We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thumbs up! Fantastic experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
George Williams Hotel
Ranked #61 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Thumbs up! Fantastic experience.”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Good price booked via Internet. Just 300m away from Roma St station so no taxis required. Easy to locate on George St. From BNE airport, I took the Citytrain to Roma St station. Check in time is 2PM, I arrived at 8.30am but they upgraded me immediately at no extra cost. Room was available immediately. It was great to have room early after waking up at 4AM.
Rooms are new and good quality. Bed was very comfortable and toilet was very clean. Everything about the room was wonderful. Two extra pillows, iron, hair dryer, coffee making facilities available in room. Friendly staff and excellent service.
Good restaurant in ground floor. Great location to get to anywhere in Brisbane. I will comeback again! Real value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safari1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    180
    110
    39
    15
See reviews for
42
135
87
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Recently rennovated. No mini bar items just UHT milk, Small TV. Resteraunt not open on Sunday evening the duty staff member was unwilling to reccommend somewhere to eat. Luck I am ex. Brisbane and was able to use prior knowledge.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the first floor. The conference rooms are also located on this level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I was recently staying 3 nights at this hotel in a refurbished room on first floor. Although room and sheets looked clean, I had bed bugs visiting overnight. Receptionist's reply to complaint was that even 5 star hotels have bed bugs these days and only gave refund for one night and no apology. They had put me in another room on another floor where a fuse went off although this time another receptionist was helpful and put me straight into another room. When at check out I complained about my treatment, the gentleman gave me another night's refund. I'm still scratching, have a skin infection and am on steroids. No fun.

Although I was happy when staying at the George Williams in the past, I won't return. It is quite pricey and when I visited, the Restaurant/Cafe was closed. Receptionist advised I could go and have breakfast at 7-Eleven or Pie-Face. Great!

Room Tip: Rooms on first and second floor are refurbished (if no bed bugs visiting)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mon608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The hotel is well located after a long trip from europe. The bus stop is nearby, so it can be reached easy from the airport. it is just in the middle of the city, only some steps to the walking road. room is very small, you just fall in the bed when you open the door. Staff is friendly. When you check out in the morning, you can leave your bag until your flight leaves in the evening and stroll around in the city. no parking near hotel, but car rental agency is nearby.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubert362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We are currently staying in Hotel George Wlliams cheaper to book direct, we had trouble finding it from Roma St train station as it still has Ymca on the building but we are pleasantly surprised although queen room is smaller and an odd shape and faces an office building so cant open the curtains as people can see in "no nets", it is clean and comfortable and quite well located.Staff very nice polite and helpful beds comfy and adequate tea, coffee nice fridge and jug for water air-conditioning over bed is not conducive to a good sleep so bring ear plugs but better than not having one We have stayed all over the world in all types of accommodation and this is quite acceptable well done YMCA.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbirthdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#58 of 158 in Brisbane
1,507 reviews
0.6 km away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#64 of 158 in Brisbane
1,387 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#51 of 158 in Brisbane
1,665 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.7 km away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#50 of 158 in Brisbane
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Williams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Williams Hotel

Property: George Williams Hotel
Address: 317 - 325 George St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,334 - ₹ 8,814
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Williams Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Williams Hotel has undergone an extensive, $2.5 million dollar refurbishment of all 103 room. Offering visitors to Brisbane an affordable contemporary accommodation. Located in the heart of the Brisbane CBD (Central Business District), George Williams Hotel is just a 5-minute walk to Roma Street Train Station, Treasury Casino and the shops and boutiques of the famous Queen Street Mall. George Williams Hotel is a 15-minute walk from Southbank Parklands which features the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, and QLD Museum. Suncorp Stadium is also just a 15-minute walk away. All rooms at George Williams Hotel include TV and en suite bathrooms. Each room is equipped with a work desk, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. Reception is open 24 hours. The hotel offers daily breakfast packages, available 7 days a week. The on-site restaurant, 325 on George, offers casual indoor and outdoor dining, and features a variety of international dishes. Guests can enjoy a wide selection of beers and wines at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your George Williams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Williams Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing