We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tropics vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tropics vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Hotel Cairns for six nights. After a long day of travel, we were greeted by Patrick at check in. Patrick was very friendly and upgraded us to a water view of the Trinity inlet. The entire staff was very friendly and quite helpul. Anne, Gemma, and Bonnie were great in the executive lounge. The hotel has a great location within walking distance of the Esplanade, restaurants, CBD, and the night market. The room was very nice and the hotel is well maintained. We will definately stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaMonk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Traveller,



Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via Tripadvisor. I’m delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay and experienced great service from the team – they’re great ambassadors of the hotel and highly skilled in their profession. It’s great to read you enjoyed the premium waterfront location – just a short to the many great activities and attractions our destination offers. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Tropical North.



Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    718
    282
    100
    51
See reviews for
384
942
137
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had a very relaxing holiday staying in this hotel. Very well located in the city centre on the harbour. Lots and lots of choices of restaurants nearby, though the bar downstairs which is open to the waterway was a chilling area after a full day of activities. The room we stayed in was refurbished and looking out over the city to the nearby ranges. The staff bent over backwards to ensure your stay was the best.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStyleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the comments via TripAdvisor – I appreciate your time. It’s great to learn that you’ve enjoyed your stay and found our central location to be such an advantage – we really are only a short walk to all the key features of this great destination. I’m also very pleased to read that you found the staff to be helpful and assisted you as needed. I realise Cairns is a long way from home but I hope one day we can welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had an unexpected stop-over in Cairns and needed somewhere to stay at short notice. The Hilton was the first place we tried (as we have stayed at Hilton hotels previously) and it really exceeded our expectations.

The hotel itself is set up in a resort-style right near the beach in Cairns with a large, inviting lobby area. We had a king size room which was luxurious, with all the fit-out and amenities you would expect from a Hilton hotel. The staff were welcoming and extremely helpful.

We did not have our evening meal at the hotel but both room service breakfasts we ordered were excellent with good serving sizes and variety of items to choose from. The valet parking was very quick and the concierge who collected our car when we needed it was very relaxed and eager to assist us. We had an early morning check-out and the car had already been collected and parked at the entrance for us when we went down to check out.

What really impressed us was that they allowed us to check in early in the morning and allowed us to order breakfast (which usually needs to be ordered the night before), which was delivered within half an hour. The early check in was a relief for us after a rough plane trip and needing somewhere to rest for the day. We would definitely stay here again for any future trips to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hippodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via TripAdvisor. Your comments are appreciated and are passed through to my team who always enjoy getting such great feedback. I’m very pleased to read your arrival was welcoming and we were able to have you accommodated and comfortable after your unpleasant sounding plane journey. I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Cairns when next you travel this way.

Yours sincerely,
John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have two favorite hotels in Cairns one being the Shangri La Hotel and this on The Hilton. I have stayed several times in this hotel in 2011 and must say if you choose the right room it is worth it.

The good things
.
Fantastic refurbished rooms
Great value
Amazing views
Quite and soundproofed well
Fantastic room service meals and surrounding restaurants. Hanuman Restaurant a must!

The not so good things

Almost on every occasion with booking with this hotel prior checking to make sure and requesting a king bed I seem to get two double beds and having to always make my way back to reception to try to get a king bed room just with one bed in it you would think would be easy. Might be a good idea to organise these rooms with more king beds than having two beds in most rooms.

The reception staff are not very friendly or very attentive considering it is the Hilton after all. More attention needs to be paid on customer service and ie carrying of bags etc as it is very slack.
On most occasions I must say the level of cleaning wasn't the best on all my stays glass and walls had greasy hand marks and always dust on the wardrobe doors. Not very good :( please dont let this hotel down management by too much laid back attitude.

Overall though I will most definitely be back even on those couple minor details hopefully that will improve and outshine all the other hotels in Cairns

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieLoneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Aussie Traveller,

Thank you for the TripAdvisor review, it’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your time here in Cairns. I’m sorry there’s been confusion with your bedding allocation and some of the service aspects of your stay. You’ve highlighted some of the key features of the hotel such as our premium location and waterfront views and the dining options we offer.

I hope we can welcome you back to Cairns on your next trip to the Tropical North.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Waking up to an awesome view across the water to the mountains is just one of the pluses of staying at the Cairns Hilton. We selected it because of its great location in town and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious and had its own balcony with comfortable furniture, and quite well appointed.

It's right at the start of the waterfront boardwalk so getting around is as simple as taking a stroll along the waterfront, passing the many restaurants and bars on the way.

The staff were brilliant, very helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable, and we really enjoyed staying there.

So the complaints? Well one is very little indeed - the tiny ants that shared the room with us (and this was on the 7th floor!). There weren't too many of them though, and the bloke at reception said they're really hard to get rid of, so its a minor complaint.

The other issue, and one which may get worse with time, was that there is a new building site next door. They were working on the groundworks when we were there at the beginning of March 2012, so depending on what they are building, there could be quite a few mornings when guests wake up to the sound of building activity. Bummer if you want to sleep in.

Room Tip: Get as afar away from the building site as possible (eastern wing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrib310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, I’m very pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay especially finding the waterfront location ideal. There are, indeed, works being conducted in the space adjacent to the hotel – this is a Waterfront Foreshore redevelopment being conducted by local authorities. The works are all at ground level so there is no impact on the views from the hotel. These works, when complete, will provide a new Foreshore with seating, walking paths and facilities along the way. It will be a great asset to the area. I hope we can welcome you back to the Tropical North on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 66 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
6.3 km away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,812 - ₹ 19,759
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing