We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff make the difference” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff make the difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

After having trouble finding where to park, the hotel check in was seamless and we were greeted by friendly staff and a lovely lobby. We stayed overlooking the pool in our basic but stylish room. Bathroom showed some signs of wear but was generously proportioned. The location is hard to beat!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Wow – thank you so much for your wonderful endorsement of our staff. I believe we have the best group of people on our team. They go out of their way to make sure our guests are comfortable and have a most memorable stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you back again very soon…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    803
    322
    112
    68
See reviews for
426
1,209
134
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

When we woke up in the Shangri-La Hotel in Cairns the morning after the Innisfail cup in 2011, we were not really sure how we arrived to be there in the first place....

Lets just say that a day at the races, followed by a surprise road trip (in a party bus) lead to a great deal of confusion when we woke up.

Having said this, WE WERE SO VERY THANKFUL THAT WE AWOKE IN THE SHANGRI-LA!!

Not only did their nice thick blinds help us adjust to the dawn of a new day, but their exceptionally comfortable bed and quiet airconditioning allowed our tired, badly abused bodies the time to accept that we had punished them the previous day and to get over the shock which was about to set in.

Room service brought us back to a half human state and as we checked ourselves out of this incredible hotel - which appeared to have magically sucked us in the night before....we were actually disappointed that we were checking out and not checking in!

This was like the ULTIMATE REVERSE HOTEL EXPERIENCE, where you get the perfect nights sleep, the brilliant breakfast and a hotel tour BEFORE you pay for the room! (Obviously we paid for the room when we checked in as it was a lastminute hotel deal which we found in our drunken state the night before....but because we could not remember checking in....well lets just say it was an amazing weekend!)

Shangri-la, we will be back! We have some catching up to do! And my hungover mind did take stock of your gorgeous outdoor pool and I want to come back for a swim sometime soon.

My partner is still in awe of your fishtank at reception and has not stopped talking about it since...so there is much to be said for accepting the late night guests who arrive on your door step, because our memories of your facilities have been the topic of many conversations with friends since!

P.S The Sushi and Pizza on the room service menu must have been good because I took a drunken photo when it arrived and there was nothing left to show of the food the next morning but an empty tray!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitsundaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
It’s always great when we delight unexpectedly!

I absolutely love your review… Sounds like you had a fantastic day at the races and even though you’re not sure how you got here to the Hotel – we are just glad you did!!!

So… Cairns Amateurs coming up in September and the Innisfail Cup is on again in October…. I only hope we don’t have to wait that long to welcome you back!!

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were there for two nights but out all day on tours. It would have been nice to hang out by the pool and enjoy the property. Great location, nice staff, wonderful tour desk, and they exceeded our expectations.

One note; there is free wifi however our room was towards the back of the hotel and we had connection issues. When I got to my friend's room, we had no trouble connecting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you so much for a lovely review and I am so pleased that we not only met but exceeded your expectations…

Next time you visit us, please make sure you allow an extra day or two for relaxing around the pool…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed for one night in a really good room with a nice view of the harbour. Hotel is a great location for foodies with some great restaurants nearby. Our room was really lovely, light spacious etc. The standard you'd expect from shanghai-la. The bed was very comfortable indeed! The pool area is looking a bit tired and the water was too cold to enjoy a swim. The club lounge was a disappointment. Although breakfast was very good, the evening canapés and drinks weren't up to the standard of other chains such as the langham. The quality of the wines was poor. Staff were great and very welcoming. Check in and check out was smooth and quick. It wasn't a cheap stay, so I don't think it offered excellent value for money. I would stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are apparentl noisy the further down the corridor you go, due to the bars under th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0nythetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

When we first arrived we waited 10 minutes to be checked in. Three people behind the front desk all assisting one person and none of the staff acknowleged us waiting there and when we were eventually checked in no apology for the time we spent waiting. The bar service was not any better. Again 3 people waiting for 10 minutes to be served and the 3 staff behind the bar having a social chat. Only moved to serve us when the manager came and told them too. Breakfast was lovely but the staff had no idea what was going on. Many tables were left with dirty plates and it was hard to find a clean table to sit at. Once seated no dirty plates were removed from the table and they were left to pile up on the table as you got different foods for breakfast. Staff rarely offered tea or coffee and you had to get their attention and ask them for it. I was very dissapointed with my stay. Only good thing was the room was clean but even then staff forgot to replenish the bathroom with towels, bathmats, face washers etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit this review. It is very disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us – we aim to delight each and every time and it is obvious that on this occasion, we did not.

In regards to the service you received, we can only but offer our sincerest apologies. For the most part, we receive very favourable comments about our staff and the service they provide but on this occasion we have quite obviously missed the mark.

I have shared your feedback with our entire team to allow us the opportunity to learn from your experiences to ensure that future instances such as this are avoided.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments and I do hope we get the chance to restore your confidence in Shangri-La sometime in the very near future…

George Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.3 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
0.5 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.7 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
6.5 km away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Address: Pierpoint Rd, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Business Hotel in Cairns
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,164 - ₹ 22,180
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Cairns, the Shangri-La Hotel overlooks Marlin Marina, Trinity Bay and the lush green mountains of Cairns.The hotel is just ten minutes' drive from Cairns International Airport, and a short stroll to the Esplanade Lagoon and Cairns' premier dining precinct. The hotel offers airy, modern accommodations with elegant furniture and spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing