We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No smile at arrival (reception, the man behind the count at the resturant too)”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Acacia Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acacia Court Hotel
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No smile at arrival (reception, the man behind the count at the resturant too)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We have stay in these hotel few years ago so we deceide to stay here again but these time the receiption man no smile and not helpfully at all. On arrival he ask for drivers licence and nothing else at all. On that afternoon we look to see how much was the buffet and it said ont he window $24.95 each so we deccide to go to resturant for dinner and when we got there the man behind the count no smile no hello nothing and he said it is $25.95 each but I said we just notice these afternoon that is was $24.95 he said had gone up now I thought that was very rude of them. The waitress were all nice and had a lovely smile and even the person behind the bar. It not right that they smile and the supersivory do not that is wrong, the surpersory should give example to the works but it was the other way around. The room smell like was mouldly. My husband order breakfast for the morning for himself I do not want anything and the waiter delivered and said $21.00, so I ring reception and ask why were paying everything as we go and she said they do not have a credit car swap from us and said they never ask and she said because you paid your accommadation throw the intenet and said but why we were not told these on arrival she said you can make complant and I am now. I will never stay in these resort again. My husband & I work for resort all our lives and will never ever talk to guess the way the Acacia Court Hotel do. We even notice one of the bath towels was dirty. I am really sorry but I do not like to do these for your but the staff need to know what they have done.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    80
    79
    39
    51
See reviews for
53
85
34
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banora Point, New South Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

My husband and I have had another short holiday here and it is about the 5th time we have been here. The value is unbelievable, the Oceanfront rooms have unrestricted views over the ocean and good sized covered balconies. Although the furnishings are a bit out of date they are most comfortable and the rooms are always clean and well maintained. They have upgraded to TVs to large flat screens now and have Austar which is great.
The great price of $105 per night for the Oceanfront rooms is brilliant considering that a couple get a full buffet breakfast included in the price !!!!! The breakfasts go from 6.30am to 10am which is great for people going out on early Reef trips and also for those who like to have a sleep-in. There are about 4 types of Fruit Juices, an assortment of Cereals, Sausages, Scrambled eggs, poached eggs, hash browns, baked beans etc. There is also a selection of fruits and cakes as well as 4 different types of bread for toast. There is a Coffee machine which has all types to choose from as well as cups of tea.
If you went to have this full type of breakfast at a coffee shop or restaurant you would probably pay around $25 each. So if you take that off the price of the room you are only paying $55 per night which is marvellous and the reason why we go back at least twice every year from the Gold Coast. There is a full size tennis court at the property as well as a large swimming pool with spa. We have stayed at many different properties in Cairns but this is easily the best value for money. It is located about 2km north of the CBD in Cairns however this is a lovely flat stroll and takes about 20-30 minutes along a lovely walkway through the lawns and gardens along the way. It is only 2 blocks from the local bus stop which is handy for people who do not wish to walk that distance. A taxi from the Airport cost us only $18 which is great as we had 2 suitcases plus cabin bags. Highly recommended to anyone wanted good comfortable accommodation with lovely views.

Room Tip: It is definately worth the few dollars more to have an Oceanview room rather than a Mountain View ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annaliese6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was our first visit to Australia and our first night was spent here. The hotel is rather worn and in need of a renovation. The beds were uncomfortable. The furnishings were a little shabby. The location overlooking the water was nice, but it's too far from the downtown area. The next time we'll look for a place a little closer. The rate was good. We paid $79 per night.

I was not impressed witht he restaurant. It was expensive, the buffet selection was rather limited and the food was not all that special.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were there for 5 days and the room was comfortable with a good view and it was good value. The hotel could use some simple modifications for updating - like getting rid of the nylon bedspreads and using quilts. Having said that, the staff was helpful and pleasant...there was Mr. Grumpy but he was easy to get to smile. The pool was delightful and the laundry room helpful. It was an easy walk downtown or a cheap fare. The hotel restaurant had an amazing seafood buffet dinner and a wonderful breakfast - whether you want light fare or a full blown breakfast. They had pots of coffee in the restaurant or a terrific espresso maker.

Room Tip: it would be wise to request a room facing the ocean...that might be considered the front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We viewed the room before booking and accepted it for what it was, an older style motel room but with fabulous views overlooking the Esplanade. We took the room we loved the view and thought it would be beautiful with the door open to this lovely view with the fresh air coming in. WRONG. We opened our balcony door and went out for 2 hours and came back to a wet room. Yes I know about the high humidity in Cairns but nothing would prepare you for what we came back to. The carpet was wet, all the tiles in hallway aa and bathroom were wet. The walls were wet, could see the condensation running down the walls. We had to wear shoes inside due to the floor being wet. I wiped the tile floor with the bath mat so I could stand in the bathroom without getting my feet wet and 5 minutes later the floor was wet again?? It really was the weirdest experience and most uncomfortable. When I opened he door to the corridor to go to the lift there was a small puddle of water at the entrance to our door. We told reception the next morning what had happened and asked if we could have another room and they gave us one. This time we made sure the air conditioner was off and in the beginning I kept our balcony door closed until the room had reached the normal temperature. I then opened the balcony door to get the nice breeze and freh air and approximately 2 hours later it was exactly the same as LT night, evything was wet again and I could not believe it. The air con was off. After the first night we saw signs in the lobby, in the lift telling guests to keep balcony door closed due to the humidity. We were not happy about having to keep the door closed at all and this should not happen in a hotel. We have lived in Cairns for 28 years and have air conditioning on and doors or windows open and this does not happen in the wet season.

The linen in both rooms were the worst I have had in a hotel. The bottom sheet was not a fitted sheet, they were both very old, worn and cheap and the elasticised parts that hold the mattress protector in place were broken so through the night the protector kept getting scrunched up underneath, it was very uncomfortable.
I really cannot recommend this hotel due to our experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.0 km away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
0.1 km away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#46 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 km away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cairns City Sheridan
Cairns City Sheridan
#61 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.3 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Court Hotel

Property: Acacia Court Hotel
Address: 223-227 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,807 - ₹ 7,210
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acacia Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 10-story Hotel located on the Esplanade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Acacia Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cairns
Cairns Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing