We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to a hotel”
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great alternative to a hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Just stayed overnight at the Royal Albert again after many visits over the years. As an apartment hotel it doesn't have all the usual hotel facilities such as a gym, pool or business centre, but the large apartment style rooms with kitchen, laundry & lounge more than compensate. A great restaurant on the ground level provides room service & the central location means that restaurant & fast food is only steps away. This heritage building is very 'old world' with high ceilings & traditional fittings - so don't expect contemporary hotel style. Staff are attentive & helpful and the on site car park is a bonus.

Room Tip: 8 floors and the hotel is on a busy city corner, however I have never been disturbed by street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissylou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    213
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
150
218
42
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Excellent service in clean well presented rooms. Local restaurants are great and parking makes this a winner.

Definitely be back and have now made it our companies hotel of choice for Brisbane.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Thank you for a lovely stay, my english is not best so the staff were helping me find my Brisbane special time. kayaking at Riverlife - south bank siwm - cycle in park and great cafe and queens treet mall for shops. want to stay longer

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

An old world charm surrounded by great restaurants and shopping. Even though the hotel is situated in a very busy area the noise factor was great as you don't hear anything from outside. The hotel was a great place to stay with hassle free parking as they get your car from the carpark and deliver it to you. With the cost of parking being only $20 per day it was great value. Mondial restaurant below the hotel is very buzzy, a great venue with fantastic food and friendly staff. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We are regular visitors to Bne and this time I decided to book us into the Royal Albert. My husband and I who enjoy a quality hotel loved the Royal Albert with it period decor giving our room charm and warmth. We stayed in one bedroom apartment and were very happy with the facilities of our accom. The apartment was spacious and included a kitchen (which we didn't use) and a full separate laundry (again we didn't use it but it was nice to know it was there if needed).

The staff were professional and friendly on check in and out. As we had no issues or special requests we did not have a lot of other contact.

I loved the location of the Royal Albert, right across the road was the entry to the Queen St Mall and Myers, a short walk to the Gardens and Southbank.

We stayed on the second floor, initially I was worried about noise from the street but this was not an issue. We did not have river views but didn't expect to so this wasn't a drama for us.

We loved walking down the entrance and through the beautiful wood/glass french doors each time we came back in, it was like going back in time but in a pleasant way. Several drinks, dessert and a lovely breakfast was also enjoyed at Cafe Mondial (at the entrance).

To sum up our experience both my husband and I have declared that this will now be our regular home away from home when in Brisbane.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hocMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.7 km away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.2 km away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
2,608 reviews
0.2 km away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 157 in Brisbane
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
2,298 reviews
0.4 km away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
388 reviews
0.1 km away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Property: Royal Albert Hotel
Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,311 - ₹ 16,562
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing