We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked restaurant before I booked flight and accom”

Lazy Susans Eating House
Ranked #17 of 427 Restaurants in Darwin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 27
Description: Chinese & South East Asian fare with a focus on Siu Mei (Chinese roast meats) and worldy premium whisky. Yum Cha serving every Saturday and Sunday mornings.
Restaurant details
Description: Chinese & South East Asian fare with a focus on Siu Mei (Chinese roast meats) and worldy premium whisky. Yum Cha serving every Saturday and Sunday mornings.
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Booked restaurant before I booked flight and accom and sent booking to my boss titled ‘Priorities!’ 4th time back on work trips. Nice vege options.

Coconut juices are not always available which is a shame.

I’ll be back

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank EmmaC6040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

Went to Lazy Susan’s late September. A pleasant night out while holidaying in Darwin.
Very relaxed vibe, accompanied by attentive, caring staff.
Food was o k.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Megsy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Went to the Lazy Susan Resturant Monday evening we booked on line arrived to a friendly welcome the decor and ambence of the place was impressive we were guide to our table ordered drinks and entree"s the Duck'' Hanio Rolls Veggie Pastys they were all excellant followed with mains of Sizzling Black Pepper Steak Steamed Fish and a Prawn Dish finished off with the Banana Sticks and Icecream .All the meals were excellant apart from the Prawns
Afraid I don't like a prawn dish thats cooked with heads and tails on and not cleaned out they should advise there
customers of this on the Menu or when ordering other than that it was a very enjoyable evening

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Desmond N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

we ordered 3 dishes, one of them was peppered and salted king prawns. The other two were steamed fish & a vegetarian in a clay pot. All dishes had too much salt, oyster sauce or sugar. The taste was terrible for all dishes. Another wrong king prawn dish was served to us & we told the waitress we didn't order that. She apologized and took it back. When we asked for the bill, the cost of the wrong king prawn dish was included in it. Perhaps not a deliberate error but it's an indication of its service standard. In any case, the prices were not cheap & we paid about $86 for 3 dishes with the worst flavor we had ever tried in Chinese restaurants. We aren't sure if these were Chinese dishes anyway. We were really puzzled by its high score in Tripadvisor.
We should have gone to Macdonald's for a much better meal at a much lower price!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wuwuwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LazySusans, Manager at Lazy Susans Eating House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Hi Wuwowoo. We would like to thank you for taking time to write us a review, we appreciate all feedback because it gives us the oppertunity to learn more and improve so we can serve our customers better. We are very sorry to learn that you didn't enjoy your meals, the dishes that you have listed here are some of our most popular dishes and we constantly receive glowing reports about them. Perhaps if you comeback ( which we are hoping for ), you can discuss with our staff or myself ( Alvin ) what flavours you prepare and we are always recommend dishes that may suits your palate
Thanks again and we would love to see you again here in our humble restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

It looks like an ordinary Chinese restaurant with take away option, so we were a bit hesitant to go inside. The menu is short and there are no set meal options, which is a good sign with most restaurants, but we find it daunting with unfamiliar Asian restaurants. The staff were helpful and friendly, advising us on portion sizes and combinations. Our food was delicious, attractive and served at a perfect pace. We were encouraged to relax and enjoy our wine after finishing eating. I recommend it highly!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 208BrianB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazy Susans Eating House also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Susans Eating House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing