We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Palms City Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
US$ 172
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argus Apartments Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
US$ 232
US$ 172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Elan Darwin(Darwin)(Great Value!)
US$ 106
US$ 95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 158
US$ 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 102
US$ 83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vibe Hotel Darwin Waterfront(Darwin)(Great Value!)
US$ 148
US$ 121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rydges Darwin Central(Darwin)(Great Value!)
US$ 157
US$ 93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Leprechaun Resort(Darwin)(Great Value!)
US$ 80
US$ 77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveller rating
397
573
259
89
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
573
259
89
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treepoolside restauranta harbour view roomroom servicemitchell streetsmall balconycoffee machinepool areareception stafftop endacross the roadchecking inwet seasonbuffet breakfastnice poolesplanadebalconies
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

This is a well-located hotel in walking distance of the city centre; the food is good, though just the typical "English full breakfast" buffet in the morning - some more international options would help. But why is there another Double Tree by Hilton right next door? It confused a few tour guides!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Beagles42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Beagles42

We appreciate your review and kind comments.

We have 2 hotels located very close to each other: Doubletree by Hilton Darwin and Doubletree by Hilton Esplanade Darwin. This enables guests to use both hotels facilities during their stay

Unfortunately this would be poor communication and service from the tour operators if they do not know which hotel they are collecting guests from. They are very regular visitors to the hotel on every day of the year and have been informed many times that they should ensure that look after their guests when collecting them from the hotels

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Visited Darwin prior tour to Kakadu .
Hotel in a good spot .
We walked everywhere .
Do Hop on Hop off bus around town .
Make sure you get off at Art Gallery / Museum .
Small but very well set out and interesting
Staff at hotel we’re helpful ,breakfast was very nice .
Rooms were good size and nice to have a swim
As it was very hot .
A good stay .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Louise R

Thank you for visiting Darwin. I am sure that you had a great time when you also visited Kakadu.
One of the first things I completed on my first visit to Darwin was the Hop on Hop off bus - it gives you a good idea where everything is

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

There is another recent review here that says something along the lines of - If service is your need then these guys are smashing it - and that is very true. I spend 100 odd days a year in Darwin and this is my preferred hotel, but any of the three Hiltons are the best choice. The staff are amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaneWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear ShaneWylie

Thank you for your kind review and comments. I will pass these on to the team and I know they will appreciate them.

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

If service is everything then the team at the Doubletree are smashing it. From the moment we walked in we were treated with smiles and welcomes. Even our seven year old was treated to the same greetings and service. The large cookies on arrival were unexpected but much appreciated.

Room was a premier queen suite with two queen sized beds. Clean, tidy and modern it had a fantastic view out over the water. Bathroom had a shower and all the soaps, shampoos etc that one required.

The pool area was clean and tidy with towels available and staff were again extremely friendly. “Pool Snacks” were available all day for reasonable prices (between $7-$9) however “snacks” understated the portion sizes and we shared three serves between the three of us for lunch late on the afternoon of our arrival. Prompt service and reasonably priced beers (amongst other things) kept us by the pool for the afternoon. Happy hour ran from 5pm.

The pool has a shallow end (~45cm) for the younger ones which is separated from the deeper side of the pool.

We made use of the in-house breakfast the following morning which had all of the usual suspects - toast, juice, eggs, bacon, cereal, fresh fruit, cold meat, a juice machine, pastries, a waffle maker and pancake machine which our young one found most exciting.

There is a large park directly opposite for those with young ones with energy to burn.

We have always enjoyed “a night in town” when in Darwin. I think we have now found “our spot” when next in town. Thanks to the team there.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Brett A

We appreciate your very kind comments and review. I will ensure that your comments are shared with all the team members.

We also look forward to welcoming back to Darwin

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

From the minute we flew in to Darwin we were delighted with the service provided by the staff at this hotel. As we were getting into a taxi I received a text message from Kevin from the hotel welcoming us to Darwin and said he was looking forward to meeting us.
Check in was quick and easy & we met both Kevin & Patrick who made us feel so welcome. The choc chip cookie was a bonus!
The room facing the Esplanade was lovely as was the view. Beds were so comfy and rooms were exceptionally clean.
We ate in the hotel dining room the first night and met Aiden who was a delight filling us in on things to do in Darwin and some of the history. Breakfast was magnificent. Somehow the chef found out that my daughter was a vegetarian and he went out of his way to provide special meals for her.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Darwin for the location & comfort but most of all for the work the staff put in to make everyone feel as if they were royalty. Many thanks Patrick for running a wonderful show!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Closey2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear Closey2015

Many thanks for your kind review and comments.

We are very happy to read that the Chef was able to look after any dietary requirements for your daughter.

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews