We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true taste of Japan in the heart of West End”
Review of Izakaya Goku

Izakaya Goku
Ranked #1,130 of 5,439 Restaurants in Brisbane
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 September 2017

I have eaten here a couple of times now and am as impressed as the first time I came. It has quite an extensive menu of Japanese favourites and the food is of a very high standard. I love the "lunchtime specials" that go from 12-5pm every day. That includes a main, a bowl of Miso soup and a soft drink. You can't do much better value than that in West End. My favourite is the Tempura Udon. The Tempura is delicious and the udon broth very light as it needs to be when eating with delicate tastes like Tempura. The service is very fast and friendly. Highly recommended and this will be one of my favourite stops when I'm down this way for work.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kouhaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Go with a few people. Get a banquet. Have some Saki. Its great value, fine food. Lots of meat on sticks.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 782alanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Found this Japanese on Uber Eats. Delivery was in 30 minutes. Food was still hot and fresh. Generous serves. I would order again.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank GB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Food: Pork Ramen - Poor- soup unnaturally way too sweet, lack the aroma of pork ramen. majority of pork was fat,
also a shame that the place uses Chinese style bowels when the rest of the restaurant is so well decorated

Environment: good
Staff: good
Price: too expensive considering quality of food provided

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Ariel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

The restaurant was quiet, which is generally not a good sign. I ordered the seafood okonomiyaki. It was ok, but seemed a bit dry compared to what I've had elsewhere. The service was fine, but was not exactly put to the test with only two patrons.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim4680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Izakaya Goku also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Izakaya Goku? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing