We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Located at one end of the Cairns Esplanade, the Holiday Inn was generally all we needed and would probably be similar to many other hotels in its price range. The room was fine and well serviced and they were flexible with their service times. It's not right in the middle of town but only 2 blocks from Cairns central area and the city is not a a big place so easy to get around. One unique feature was that they offered hard and soft pillows nicely labelled.
Their Internet wifi access could be improved especially with more and more people using their own devices as you had to pay a separate fee for each device rather than a rate for the room. However, there are plenty of other wifi options available in the town.
Recommended.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Seatouner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Hello Seatouner,

Thank you for posting your feedback.

It's lovely to read that we were able to provide everything you needed through out your stay. We have taken on board your comments about the internet connection and this is something we are currently working on.

I hope the Cairns weather was a welcome break from those famous Wellington southerlies (I lived in the Wellington region for 20 years and certainly don't miss the wind).

We hope you welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns again sometime in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    898
    323
    70
    53
See reviews for
416
940
161
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in June taking advantage of Weekend Family Special on their website which included buffet breakfast for the 2 of us for $145/night. That very favourable rate does not seem to be on their website at the moment but if you them directly you may be able to negotiate a better price than what they advertise on line.

The building is located within easy walking distance to most things in Cairns City so don’t hire a car if you plan to go on guided tours. Don’t even hire one unless you are actually there & realise that you need one. Even though it located close to busy restaurants & night life it is just far enough away to have quiet night’s sleep. The room was very clean with up to date fittings & offered good value for money. The price we paid it was worth it just for the buffet breakfast.

Minor glitch was the weak wifi signal. We couldn’t even use our phone’s data pack & had to go over to The Esplanade to connect. The mobile phone worked fine inside at least. This needs to be worked on by management as a matter of high priority as it has the potential to scare customers away or to not return.

In summary yes we recommend but try & look for lower prices than they advertise.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but rooms with views of the Coral Sea are dearer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rona66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Hello Rona66,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our buffet breakfast. There is so much variety on our buffet that sometimes it's hard to pick what you want.

Cairns is a great city for walking around, however if guests are wanting to get a hire car so they can explore the likes of Palm Cove and Port Douglas it is recommended these are organised before the trip as it is not uncommon for the city to be low on hire cars during the busy dry season.

Should you travel to Tropical North Queensland again we hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Holiday Inn Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed one night before leaving Cairns. Nice clean room and premises. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet with many choices. Parking at $5 was a good deal, but be aware that the parking spaces are small. We had a Yaris and were glad we didn't get a larger car rental.

Location was convenient to esplanade, but just a bit a way so it wasn't too noisy. Both wired and wireless Internet access was spotty. Laptop, iPhone, and iPad couldn't grab an IP address in the evening (perhaps too many users). Was able to get an address early the next morning, but could no complete payment for wifi on iPhone so gave up.

Overall a great hotel and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Most standard rooms have an OK view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayoubabsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Hello bayoubabsy,

Thank you for posting your feedback. Feedback is very important for us to see where we are doing well and where we can make improvements.

It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our buffet breakfast has an array of choices and I'm glad you got to try them out.

Thank you for your comments on the internet, this has been passed on to the relevant departments to see if there are improvements we can make with our service.

Should you travel through Cairns again we hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We used the Holiday Inn as a stop over ,as our flight got in around 8.30pm, before heading to Palm Cove for 5 nights. This was ideal, all four of us stayed in the one room. Very comfortable and clean.
Easy walk to down town Cairns.
Would stay there again, particularly to see more of Cairns itself.

Room Tip: Not right on the waterfront. But a very short walk to central Cairns and Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Hello Richo69,

I was happy to read that the Holiday Inn Cairns was able to provide all the facilities you needed for your short stay here.

With the waterfront right across the road and a 5 minute walk to central Cairns we certainly are in a great location to experience everything Cairns has to offer.

Should you travel through Cairns again we hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Cairns.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My second stay at this well positioned hotel proved that the earlier experience was no fluke. My room came with a balcony that overlooked the Lagoon and beyond that the Coral Sea. Despite being on the busy Esplanade, at night it was as quiet as the tomb at night and, after a busy day's sightseeing, I was able to sleep like a log. The rooms are spacious and the balcony large enough for two people to take tea on the terrace. The hotel's restaurant was pricey but the food was satisfactory. However, best to dine early as one the place gets busy the food takes an uconscionable time to get from the kitchen to the table. The hotel provides a reasonably priced shuttle service($10) to the airport.

I plan to visit Cairns again next year and will stay once again at this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garth549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
hello Garth549,

Thank you for positn you feedback.

it's great to read that you enjoyed your stays with us. We certainly try to make all our guests love their stays in Cairns and I am always happy to read when we achieve this.

We looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
1.0 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.2 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,493 - ₹ 13,665
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing