We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, but that's not a bad thing.”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #29 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

After a slightly false start (3 attempts to code the key to my room), this proved to be a pleasant, comfortable business hotel. Opposite the Botanical Gardens, this hotels med 70's exterior hides a traditional fitout that is surprisingly appealing after a long dat. The rooms are large, well appointed and the restaurant in the hotel provides a very nice (though not inexpensive) dinner option. A better than average breakfast make this a good all round option for inner city Brisbane.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsm1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review!

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our new hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,012 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

A great place to stay with comfortable beds, friendly staff and great location. Just a few short blocks from the Queen Street Mall - accessible but away from the bustle of the city. Opposite the Botanic Gardens and just a few minutes walk to the Eagle Street Pier restaurant precinct and ferries - there's lots of options for things to do without having to get in a car. Highly recommended and it will be my first choice for our regular trips to Brisbane.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us!

It’s great to see that you found our team members friendly and our location for exploring Brisbane.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I found this hotel and its' quite nice. The staff at check in and check out were very helpful and courteous. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. It had a huge fluffy doona (...helpful in Queensland) that was so cozy. The furnishings were comfortable and had a bit of a plush feel.

The bathroom was renovated, but you could easily see that it was a renovation of an old style bathroom. It had heaps of bench space and the shower was hot and had great water pressure.

The breakfast was disappointing. I ordered room service toast and croissants. The croissants were quite nice, but the toast was foul! Although hot, it was absolutely stale and rock hard.

I may stay there again as the location was very good- across the road from the botanic gardens and a close to the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twisty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us!

We are pleased to see that at all interactions you found our team members helpful and professional.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your bathroom and found all its amenities and features up to your expectation.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I work for a global medical corporation and have visitors from inter-state and international need to travel to Brisbane. I mentioned on check-in that I needed to find a place for both myself and our many work visitors to stay and use regularly. I need to come to Brisbane (from Sunshine Coast) and stay quite frequently to work with our Brisbane team. It happened that our son needed to be in Brisbane for an operation, so I took the opportunity to stay at the hotel and review it whilst there. I have other family members who were looking for a hotel as well, as they weren't happy with the ultra-modern refurbishments of hotels in Brisbane city, so I needed to review for them. Thinking I had finally found a place that certain family members would be happy with, the elegant decor and location and options on the menus I had viewed, I was feeling confident that we had found a hotel we could all use frequently. Unfortunately, that's where it all ended ... on examination of everything that occurred during our short stay, I think the main fault would have to be poor communication on all levels, beginning with at check-in being told the car park was at the opposite end to where it was located. At breakfast on Saturday morning, we went to the buffet to see a very long line of nearly all breakfast diners, and no eggs out, no toast, no bacon and a stressed out restaurant manager, who did deal with the situation, but it certainly was slow. When I noticed there was no soy milk out, I mentioned there were 2 people at our table who were lactose intolerant and if I could please have some soy milk (I had enjoyed a soy milk cappuccino in the lounge bar the night before - excellent service from Tommy too!, so I knew they had soy milk) ... the manager needed to get the food out, so I had to wait quite a long time for the milk. In the meantime, my coffee went ice cold. I was even thinking of walking up to our room and making a coffee up there, because it would have been quicker, and I had soy milk upstairs. Then, my breakfast was cold waiting so long (I need a drink when I eat) - the milk arrived ... but he brought me skim milk. I didn't realise until I had it in 2 cups of coffee. Also, when I went approached the coffee machine to pour another cup of coffee, the Manager said “Oh, you can’t use it – we are waiting for more milk”. There was a large line up again at the second coffee machine. I had to explain that I just needed the water, which was fully operable and he replied, “Oh that’s right, you have skim milk”. Once again, the communication skill of "listening" was absent. We took our children for a swim in the pool and I started having abdominal cramps - no doubt from the lactose I was served ... went to our room ... and we were locked out. I, a middle aged woman dressed up for an afternoon appointment, had to sit on the floor in the hallway outside our room and wait for my husband and one child to go down and get sorted. The cleaner just kept staring at me - surely if you are a staff member, there obviously is a problem, and you would approach the guest and see if you could sort ??? My husband said when he approached the lady at reception and said we had been locked out, he said she was obnoxious and full of attitude and said "That's because it is passed check out time". My husband had to show her the paperwork which proved we had paid for late check-out, then she only wanted to update one room card, instead of the two cards we were issued with. As he approached me sitting in the hallway, he said "We are not ever staying here again!". Instead of taking advantage of the late check-out we grabbed our gear and got out of there immediately. I was so over being there and the kids were stressed - especially the one who had the operation - he was supposed to be there recooperating and getting rest. Someone said to me - "Pure Gold on the hotel's behalf!". We encountered in our time there, 3 staff who excelled in customer service, but the others were bogans. You can market the hotel as much as you like as up-market and decorate it in nice furniture, but if you don't have 100% of staff on board and giving a great service, then what's the point in spending all the money on refurbishments and advertising. Word of mouth speaks. The cleaner approached us as we were leaving and asked us if we were going, and I said "yes". She said, "well they haven't told me to clean your room - it's not down to be cleaned today". Firstly, what does that have to do with us and secondly, I am imaging a surprise for the next guests assigned to the room! Also, my eldest son fell into the mud when we visited the park, so I obtained the correct number of $1 coins to run a washing load in the laundry, plus laundry detergent and use of the dryer - $7 in coins. The laundry powder machine had 2 dispensers - the first one ate my money and the powder seemed jammed in there. I had to use another of the coins in the other dispenser (which worked), but then I didn't have enough to use to complete the washing and drying cycles. I sent my eldest son to reception as I was in the laundry to sort out, but they didn't send anyone to un-jam the detergent dispenser and they wouldn't give him another $1 coin for me. So, the next person would have had the same problem as I did! I had to wear a wet skirt the next day. In our room - the beds were comfy, and the room service food was of a high standard. But the complimentary shower cap was missing out of the box in the bathroom - I had curled my hair and went to get the shower cap out of the box to have a shower, but it was empty and had to have a shower without one and had to recurl my hair again. At check-out, I wasn't asked at all "How was my stay?" and no talking to me at all. Maybe it was the lady who my husband encountered to fix us being locked out, and maybe she recognised our son with me? Maybe she wasn't game to ask me? Yes, we were all disappointed and I have to now submit my review to my employer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to share your opinion.

As you can see from the reviews of many others on this forum, our guests recognise the commitment to service we provide and this is usually a point of difference in our reviews. I am deeply saddened to see that our usual high standards of service delivery have not been afforded to you.

I offer my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced and would be more than happy to invite you back to the hotel with my compliments so I can showcase our award winning team to you and provide that they are capable of much much more.

Please contact myself directly at anytime on 07 3221 3411 if you wish to discuss this further.

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Royal On The Park is not a bad hotel. It's just an average one and a bit too expensive for what you get (in comparison to the other hotels we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Australia).

The good:
- The location is nice, you're really close to Queen St. and facing the beautiful Botanic garden
- Our room (fourth floor) was quiet

The bad:
- The room was really dusty..
- The bathroom time traveled from the 70s.. Nothing against the 70s but this one was really not in good shape. Looked like an antique Eastern Germany bathroom
- The service was disappointing. We asked basic questions about things to do around Brisbane to various people at the reception desk and they only gave us a few leaflets.. None of them seemed familiar with the region
- Internet rates are outrageously high if you're used to European/US hotels. It's apparently usual in Australia..

One morning, the fire alarm rang inside the whole hotel.. It was a test but we haven't been notified in advance. It's not a nice way to wake your customers up. It wasn't early in the morning but as we were still tired from the long flight we slept a bit longer. Anyway: they should let their customer know in advance.

We won't stay there again. I'm sure Brisbane can offer much better for less money ( at least we found it in Melbourne and Sydney).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seraph1Lampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank for your taking the time to provide us with your feedback – we hoped you enjoyed your time in Australia!

I was disappointed to learn that you did not find our team knowledgeable regarding activities in Brisbane – we do invest much in their training and product knowledge and we often conduct team building and training exercises based on activities that our guests can do whilst in Brisbane. As you can see from other guests comments, usually our Front Office team are not only exemplary in their provision of service, but also very knowledgeable in their local culture. Please do accept my apologies for the shortcomings in the service you have received – I will ensure our Front Office Manager conducts some training exercises on basic attractions within Brisbane to avoid another guest experiencing this.

I was also saddened to see that the cleanliness of your room was not up to your standards. We have recently begin a preventative maintenance program where team members from all departments outside of housekeeping, perform spot checks on the cleanliness of our rooms at random. This data is collated on our iPads and monthly the management will review the summary data for any cleanliness issues that we need to target. I will discuss your specific incident with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure that our high standards are being maintained in terms of room dust.

With regards to the comments you made about the Fire Alarm – as per legislation we do conduct two fire drills per year to ensure our team are trained in emergency situations. A letter advising all guests of this was dropped to every room on the Sunday at around 2pm – however our team must have missed your room. Please again accept my apologies for this – I too would not appreciate that type of wake up call and agree that all guests should be given advance notice.

Whilst we certainly did experience some shortfalls in our usual levels of service which are inexcusable, I was happy to see that our location was good for you and that you found your newly soundproofed room very quiet.

Thank you again for your stay and your feedback – I hope that I can now use your experience as a training tool with our team to ensure that we are always ensuring that Service comes First.

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.7 km away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,177 reviews
0.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.4 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 169 in Brisbane
2,484 reviews
0.6 km away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#18 of 169 in Brisbane
3,472 reviews
0.3 km away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: ₹ 6,254 - ₹ 12,896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing