We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“FANTASTIC LOCATION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC LOCATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We found this place through a deal on the internet & having never stayed in Cairns before booked sight unseen. - Couldn't be happier. Staff were friendly & very helpful & allowed us into our room early. Everything was spotlessly clean & very quiet. Pool was fantastic however it was the location that was absolutely THE BEST. Strolling distance (& we are very lazy on holidays) to absolutely everthing. Night Markets 1 minute away - supermarket around the cnr - casino up the street & restaurants - well what can I say - Everything & anything you could possibly imagine right on your doorstep.
Only 1 downside - Gas bottle ran out 1/2 way through cooking - thank goodness for backup kitchen in the apartment.
Would definately return.
GREAT bed wanted to bring it home

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judydv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    101
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
163
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wahgunyah, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 5 nights. We found the service to be exceptional, the apartment well equiped and VERY clean. The location was close to everything we needed! We walked everywhere. The pool was lovely, clean and relaxing. Our flight to Cairns was an early one and we were able to check in before lunch so we weren't trying to busy ourselves waiting to check in. Fantastic spot to stay, I would recommend to other travellers!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My partner and I stayed three nights here last week. We had a lovely stay. The hotel is very centrally located for the Esplanade and night markets as mentioned in other reviews. We had a room facing the pool area on the ground floor and it was very quiet and easy to go back and forth. It was lovely to be able to use a pool outside. The pool area and the sun loungers weren't very busy at all and we pretty much had the place to ourselves. We were at the end of the season so I'm not sure how it would compare in high season.

It was very handy to have a washing machine and dryer in the apartment after a couple of weeks of travelling. On the downside it was a little difficult to use the wardrobe as it being a small room the bedside table was so close to it. Overall, the apartment was clean and well maintained.

The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

The staff here go out of their way to help you and provide excellent service for a really reasonable price. Staff booked taxis for us, gave us advice on the weather and helped us navigate Cairns. Absolutely perfect location in a really nice area of Cairns City. Everything was extremely clean and tidy, with comfortable bedding and couches provided.
It was particularly nice to go there during the low season (February) as things were a bit quiet, allowing us to use the pool on our own.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are just as good as rooms facing the back of the hotel. Can sometimes be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_kate18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harball
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I visited Cairns for a work trip and was booked into the Il Palazzo. I dont think the website gives it much justice. I was early but was able to check in. In trying to use the air con,I received personal service and ALL staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The 1 bed apartment is enormous with loads of character. PLUS the apartment is SPOTLESS. Completely and totally clean!

The location is perfect. Around the corner are plenty of restaurants for dinner and breakfast. If you dine before 6.30pm some of the restaurents offer a discount. On the same street as the Il Palaazo, there are night markets with lots of souvenirs. There is even amassage parlour giving massages for $15.00. Unfortunately, I didnt have time to test this out.

Overall, really happy with Il Palazzo and would recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.5 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.5 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.4 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#8 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,833 - ₹ 11,374
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing