We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low Expectations Exceeded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harball
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Low Expectations Exceeded”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I visited Cairns for a work trip and was booked into the Il Palazzo. I dont think the website gives it much justice. I was early but was able to check in. In trying to use the air con,I received personal service and ALL staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The 1 bed apartment is enormous with loads of character. PLUS the apartment is SPOTLESS. Completely and totally clean!

The location is perfect. Around the corner are plenty of restaurants for dinner and breakfast. If you dine before 6.30pm some of the restaurents offer a discount. On the same street as the Il Palaazo, there are night markets with lots of souvenirs. There is even amassage parlour giving massages for $15.00. Unfortunately, I didnt have time to test this out.

Overall, really happy with Il Palazzo and would recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    111
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
176
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this place - great value for the location, right downtown in middle of the action! Service was excellent as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Donovan, Kay, and Frances truly go out of thier way to ensure your visit is perfect. The location of the hotel is perfect with about a 1-5 minute walk from anything you want to do in Cairns. The apartment style rooms really added to our enjoyment with enough room to allow the night owl and the early riser to not disturb each other Being able to eat breakfast in the room with a small kithen is a big plus for us as well. The service is excellent and the only reason I am not rating it a 5 is because the front desk is not manned 24 hours. Not a limitation if you know what to expect, and the staff is so good about taking care of you that it really does not matter. The hotel is tied in with pretty much all tour services and places to eat, so everytime they made a reservation for us we were treated very well and given the best tables. My only complaint about the room is the bed was a bit saggy, otherwise it was very nice. All of the backside rooms overlook the pool, and several of those on the top floor also have a water view. Without question I would stay here again. The kitchen, living room, and service add up to making this the best hotel and value in Cairns for me.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mc130hip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I don't usually give a 5 star rating, but this place ticks all the right boxes for me. We spent 6 nights here. The apartment is very well presented throughout, well maintained and very clean. The rooms are large & modern. The receptionists are all helpful and friendly. It's in a great location with restaurants on your doorstep and shopping. We felt right at home and very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msantanalopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Perfectly central location and near everything in town yet quiet for a peaceful night sleep. Restaurants and bars right out the doors. Walk to beach in a minute. I decided to take a scuba diving certification course, which was superbly convenient located across the street.

Friendly and welcoming staff. Also extremely helpful in booking activities to do in the area. I had originally booked the hotel for 3 consecutive nights. When I decided to take the scuba diving liveaboard option, I didn't need the 3rd night, but would need an additional night on the 4th and 5th day after returning from great barrier reef. I was able to change out the 3rd night without additional fee. Thanks for the flexibility!

Clean and spacious unit. Almost a home away from home! Next time I'm back in the area, I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Unit 10 walks right out to the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.0 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.6 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.6 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel

Property: Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel
Address: 62 Abbott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,323 - ₹ 11,211
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Palazzo is a stylish boutique hotel situated in the heart of Cairns. Its prime location means that guests are central to the bustling business district, Casino, Conference Centre, Reef Fleet Terminal, markets and shops. The exciting Esplanade with swimming Lagoon and boardwalk, a plethora of cosmopolitan restaurants and major international hotels are within easy walking distance.Il Palazzo is a modern boutique apartment hotel with stunning neoclassical European inspired architecture featuring cream and terracotta decor, impressive stone sculptures and classical fine wrought iron work throughout.There are 38 fully self-contained one bedroom apartments, each with air-conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen and laundry, a large shady balcony, mini bar, Austar TV, CD/DVD, telephone, in-room safe and daily servicing. We have recently undertaken a partial refurbishment with new carpets, bedcovers, flatscreen TVs and DVDs. Il Palazzo has one of the best locations in Cairns and features a beautiful Mediterranean style courtyard with a landscaped heated swimming pool. There is a roof top sundeck, BBQ area and gazebo. Business services are available as well as a tour desk, dry cleaning, FREE wireless internet and secure undercover parking.The staff take pride in offering guests a personal service and attention to detail is paramount.While visiting one of the most sought after destinations in the world -Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef - stay in a luxury apartment at Il Palazzo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Il Palazzo Boutique Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Palazzo Boutique Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing