We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Cairns!”
Review of Caravella Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caravella Central
Ranked #40 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The best (and cheapest) hostel I have stayed in Queensland. Smack in the middle of Cairns city and literally only a 3 minute walk to the nightclub strip & casino.
Rooms and facilities are basic, but for a backpacker they are perfect and the price reflects.
Our room was cleaned daily. Angelo at the reception was great and gave better prices than other tour operators around town. People were actually coming to his reception in the hostel to book tours and activities that weren't even staying here, which we found pretty funny (not to mention rare). Free meal every night at a local bar - good food & beer. Overall the stay here was heaps of fun & had some hilarious chats about our common friend 'Starcraft' with Angelo. Definitely the best hostel receptionist I have met, and deserves this review.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirbyOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Caravella Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

Great budget accommodation, excellent price and friendly staff. Met so many cool people over a few nights. Free meal vouchers (meals are really bland but atleast you save money). Room was cleaned each morning and floor was even washed once in the 3 nights we were there.
Definate pluses were that there is a fridge and a sink in the room (they are all 4-share).
Negatives: welds on the beds were concerning and probobly unstable! Also, there are only 2 toilets per floor, and the shower are weird! 2 showers in ssame changing area with 1 outside door, remember to lock this if you are wanting to shower alone! Also one evening there was no hot water but in the morning it was toasty!.Quiet most evenings which was great for us as gilligans accross the road is your typical loud dancy nightclub and hostel which definately isn't for us. You can use their pool and laundry machines though!
Stay here if your on a budget, want to meet people and go on tours (reception have wide variety of leaflets and can book for you with 5 or 10% discount).

Room Tip: They are all the same standard layout.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank universe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The hostel is only 15 dollar and it's very basic. There is no light in the toilets, only 2 on each floor and I think other people can look into the showers. But you get what you pay for I guess.

You get a free meal voucher for the woolshed every night, it's a nice backpackersbar and with the voucher you can choose between: chilli concarne, spghetti bolognese and vegetarian. Not much choose, but hee, its for free:)

The hostel also offers 10% discount if you book a tour and ofcourse you need to go snorkeling or diving on the great barrier reef so quit easy you save 15 dollars.

The dorms are small but only 4 people sleep on a dorm. It was a but loud at night due to the gilligans who was across the road. There was no aircon in the room so you needed to open the window and stay awake till 4 at night. Best option was to party yourself so it wouldn't bother you that much.

The location is really good, like I said across the road from gilligans where you pay 25 dollar for a dorm. The city centre and the lagoon is 5-10 minutes walk same as woolshed.

The service is very good. Angelo was extremely helpful and really wanted to help you. I forgot to get my luggage out of the luggage room before 7 and when I arrived at 8 there was nobody there. My flight to New Zealand was leaving in 3 hours so I really needed to go. Fortunately Angelo came while he was in the cinema to give me my luggage. I didn't missed my flight but got very stressed out.

The hostel is basic but its very cheap and very good costumer service. I would definitly go back to this hostel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blontje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

i got recommended this hostel by a friend and i am pleased i took her advice, it did say $15 on the internet when we got there it was $10 a night which included a free meal at the woolshed. the meals are very basic but you can upgrade for a few extra dollars. the rooms are clean and are all 4 bed share. the 2 girls on reception are really friendly and helpful, if you book any tours with them they will give you 10% discount. its right opposite the famous gilligans party hostel and they are paying about $30 a night, you can hear the music from the hostel (it had a night club inside) but the fan in the room drowns the noise out. you get to meet loadz of amazing people, i had the best time ever.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenad_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Corona backpackers has got to be one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Hannah and rthe office staff are amazingly helpful, way beyond what you normally get in any hostel. They book any trips and organise anything you need (with a 10% discount). The rooms are spacious and the whole hostel is clean -and cleaned thoroughly every day. All rooms have large ceiling fans, there's a kitchen as well as free evening meal coupons to get every day. It's a brilliant, friendly place. I stayed here for two weeks and would go back again without a second thought!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpacker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#28 of 84 in Cairns
220 reviews
0.2 km away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.6 km away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Global Backpackers Central
0.1 km away
Inn Cairns Boutique Apartments
0.1 km away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravella Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Central

Address: 72 Grafton St | Shop 6, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Corona Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 1,736 - ₹ 3,021 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravella Central 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Caravella Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing