We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to meet people”
Review of Frogshollow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frogshollow
Ranked #42 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great to meet people”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed there for a long time 2x3weeks. Most of people are there for a long stay. So everybody knows everybody. It's like a family atmosphere. But this hostel looks dirty even if people are cleaning everyday. The kitchen closed at 9.30pm which is way too early. There no wifi.
The pool is really cool and location too, just 3min from the supermarket.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Frogshollow, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thankyou for your review,

we are indeed a place where most people choose to stay a few weeks and others a month or so. I am glad we could be there for you.
Oh and we now have wifi availiable for your devices - just chat to the reception desk for a key and pay the weekly wifi or daily wifi price. It is a very secure wifi so does not appear to prompt for a password. Sory for that.
I hope you are keeping intouch with all the friends you made at frogs. Remember our facebook page is a good way to find your mates and remember you are welcome to upload any current pics you have of your stay at frogs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    10
    8
    55
See reviews for
6
26
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chumphon, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

What can I say about Frogs? I had first heard about it in my Footprint Australia guide book. It was the only hostel that received a five star rating. First let me exclaim: this is a Laid Back hostel. There is nothing fancy here, and that's why I fell in love with it. I had also been told to stay at Frogs by my travel companions on the way to Darwin. When I arrived the office was closed but they opened up and booked me anyway. I didn't have a credit card handy and they booked me anyway and told me to pay them in the morning. I found work in Darwin and stayed at Frogs for several more weeks.. here is why:

Frogs is just big enough to have a solid amount of people but not so big they drive you nuts and it has a cozy atmosphere to it since it is surrounded by a canopy of trees. I think the place used to be a hotel I'm not sure. It has two floors and it is just one long building. There is a pool in the back which is under the trees and there are two small pools (I think they should be hot tubs but they aren't hot and plus it was already hot in Darwin so we didn't want hot water in them). You get to know everyone. Frogs doesn't have a ton of rules. You can bring your own alcohol in and out and people have a social gathering on the back tables every night. There are cards and music and its just a light hearted gathering. It's not incredibly loud at night either and that is awesome so there is the best of both worlds because they will ask you to keep it down if you are drunk and loud. The kitchen is reasonable and they have some pots and pans. What I love the most is that they don't throw things out and they have a lost and found. If food is left at the hostel they put it out for the community to use. They also have a huge lost and found in the front which most hostels just throw stuff out. They have a book exchange as well and a computer to use the internet which was free when I went (although it did have a slot to pay and everyone said that it was broken so it was free at the time). They have large industrial fridge space so there is room for everyone's food. The showers were great and cleaned every day. They do not help you find work so don't believe that. They have a notice board and I know several people who worked at the hostel for free accommodation. I have been traveling alone and when I got to Frogs I immediately made a "family" of friends. It's a little bit out of the main drag which is great because it adds to its personality as a hidden gem. Most people don't even know its there. Frogs grew on me quickly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToddOwenWaldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in an 8 bed dorm. We had booked before and said we were arriving at night. When we got there it was teeming with people and the reception was shut, so after a while we found the night person and eventually got to our room. They could've said you have to do this this and this on the email! The room was dirty with thick dust and lots of big cobwebs, there's not enough space for everyone to put there bags and the outside balcony areas are filled with cigarette butts and broken beer bottles and hair! The bathroom is really bad again hair everywhere, showers not working and very mouldy. The kitchen is a box of rubbish and very messy and the lounge area just smells! We didn't see any cleaners and the receptionist was always in a bad mood.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTrip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

this place was dirty, the bathrooms were not clean, a big cokroach welcomed us in the reception (which the lady responded with the raid spray to), people were drinking and smoking outside our room almost all night, made a lot of noise and the whole room smelled like beer. the double cost us more than 70 aud per night, certainly not worth it! there doesn't seem to be anyone in charge at night times in the hostel so everyone just does whatever they want. i recommend everyone to stay away unless you are looking for a party place with low hygenical expections.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 713GlaD713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

It seemed the general consensus of the couple of dozen or so people unfurtunate to find themselves there at the time I was there that this place is a bit of dive (i.e. unclean, unkept, dirty, unhygienic, unsafe). There seemed to be little care from the staff and the little work that was done to keep the place tidy was done by guests wanting to reduce their rates. I was at the better part of the hostel, and it was still terrible.

The health department of the N.T. should be inspecting this place and issuing violations of many, many codes. Toilets and bathrooms seemed to be rarely serviced and expecting toilet paper seems to be setting a target too high. Stairways can be blocked, noise not managed (very noisy at all hours), tile floors usually wet and slippery. One might feel lucky to walk away from this place without an illness or injury. Not worth the money.

Definitely suggest others choose something elsewhere, based on experience from the many, many hostels that I have stayed in around the world.

I even noticed an undercover bicycle storage area had been used as a car trailer space. The pool was badly fenced and I'm not sure the water was properly treated. Garden waste was left lying un-managed in pne corner of the yard. A little effort would go a long way at this place. An un-fixed vending machine at Frogs Hollow had a note (warning) on it from someone (a guest) that 'it takes your money and gives you nothing' - sums up the hostel pretty well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockmanwa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.5 km away
Darwin City Point Hotel
Darwin City Point Hotel
#34 of 37 in Darwin
80 reviews
0.1 km away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#12 of 37 in Darwin
107 reviews
0.6 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#28 of 37 in Darwin
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Youth Shack Backpackers
Youth Shack Backpackers
#32 of 49 in Darwin
297 reviews
0.6 km away
Down Under Hostels
Down Under Hostels
#30 of 49 in Darwin
17 reviews
0.6 km away
Chilli's Backpackers
Chilli's Backpackers
#35 of 49 in Darwin
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogshollow? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogshollow

Property: Frogshollow
Address: 27 Lindsay St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Darwin
Price range (per night): ₹ 967 - ₹ 3,805
Hotel Class:2 star — Frogshollow 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frogs-hollow is a purpose built Backpackers in Darwin and has held on to that chilled out social style of travel- a laid back BYO everything style of backpackers. We are located opposite one of the prettiest parks in Darwin and have no nightclubs in our street so we are one of the quieter areas, in saying that we are often making our own noise and welcome people to play a guitar and have a sing along while the have a BBQ or swim in our pool. Our office hours are kept to a minimum to keep prices low low low and we have a no hassle you about tours policy where if you want it we will book it (no booking fees, and lic travel agent)but we will not actively interrupt your day to sell you one. Our free all you can eat breakie is basic cereals and toast and tea and coffee is out all day. Our big kitchen has all you need to cook and play and we have alot of fridge space. Frogs-hollow Backpackers is all about the independent free-spirited backpackers and we en-devour to provide an easy and cheap place to call home while you explore work or play in Darwin.You will need to bring your own towels and blankets pop a deposit on the plate bowl and cutlery set. We supply Pillows and sheets for the bed. We do not sell food or alcohol on premises but with a few giant fridges and Woolworths only a stroll away - you are sure to make yourself at home in no time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Frogshollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing