We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceptional staff, Exceptional position and Exceptional Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exceptional staff, Exceptional position and Exceptional Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns for 7 days over the Easter Break. Arriving on an early morning flight we were welcomed by the check-in staff and ushered to the Horizon Club and offered a hearty breakfast, coffee, pastries etc and made comfortable until our room was ready. We decided to take a walk around Cairns while the room was being cleaned and told staff to take their time as we were very early and didn't expect to check in, we would like to leave our bags. whilst sight-seeing, they telephoned to say our room was ready.

I had booked a Club Suite on the Horizon Level and I must say I think I had the best suite in the house. It was stunning with 3 large floor to ceiling windows and doors opening to a large sunny balcony overlooking the Marina. The suite had a separate bedroom, plenty of storage, lovely bathroom and superb toiletries; white fluffy toweling robes or light cotton robes to choose from. The bed was comfortable with large flat screen t.v. The only negative with the suite was the lack of hanging space for our bath towels (no big deal though); lack of cushions on the lounge to lie down on (I asked for extra pillows to use and immediately they arrived) and the patio furnitiure was quite uncomfortable to use. These are so minor that didn't impact at all on our stay.

The staff in the Horizon Club Level were amazing. They mentioned you by name at all times, knew your favourite alcholic drink from previous night, and they knew which hot drink to serve you at breakfast time. All these little things made us feel very special. The tour desk were also helpful, suggesting cruises (which all left from the marina, just downstairs and at most a 50 metre walk from the hotel).

This stay was most memorable. Thank you so much to all the staff at Shangri-la ; we will be back.

Room Tip: Our Corner suite was large and sunny. Choose the Horizon Club Rooms as these are refurbished. I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
What great comments and I thank the reviewer for taking the time to share their experience with fellow travellers.

The Horizon Club Suites are fantastic and a great way to pamper yourself or the one you love! Our Horizon Club team led by Min, always go above and beyond to ensure all of their guests have a most comfortable and memorable stay with us.

Hope to see you back again very soon!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    764
    310
    107
    64
See reviews for
397
1,147
128
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Queensland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed one night in a club room at the Shangri-La and we were very happy with the stay. The personal service at club level was exceptional; we would highly recommend booking the club rooms. The room itself was large, light and very comfortable (the bed especially) and the view of the marina was beautiful, we enjoyed the plunger coffee and the complimentary newspaper in the morning. The drinks and canapés between 5pm-7pm were wonderful; we could have probably just had this for dinner! The breakfast was also very nice and we had a complimentary late check out at 12noon. We had no trouble with noise from the bar downstairs; we found that when you closed the doors, it cancelled out any outside noise. We only wished we could have stayed longer! Thank you Shangri-La, we will no doubt be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. Out Horizon Club Rooms are definitely ones to be experienced and it is a shame you were only here for one night... We hope to see you back again very soon but for a much longer stay!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This hotel is steps from the Marina, where you take the snorkeling cruises. Our rooms were overlooking the Marina.
Breakfast was plenty , and the servers , very friendly.
Rooms were quite spacious, and they have free wi-fi internet in the rooms .
The hotel is also walking distance to many restaurants and shops.

Our family of 5, including our triplet daughters, had a very pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elzand5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with our fellow travellers.

As I have said on many occasions, we are truly blessed to have the BEST location in Cairns. With unbeatable views of the Marlin Marina and so close to the buzz of the city area you are hard pressed to find a better location than here!

So pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back here sometime very soon.

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My husband and I started off our trip down the east coast with two nights in the Shangri-La. This is a beautiful hotel which was very well located for trips as it close to the marina. It is also well situated for the Esplanade and the Lagoon and numerous bars and restaurants. The reception staff and the lady on the stand for booking trips were all excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. I have never come across such friendly and helpful staff.

Our bedroom was very spacious with a huge comfortable bed. The pool area is well laid out though unfortunately we didn't get to spend too much time there as we were out on trips.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and if in the area would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie5192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind recommendation…

It is a pity that you did not get enough time to take advantage of our beautiful pool . Next time you visit us you will have to allow an extra day or two for lazing around the pool enjoying some refreshing cocktails and soaking up some sun!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Club rooms overlooking the Cairns marina are good value if you book 3 or 4 nights- high ceilings, large bed and huge bathroom/bath. But marks and cleaning standards suggest it is fading a bit as a 5 star- ie the spa wasn't working. Staff are very good,lots of different restaurants to choose from, and the club brekkie and evening drinks are a great way to start and finish the day

Room Tip: Get a club room close to room 10 as there is only one elevator serving the whole floor and if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I do apologise that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual high standard. Please be rest assured that our Housekeeper is aware of your comments and has taken the necessary steps to rectify the problems and bring the room back up to scratch.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the Horizon Club Lounge. The complimentary canapés and drinks each evening are certainly a must when you are staying in our Horizon Club and are a great way to start off any night, whether you are heading out or planning a relaxing night in!

We hope to see you again soon…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.5 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.3 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
6.5 km away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.3 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,243 - ₹ 24,053
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing