We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Classic Design Leaves Lasting Impression at a Marriott - Who Would Have Thought?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Ranked #28 of 166 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Beachwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Classic Design Leaves Lasting Impression at a Marriott - Who Would Have Thought?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Feng Shui is all the rage at hotels all over the world. Sleek, (post) modern, and spartan describe the "W"fication of Marriotts and many other properties the world over. The Marriott Hotel in Brisbane completed a multi-million dollar refurb and decided to go ol' school. No fancy Japanese design here. Wood paneling everywhere (including the elevators), dark carpeting, and deep shaded upholstery in the bed rooms were classic and well appointed to be sure, but somehow a throw back to the 'best of the best' of another era. Food and drink at the 'bar'/restaurant were more than adequate but nothing memorable. Service was generous and friendly, if not entirely attentative. The location was central without being right on the CVB mall. Price was a premium but generally worth an extra $25 over many comparable 3*+ hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LevGonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear LevGonick – Thankyou for your generous rating and considered thoughts on our rooms and recent ground floor renovation. We of course always welcome constructive feedback and your comments regarding certain aspects of our restaurant and service are duly noted. We do hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    459
    153
    51
    34
See reviews for
213
459
97
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

While our room was very well appointed, it was the staff and the extras that makes this hotel stand out. I stay in a lot of hotels and rarely write reviews, but I can't help it this time. The staff were so-o helpful. They put us on the executive floor with access to the lounge. My advance rate ($249) also included valet parking and a buffet breakfast for two. The hotel is very clean, newly renovated and in the heart of downtown on the Brisbane waterfront. I would love to return and will definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sprucewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear sprucewood - Thankyou for your fantastic review and rating. Our staff will be absolutely delighted to see that you were so impressed with their service that it has prompted you to write this rare review. High praise indeed and much appreciated. And I’m also so pleased you were able to take advantage of one of our fantastic Advanced Purchase Rates. Please look out for future offers as we look forward to delighting you again on a future visit!

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I have been a brisbane marriott regular for over 10 years and it always meets my approval. My last stay was at the end of June. The hotel has had a fabulous renovation with a much better atmosphere in the bar/dining area. As usual the marriott bed is like sleeping in heaven and I had a beautiful veiw of the river and story bridge. The service is unbeatable nothing is ever too much trouble and the staff are there to please. It is a leisurely walk to the mall which has great shopping. The riverside markets on Sunday are worth the 2 minute stroll up the river with numerous cafes with excellent coffee, mind you the marriott cafe and dining options are a must the food is delicious. If you are staying in Brisbane and want comfort, luxary, service, and a great locality don't bother looking any further you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The high floors have the best veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eatloveprayplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Eatloveprayplay – Thankyou so much for your very complimentary review. We are delighted that you continue to enjoy your stays with us and particularly that you have found our recently renovated restaurant, Motion Bar & Grill, to have such great atmosphere. That was our aim and it’s wonderful to hear your thoughts. Our staff will also be thrilled to read your praise of their service, our location, the views, the food, the coffee and our super comfortable Marriott ‘revive’ bedding. You certainly seem to make the most of your stays with us and it goes without saying that we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
199 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just stayed for a week on business and I have to say I was quite impressed. Great location along the river and many of the best restaurants in town within 5 mins walk. Downtown is another few minutes down Adelaide street and taxis are easy to get. The hotel itself is better than the normal Marriott (I stay in Marriott's more than 75 nights a year). Lobby is pretty stylish and spacious. Restaurant is serving good food all day and the service throughout the hotel is good.

Rooms are also a notch better than the average Marriott. I stayed in a deluxe with river views and even staying 7 nights felt comfortable. Space for work, relax and sleep. Bathroom was large and I really like the big showers.

Parking, we used the valet which is a great service. I know its not cheap but Brisbane isn't a cheap city. Our office parking garage charges $100 aud per day ! so the $45 at the hotel isn't too bad I think (compared to other similar locations).

Finally, if you can, try to get access to the Exec lounge. Its on the 26th floor, have fabulous views of the river and the city. Breakfast and other nibbles throughout the day with good coffee, tea and other drinks. Service in the lounge was great.

I look forward to returning later this year.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear RichardU71 – We’re absolutely delighted you enjoyed your week’s stay with us and it’s particularly pleasing to receive such positive feedback from a seasoned business traveller. It’s great to hear that you were impressed with our service, location, rooms, restaurant and our Executive Lounge which is excellent value with all the inclusions and fabulous views. I also appreciate your comments regarding our valet parking service and the competitiveness of our fee. Thank you for your most informative and detailed review. We look forward to welcoming back later in the year.


Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Marriott Brisbane is one of the finest Marriotts we have ever stayed in. The Riverwalk location is perfect for getting all around Brisbane. A short walk to the train station or river taxis. The concierge level is one of the finest, great food and great service. The atmosphere is plush and relaxing, the Marriott in Sydney should come check out this property for a few tips on how to furnish and serve their valued customers. The rooms are well equipped with beautiful views. Outstanding property and fabulous staff!

Room Tip: Stay on the concierge level, it will pay for itself in the amenities offered in the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelConnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear TravelConnoisseurs – Thankyou so much for your wonderful review that has encapsulated all of the elements we take such pride in – our staff service, food, atmosphere, décor and location. I am delighted your stay with us was so enjoyable and hope that your travels may bring you this way again soon.


Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.8 km away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#24 of 166 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#21 of 166 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
0.9 km away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#19 of 166 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#3 of 166 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.5 km away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
1.3 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Property: Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Address: 515 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,886 - ₹ 16,189
Hotel Class:5 star — Brisbane Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stylish architecture, elegant spaces and attentive staff, Brisbane Marriott Hotel is one of the premier Brisbane, Australia hotels. Discover impressive guest rooms capturing stunning views of the city skyline or the Brisbane River. Relax in the pool or at the award-winning Dome Spa Retreat, which provides hours of blissful distraction. Motion Bar & Grill, our hotel's chic restaurant, offers casual dining with an open-kitchen and outside seating. The Brisbane Marriott hotel specializes in weddings, social events and business meetings. With 720 square metres of flexible space accented by natural light and river views, we are perfect for your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Brisbane Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brisbane
Brisbane Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing