We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you would expect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Everything you would expect!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel is everything you would expect from a five star rating. Staff were particularly helpful. Room was large and very comfortable. Didn't eat at the hotel but wish that I had! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank suespurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear SueQld Australia,
It is wonderful to see that your stay with us met your expectations and in particular our team were able to look after you well. We do thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    485
    104
    28
    15
See reviews for
269
1,108
102
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Pullman Reef Hotel must have been a beautiful property when first built. The rooms are well sized, though a bit faded (with lazy housekeeping if you open any drawer) - the bathrooms offer the promised Jacuzzi and the staff is courteous. Options for breakfast at Tamarind are ok, though not fantastic.

Having said all that, the location of the property is excellent, walking distance to the Esplanade with wonderful restaurants, the ferry terminal and the night markets. The casino and the dome (with the zoo) are next door and there is a 24 hour convenience store across the road.

The city offers some lovely food options - an exciting experiment is the ‘Bushtucker’ at Dundees restaurant on the waterfront, which included a platter with australian meats – kangaroo, crocodile, emu, barramundi and buffalo! Give it a try. Another good (and not so expensive) place to try some good steaks is Outback Jacks. The night market is quite small and sells the usual touristy items. Has lots of massage shops as well as a food court.

We did the cruise to the Great Barrier reef (Ocean Cruises), which is great if you can take 2+ hours of choppy sea (one way) and know how to dive/snorkel. The helicopter trip is a superb alternative which will give you an idea of how immense the Reef is and some terrific views.

Our trip to Kuranda was also exciting. The scenic railway is pretty and as are the kuranda village as well as rainforest. The aborigine show was nice with the dance performance, boomerangs and didgeridoo. Since the skyrail was not operating that day, we took the bus back to trains (instead of the railway) which was quicker and gave us more time to explore the city.

Cairns is really lovely, very walkable and with new things to be dicovered at every turn. Pullman is a great base to explore the city and wins on location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssmmiittaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear ssmmiittaa,
We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us and thak you for taking the time to post your feedback. It is great to read that you enjoyed the many sites to see in our fantastic destination and that the location of the hotel suited your needs well.
I have passed your comments onto our Executive Housekeeper for follow up and do apologise that we did not meet your expectations.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Cairns.
Kind regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Nice views and excellent staff and beuutiful rooms. Good for our 4 day stay in Cairns and nice restaurant, Cannot fault the hotel !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scosytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne R, General Manager at Pullman Reef Hotel Casino, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear scosytoo,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. It is fantastic to see that our team were able to provide you with excellent service and that you enjoyed the views and our beautifully appointed rooms.
We do hope to welcome you back to Pullman when you next visit Cairns.
Warm regards
Wayne Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.1 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
2.5 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
6.2 km away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Reef Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Reef Hotel Casino

Property: Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Address: 35-41 Wharf St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cairns
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#4 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,937 - ₹ 20,454
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Reef Hotel Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled by Trinity inlet and cruise liner terminal, the five-star Pullman Reef Hotel Casino is Cairns most prestigious hotel. Take the time to look at our rates to see all of our EXTRA INCLUSIONS - we have thought of everything. Each of our luxurious rooms has its own spa bath, separate walk in shower and garden balcony overlooking the city or water views. A roof-top swimming pool, gym, four restaurants and bars, boutique casino, conference spaces and a unique Wildlife Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Reef Hotel Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Reef Hotel Cairns
Accor Reef Hotel
Sofitel Cairns
Cairns Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing