We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food but be prepared to wait”
Review of The Lillipad Cafe

The Lillipad Cafe
Ranked #20 of 597 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The best breakfast, brunch, and lunch cafe in Cairns. Heaps of vegan and vegetarian options, top-notch cakes and fresh juices. Budget friendly menu of European, American Southwest, and Aussie favorites. A humble cafe that cooks with love for locals and travelers alike.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food but be prepared to wait”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I've been to lillipad quite a few times over the last couple of years. It's a very popular cafe with locals of cairns. Big, tasty, fresh meals at a good price (you can actually order half serves which I recommend if you're not a big eater)
Due to its popularity, be prepared to wait for a table (weekends especially) and for your food to come out. Average wait is an hour. The service is friendly but incredibly slow. I have been there a few times and had the waitress take my order, then sit down and finish her breakfast for the next 20mins before making my coffee which is frustrating. But, that is part of the lillipad experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissAims1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    120
    22
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok for a big backpacker breakfast but better options in Cairns”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We read the reviews and knew this cafe offered big servings in a hippyish sort of setting. Well, the big servings was right.
What the reviews didn't say as much was that the service would be very slow, nobody would wipe down our dirty table, the coffee is very average and the food is very high in fat.
Look, it was ok for breakfast. I certainly wouldn't recommend it for non-backpackers, but if you need a hangover cure or are going to spend lots of energy and have a lited budget then go for it. Otherwise, spend a couple of dollars extra elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solly1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never thought I'd ever feel "stuffed" after eating salad!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Walking down the street, you could easily pass by this delightful, small Cafe. But I believe it's part of the charm of this funky, contemporary, casual, little... Pad!

Originally from Perth, one of my favourite places to frequent cafe's, was in Fremantle. This little cafe transported me back to the individual, artistic, funky little "hang outs" I loved to meet friends in for a simple, delish lunch, or a philosophical discussion over a deeply satisfying coffee and cake.

With a mixture of couch, armchair, and wooden chairs, miss matched with various shaped and sized tables. Bright coloured walls, covered in local contemporary art pieces. Funky, smooth style tunes playing in the background. Down to the table number stand, that's not even a number, but a picture with a philosophical quote or proverb!
Lillipad is the kind of cafe you can feel comfortable, and relaxed in, while offering a hip, and hippy style vibe rolled in one. (Something I find very rare to Cairns City Central location.)

Now about that salad...

Let me begin by saying, Lillipad offers a wide range to suit many tastes. But what makes them stand out to me, is they serve VERY decent size meals, with fresh, and often locally grown produce, and are FULL of flavour! Simply Delish!!! The prices are more than acceptable, when they come out with a giant plate of salad that isn't just lettuce with a couple of usual suspects in the vegetable department!
I have never been able to finish a "salad" at 'The Pad' to save my life! (This coming from someone who could finish off a standard size pizza in one sitting!)
The food is fresh, tasty, and fullfilling. With many vegan and vegetarian options available, that are just as tempting and satisfying.

The staff are friendly, engaging, and helpful toward your selection. And although they are well known for slow service, it is worth the wait! I have grown accustomed to bringing along a book when dining without company, so I have never been irritated by this one small flaw.

Overall, Lillipad Cafe is a favourite of mine, and if I ever find myself able to finish one of their huge, delicious salads in one sitting, it would be a small miracle!!
Two "Yum's" up!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieNomadPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Popular Sunday breakfast restaurant”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I went here for breakfast on Sunday morning. The place was very busy & had to wait a little while for a table. No table service so you had to order at the counter. It is a small place with about 9 tables inside & a few on the footpath outside. The meal seemed to take a long time to come out but the food was good. Fresh juices were fantastic. Prices were reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezza19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

One of my favourite places in Cairns. Been coming here for years and remains delicious.
Meals are huge and we usually share because of this. You may think the prices are a little steep until you see the sizes of the meals! And they are tasty, tasty, tasty!!!
Counter service to order and then they bring your meal out. Go there out of lunch hours as it's so popular and hard to find a table. Very funky, long and narrow with no air con. You can sit outside. Colourful artwork adorns the walls and I think they sell the pieces. Not my cup of tea, but I'm sure people like them. I go there for the food only.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunjewel258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lillipad Cafe also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Lillipad Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing