We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel, well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Location of this hotel was great within Cairns – just at the end of the Esplanade, far enough away from the noise of the restaurants/bars along the Esplanade, but close enough to be within a couple of minutes walking distance of all the main attractions in Cairns city centre.
Room was a great size, plenty of space and lots of storage space. An empty fridge was provided in the room which was great for storing (and more importantly keeping cool) drinks. Bathroom was also a decent size. Hotel was very clean and fresh feeling, staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. Laundry facilities were provided on every other floor which was very useful. Lady at tour desk was also very helpful arranging excursions, however as I found out from others whilst on tours you may be cheaper booking directly with the tour operators who often give discounts, rather than booking through the hotel.
Restaurant was nice and there was plenty of choice at breakfast; lots of fresh fruit, plus croissants, pastries, cereals and cooked breakfasts. Would stay here again if in Cairns.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with an ocean view for fabulous views across the esplanade to the ocean and rainf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hello dg 2012,

Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review.

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay and were able to use the facilites we have on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    831
    285
    64
    50
See reviews for
381
842
145
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We loved this hotel with spectacular views from our room. The hotel is located opposite the ocean and close to city activities. The hotel staff is kind and friendly, they are here to help you and to inform you. Several restaurants and shops are a block away from the hotel. In all public parks they have BBQ but we can use it, even more amazing they are incredibly clean, just like the city. During the day we heard in the distance a strange bird noise and walking we could see a number of huge bats hanging from trees in the city center. Cairns is the perfect place to see the coral reef. There are some wonderful scenery along the coast. Near Cairns, there is a wonderful place to call Palm Cove and is worth the trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with ocean view at the back or side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GYBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hello GYBB,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Cairns. I am please to see that our team was able to help you with all your enquiries.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed here for 3 days in February and had an enjoyable stay. It was a fantastic location, right on the esplanade and very easy to get around. Short 10 minute stroll to the pier, and only a 15 minute walk to a major shopping centre. Also IGA, and Woolworths within a 5 minute walk. Our room was very clean and had been recently renovated. My only complaint about the room was the bathroom. It was tiny. Also everytime you had a shower the floor would end up soaking wet because there was not a proper shower screen/curtain. Apart from the bathroom, the room was lovely, comfortable bed and a nice balcony, with views over the pool and esplanade. Staff were great, and very helpful. The pool area is not anything fantastic but it was a decent size and had a large hot spa. Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony over the pool or esplanade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19nat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hello 19nat89,

Thank you for posting your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Cairns. We certainly are located in a great spot. Our guests really can enjoy all Cairns has to offer with ease.

Thank you for your comments on the bathroom. Our bathrooms are recently renovated and have all modern facilities and the hotel is able to provide those little bits and bobs you make have forgotten like toothbrushes and shaving kits.

We hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here for several days in January to have close accomodations near the airport. The rooms were pleasantly clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet offered a great variety of choices and was very nice. The grounds were neatly kept and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drag0nfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hello drag0nfli,

Thank you for your short and sweet comment.

I'm glad to see Holiday Inn Cairns was able to meet your needs.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Nice hotel by the esplanade. A short walk to all amenities but far enough to avoid the noise.
Price wise the restaurant Sirocco can compete with all the restaurants around, and the food is good. The rooms are nice and comfortable with everything you need for the little time you will spend at your room.
At check in staff was great. I must mention Tara who work the extra mile to acomodate our needs. Well done!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3travellingtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateGeorge, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Hi 3travelling together,

Thank you for your comments.

I will be passing on your comments to Tara, she will be very excited to receive such good feedback.

I'm gald to see you enjoyed our Sirocco Restaurant. I can highly recommend the lamb.

We hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Cairns again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kate George
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.9 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.9 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.2 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.6 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Address: 121-123 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cairns
#9 Family Hotel in Cairns
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,101 - ₹ 15,621
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns 4.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea, and a stunning natural setting amidst landscaped tropical gardens, the oceanfront DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns is just a short walk from the city center, and Cairn's business, retail and entertainment districts. The hotel overlooks the picturesque Cairns Esplanade, and is just moments from Cairns Lagoon and Cairns Casino. Enjoy easy access to Cairns Convention Center and lots of attractions, including the World Heritage listed Daintree Tropical Rainforest and the Atherton Tablelands. The Great Barrier Reef departures terminal is 100m away, and Cairns International Airport is only 10 minutes' drive from our Cairns hotel. Our onsite tour desk will help you explore the wonders of this unique region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cairns Hotel Cairns
Cairns Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing