We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent half of our honeymoon here...YUM!”
Review of Devine Gelato

Devine Gelato
Ranked #3 of 25 Dessert in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 19
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Devine Gelato is a small locally owned shop providing freshly made on the premises gelato and sorbets using only the highest quality ingredients we can source. We are located in Aplin Street right next door to Outback Jacks family restaurant Our opening hours seven days a week are 10.00AM to 10PM
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spent half of our honeymoon here...YUM!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We were in Cairns for a week for our honeymoon. We ate here EVERY night for dessert! The place delivers friendly service from the staff and has an unpretentious feel (which we loved) but most importantly the gelato is super YUMMY!

A definite highlight of our honeymoon in Cairns! I mean snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef was amazing but the experience of tasting gelato from this place for a week is on a completely different level!

I'm going back for another before we leave tomorrow! ;)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    98
    20
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best way to end the day”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Note to self: don't order desert anywhere else, come straight to Devine Gelato.

This family owned, freshly made gelato was just the thing to finish off the night - the serves were very generous, the taste sensational and the lady serving is a delight.

Make sure you have enough room for 3 scoops!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goochieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality, Consistency, Service Delivery, Attitude. Best in town.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Ive been having a love affair with Devine Gelato for several years now. They consistently deliver an excellent quality product year in year out, which cannot be said for many other businesses. If you want Gelato you go here. If they are shut because you took too long to eat your dinner... go around the corner. But for cold, creamy delights between noon and 10pm this is the place to be. Try the vanilla... It doesnt just taste like sugar. Amazing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best ice-cream ever!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My partner and I discovered this little place one night after we had dinner next door for our anniversary. We had a double scoop waffle cone each and once we tasted it we knew we would never go to another ice-cream shop in cairns again! We have since been there many times and during those times I took it upon myself to try every flavor...I just on Thursday last week finished and did not find one flavor that wasn't completely and utterly amazing tasty and individual to anything I've ever tasted before. We will definitely continue to go there as they definitely have the best ice-cream I've ever tasted!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahInCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary AB
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Creamy Heaven!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

After the first visit to Devine Gelato on day one of our five day stay in Cairns, every evening after was planned around getting some of this heavenly treat. NO matter where you dine save room for this amazing treat. There seems to be three gelato shops on every street, but none as tasty, clean or friendly as Devine Gelato. The owners were so helpful and informative about anything area related, as they have lived in Cairns for years. We will remember the taste and the people we met there, for years to come!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devine Gelato also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Devine Gelato? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing