We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome backpacker in Cairns”
Review of Reef Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reef Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome backpacker in Cairns”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This backpacker is a really good place to stay in Cairns and I really enjoyed the time there. I stayed in a 4 beds dorm with 3 other friends so we feel like at home. It's locate about 15 form the center (the laguna and the waterfront) The staff are friendly and the price is really okay. You can park your van in the carpark just in front of the building it's safe and you don't have to pay ;-). See ya guy's

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeloz2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    21
    21
    14
    27
See reviews for
2
33
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

i love the reef, all the staff and guests are so nice. its a great hostel if you want to relax or see the sights of cairns. i have stayed at the reef plenty of times because i love the home away from home atmosphere. debbie the lady in reception always goes out of her way to help me out. its close to all the pubs, places to eat and the lagoon. it is so cheap and meals and wifi is included.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Genuinely would reccomend this hostel over all the others in Cairns. Everyone is so welcoming and there are activities laid on most nights of the week with loads of freebies involved, including; FREE WIFI!!!! free breakfast and evening meal (this saved my life!) and movie night with free popcorn and goon (essential). It's one of the best hostels I stayed at on my gap year as it was the one I found easiest to socialise with everyone, especially being a solo female. The pool is brilliant to chill in the sun with people during the day and the open layout makes it easy for us all to sit and have a good time at night. I was also able to work for accomadation, however it's got great prices regardless.
I loved my time there!

Room Tip: Rooms A,B and C are probably the best to meet more people as they are the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Good points- location close to main attractions, aircon strong, beds comfy, lockers in rooms good, friendly staff
Bad points - security wasnt good - door with codepad was propped open and opened for people without a key - was round the back so out of view of reception. Dirty toilets and showers that werent checked - often ranout of loo roll, cockroach in the room. On our first night there was only 1 clean bed so we had to share the small top bun, nit a great sleep but reception gave us some money off which was good.
Average hostel

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

i was at reef backpackers fro 6 nights and it was ok me an my girlfriend had a private room, if there was an ensuite it would have been alot better, on the second floor only 1 shower was working so you had to wait for a long time to get a shower, you weren't aloud the air con on all day it had to be off between 8am til 6pm which is when it is hottest in the room!, the kitchen was ok just like any other kitchen, we found ants in our bed more than once, our bin wasn't changed once while we were there and we were there for 6 nights! the walk into town wasn't too bad but a shuttle bus would have been nice form the bus station as carrying a backpack in the cairns heat is no fun

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
508 reviews
0.1 km away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
111 reviews
0.4 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#19 of 64 in Cairns
484 reviews
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 84 in Cairns
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Backpackers

Property: Reef Backpackers
Address: 140 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 715 - ₹ 2,912
Hotel Class:2 star — Reef Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Reef Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing