We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My second stay at this well positioned hotel proved that the earlier experience was no fluke. My room came with a balcony that overlooked the Lagoon and beyond that the Coral Sea. Despite being on the busy Esplanade, at night it was as quiet as the tomb at night and, after a busy day's sightseeing, I was able to sleep like a log. The rooms are spacious and the balcony large enough for two people to take tea on the terrace. The hotel's restaurant was pricey but the food was satisfactory. However, best to dine early as one the place gets busy the food takes an uconscionable time to get from the kitchen to the table. The hotel provides a reasonably priced shuttle service($10) to the airport.

I plan to visit Cairns again next year and will stay once again at this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

hello Garth549,

Thank you for positn you feedback.

it's great to read that you enjoyed your stays with us. We certainly try to make all our guests love their stays in Cairns and I am always happy to read when we achieve this.

We looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,705 - 1,709 of 2,215 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Room was clean and tidy, with modern facilities. Other hotel amenities were as you'd expect from a large chain of hotels. Pool area was tired, and could do with a deep clean. Location was excellent. 5 minute walk from the main strip. We paid for an upgrade to a sea view room. You could see the sea... but whether it was a 'view' was questionable.

Room Tip: Before you pay for an upgrade to a seaview... have a look at the room... What they consider to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaEverittSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Hello AndreaEverittSmith,

Thank you for posting your feedback.

We have taken your feedback on board. Your feedback is vaulable in helping us improve our services and facilities.

Should you travel to Cairns again we hope to see you at Holiday Inn Cairns.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Holiday Inn for 3 nights. Location is not the best as compared to Mantra Esplande. Average room standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Hello Atbh,

Thank you for posting your feedback.

The location of the hotel is a short walk from the centre of Cairns however is far enough away not to get noise from the bars and clubs and people walking around at night. The majority of our guests love our locations.

Once again thank you for posting your comments.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I love this hotel.

Staff are always very friendly, upgraded me many times being a Platinum member. Free drinks and meet the staff are always on offer.

The hotel has had an overhaul over the past 4 years, from the 80's outdated decor to slick rooms with Plasma TV's.

The hotel is an unusual figure of 8 shape, with the middle of the 8 playing host to Barramundi which they have reared from a young age.

I've had some banging hangovers in this place and the staff have always been happy to help with late check outs and taxi's. This may not count for all, just my experience.

I've been maybe 20 times, and I'll be back. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cairns. Great location 5-10 mins walk from the lagoon.

Room Tip: If you can, get a sea facing room. You'll get a balcony as opposed to a window. The sea in Cairn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Hi john b,

Thanks for your wonderful comments.

Thank you for continuing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Cairns. It's great to hear we are doing a good job and our service meets or exceeds your expectations.

We'll see you again soon John!

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This Holiday Inn is great. The atrium is beautiful and the whole environment is peaceful. The hotel is built open plan around the 6 story open atrium, which is nice. Rooms are a good size and the location of the hotel is right on the Esplanade, convenient to everything. My room had an ocean view which was marvellous. Breakfast is excellent, up to the Holiday Inn's best standard. Staff are as warm and friendly and flexible as ever - particularly Natalie and Tara on reception, Jeff the Porter and the woman who runs the Tour Desk. Only weak points for me were that I could not get the air conditioning to stay the way that I adjusted it - even when I turned it off, it came back on. Also, the bench space in the bathroom is minimal, not enough room for one person's bathroom bits and pieces - so certainly nowhere near enough for two.

Room Tip: Ocean views are lovely and higher floors will get you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Hello Ali_Hawkins,

Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor.

Thank you for all your positive comments. Natalie, Tara, Jeff and Sue appreciate the recognition. They are just a few of our great team members.

I have passed on your commetns about the air conditioning. Engineering will check the room for faults in the system.

We hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns sometime in the future,

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,282 reviews
0.9 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
1.0 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 7,654 - ₹ 16,073 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing