We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh sushi, great price and atmosphere”
Review of Sushi Zipang

Sushi Zipang
Ranked #215 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi, great price and atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is one of our favourite sushi trains in Cairns. The range of sushi options on the train is great however if you want a hot sushi you'll need to request it from the staff. Sushi tastes really fresh and staff are very helpful.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best sushi train in town - far fresher and more generous than any other”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The fish is fresh, the portions are generous and the staff and friendly and welcoming and recognise their regular customers. The food on the train is hot if its supposed to be hot and cold if its supposed to be cold, unlike all the other sushi trains I have tried in Cairns. There's also a good selection of real fish sushi as oppososed to chicken and cooked meat sushi.
Plates are very reasonably priced too.
This is the same establishment as Ichi Ban Ramen so if you or others in your group don't do sushi then there's generous bowls of tasty ramens and katsu curries etc. too.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sweetpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super Sushi!”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We visit Zipang regularly because of their authentic, no nonsense Japanese sushi and other dishes. This is a family run business and the chef is actually Japanese and he really knows what he is doing. The train can lack a bit of variety at times but the waitress will take your order with a smile and before you know it - you are eating super fresh, delicious nori. They specialise more in traditional sushi varieties such as raw tuna, smoked eel (yummy), flying fish roe and bento boxes rather than deep fried everything like many of the chain sushi joints. Great value, good service, delicious food!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank My0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disapointing.”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

After looking at the menu, and reading fantastic reviews, we decided to have lunch at Zipang.

Things went bad from the start as we waited to be shown to our seats, when no-one came we just sat down at a table. When other customers came in they were shown to their seats after standing at the door for a while..

Zipangu has a sushi train, although everyone had to order off the menu because, there were only five plates that kept circling around.

The Service was average, as there were people arriving after us, ordering before us.

The Sushi, was average, and tasted as if it had been sitting their for a while.
The Gyoza, was decent and had a real meaty taste to it. It tasted fresh and was freshly cooked.
The other hot dish that we ordered was karagee chicken, which we had had at another restaurant and had loved it. Unfortunately this chicken was extremely oily, thick battered (while the batter was nicely spiced, the thickness and oil took over)..

To top it all off, when we went to pay, no-one was there to service us.. We felt like just walking out, the staff were too busy concentrated on getting orders right to serve us.

Overall we thought that this place was not worth all the fuss, and most of us left hungry and unsatisfied!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillBetting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable sushi for its price”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

I walked past Zipangu many times when I was walking down to Cairns Central and finally I decided to give it a try.

The selection of sushi on the sushi train was quite good, from the common salmon to beef sashimi, I found the prices on the low side compared to the shushi trains in Melbourne, where the quality is nothing like this one!

My only let down was the uni (sea urchin), because it is not popular there, it wasn't fresh and it left a really bad fishy taste in my mouth for a long long time, so definitely my last try of sea urchin in Australia, as I have never had anything fresh tasting in Australia.

Overall, good restraurant, if I do go back, I will definitely be trying out the bentos and other hot foods (such as udon and ramen).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terri_t_berri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Zipang also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Sushi Zipang? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing