. Arriving on an early morning flight we were welcomed by the check-in staff and ushered to the Horizon Club and offered a hearty breakfast, coffee, pastries etc and made comfortable until our room was ready. We decided to take a walk around Cairns while the room was being cleaned and told staff to take their time as we were very early and didn't expect to check in, we would like to leave our bags. whilst sight-seeing, they telephoned to say our room was ready.

I had booked a Club Suite on the Horizon Level and I must say I think I had the best suite in the house. It was stunning with 3 large floor to ceiling windows and doors opening to a large sunny balcony overlooking the Marina. The suite had a separate bedroom, plenty of storage, lovely bathroom and superb toiletries; white fluffy toweling robes or light cotton robes to choose from. The bed was comfortable with large flat screen t.v. The only negative with the suite was the lack of hanging space for our bath towels (no big deal though); lack of cushions on the lounge to lie down on (I asked for extra pillows to use and immediately they arrived) and the patio furnitiure was quite uncomfortable to use. These are so minor that didn't impact at all on our stay.

The staff in the Horizon Club Level were amazing. They mentioned you by name at all times, knew your favourite alcholic drink from previous night, and they knew which hot drink to serve you at breakfast time. All these little things made us feel very special. The tour desk were also helpful, suggesting cruises (which all left from the marina, just downstairs and at most a 50 metre walk from the hotel).

This stay was most memorable. Thank you so much to all the staff at Shangri-la ; we will be back.

Room Tip: Our Corner suite was large and sunny. Choose the Horizon Club Rooms as these are refurbished. I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
What great comments and I thank the reviewer for taking the time to share their experience with fellow travellers.

The Horizon Club Suites are fantastic and a great way to pamper yourself or the one you love! Our Horizon Club team led by Min, always go above and beyond to ensure all of their guests have a most comfortable and memorable stay with us.

Hope to see you back again very soon!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, Queensland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed one night in a club room at the Shangri-La and we were very happy with the stay. The personal service at club level was exceptional; we would highly recommend booking the club rooms. The room itself was large, light and very comfortable (the bed especially) and the view of the marina was beautiful, we enjoyed the plunger coffee and the complimentary newspaper in the morning. The drinks and canapés between 5pm-7pm were wonderful; we could have probably just had this for dinner! The breakfast was also very nice and we had a complimentary late check out at 12noon. We had no trouble with noise from the bar downstairs; we found that when you closed the doors, it cancelled out any outside noise. We only wished we could have stayed longer! Thank you Shangri-La, we will no doubt be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. Out Horizon Club Rooms are definitely ones to be experienced and it is a shame you were only here for one night... We hope to see you back again very soon but for a much longer stay!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.5 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.3 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
2.3 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.7 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,657 - ₹ 20,745
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing