We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, easy access from airport by train,nice room, but let down by breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Ranked #32 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, easy access from airport by train,nice room, but let down by breakfast”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed last weekend. Location was fantastic- right @ Southbank. Step out of the front door, cross the road & you're right in the middle of the buzz of Southbank. It's an easy walk across the bridge to the city shops or catch the Citycat. Hotel is easily accessed from the airport by train with the hotel situated just a few minutes walk from either South Brisbane or Southbank stations.
Room was comfortable, clean and modern and the kitchenette with microwave in the studio room made it easy to heat meals and prepare sandwiches etc. I arrived very early and reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to check-in to one of the two rooms we had booked at 10:00am.

I had requested a room away from the train line following the advice of other reviewers and the room overlooking Grey Street proved very quiet from both inside and outside the hotel.

The only disappointment was the breakfast- At $30 or $25 if you pre book there was a very limited selection. We were told that food was not replenished after 10:30am so we arrived at 10:00 There was very little hot food and it was slowly brought out in very small quantities in 'dribs and drabs'. The quality of the food was good but the selection was far too limited for the price (no cakes or croissants). The breakfast staff were inattentive (one girl was quite rude) and need some hospitality training. I will stay here again but either make breakfast in the room or eat at one of the many restaurants at Southbank.

Room Tip: No views on level 3 but my companion's room on level 4 had great views of the river and city. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaycee95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Kaycee95,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us last weekend. We're in a great location for just about everything in Brisbane and I'm glad you have discovered us! I'm very happy our team helped you with an early arrival room, it's great when we can go above our guests expectations for important things like that.

It's a shame we let you down at breakfast time. Our Breakfast Buffet is huge with a great variety of fruits, cereals, yoghurts, hot food and bakery items (including croissants, waffles, danishes, various breads but no cakes) so Im as disappointed as you that we did not have enough food on the buffet. There's no excuse and it will be our usual fabulous buffet next time you stay - the buffet does close at 10.30am though so generally extra food is not brought out after that time. I apologise that one of our team members let you down regarding your breakfast service and I will follow this up today.

Thanks again Kaycee and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    646
    213
    65
    32
See reviews for
274
510
71
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here the past weekend for two nights with my daughter whilst visiting Brisbane for a musical. The hotel is in a great location and is in walking distance to the city and across the road from the South-bank Parklands and 500m from the QPAC Theatre and museum. Upon arrival they upgraded us to a suite which was well furnished. Rooms were comfortable for sleeping with heavy curtains to block out the light. Heaps of restaurants nearby. We will stay here again when in Brisbane.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blaintm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear TraciB,

Thanks for your lovely comments. I think the secret is out about South Bank and it's superb location - we consider ourselves very lucky to have such a great hotel here!

We'll see you again soon.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great location, was upgraded to a 1 bedroom. Very clean and spacious. Breakfast was a disaster as it was included in the room and hotel tried to charge for it. Only when I showed the copy of the reservation did reception check and then took 30 minute. Sad as it was a great stay but check out took far to long 45 minutes in all.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yallourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Yallourn,

Thanks for your honest feedback. It's great to know you found our location and accommodation to your high standard.

It sounds like we dropped the ball with our communication regarding your breakfast charge and the wait at checkout and I apologise for this as this is not our usual pratice at all. I'm sure you had a great experience at breakfast and enjoyed our lovely buffet too so we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again for your comments.

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed here on busines in late January. Good location and reasonable price - around $220 for a night plis breakfast. Has gym and lap pool. If you are a light sleeper you may want to avoid the rooms above the rail and busway.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah F, General Manager at Mantra South Bank, Brisbane, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear AGCY,

Thanks for travelling across the ditch to stay with us for your business trip and then taking the time to give us your feedback.

We think we have a fantastic location and reasonable pricing for Brisbane as well so we're very happy to see your comments.

We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Kind regards

Leah Feldmann
General Manager
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

great sized room desk, kitchenette area, sitting room area and bedroom. spacious bathroom, big shower, unfortunately could not get any hot water so had to settle for cold rather than freezing shower. Other than that room was perfect. Good selection in bar fridge and tempting snacks I found hard to resist as I arrived late and restaurants closed.

Room Tip: rooms at front are big and Grey St was not noisy on a Saturday morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasseyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
#34 of 157 in Brisbane
1,998 reviews
0.4 km away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#111 of 157 in Brisbane
28 reviews
0.9 km away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
665 reviews
0.9 km away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 157 in Brisbane
928 reviews
1.0 km away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra South Bank, Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra South Bank, Brisbane

Property: Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
Address: 161 Grey St | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,495 - ₹ 15,701
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra South Bank, Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra South Bank is conveniently located on Grey Street, opposite the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre and within walking distance of several major tourist attractions including the Queensland Performing Arts Complex, State Art Gallery, Museum and South Bank Parklands. Public transport, including buses, trains and the famous Brisbane River City-Cats are all within walking distance of Mantra South Bank, ensuring all that Brisbane has on offer is right at your doorstep. The hotel offers a range of accommodation options such as hotel rooms, studios, one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms have been stylishly designed to offer guests maximum comfort and feature air-conditioning, mini-bar, plunger coffee & tea making facilities, direct-dial ISDN telephones, voice-mail, broadband internet access (fees apply), LCD televisions and DVD player, in-house movies and personal in-room safes. All Studio rooms have a kitchenette and all apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and private balconies, some with city views. The property offers guests an array of professional services and facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, 24 hour concierge, 24 hour room service, on site Stone Restaurant & Bar, gym, pool and spa. Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Combined with the close proximity to Brisbane's major attractions, Mantra South Bank is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for comfort and convenience. **THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOTEL** Business Facilities Small conferences for up to 48 delegates can be catered for in 'The Boardroom' or 'Meeting Room' and for larger functions, Mantra South Bank's Stone Restaurant & Bar can cater for up to 150 guests. Every guest room has Broadband internet connection and secretarial support can be arranged. Fax and copying services are also available for an additional fee. Check In Instructions: (hours of operation) Check in 1400hrs Check out 1000hrs Check in is from 2pm, if you do arrive earlier we can store your luggage for you. Check out time is 10am. You will be required to leave either a credit card imprint or a $250 refundable security deposit along with photo ID on check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra South Bank, Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra South Bank Brisbane
Mantra South Bank Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing