We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable hotel right in the center of Darwin”
Review of Value Inn Darwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Value Inn Darwin
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Normally we do not stay in this type of hotel. But as we had arrived late in Darwin the taxi driver told us that we would enjoy the Value Inn because it is very central, cheap, clean, etc. My wife was completely hysterical when we got there because the room was tiny (about 4x4 meters). Nonetheless there was a small tv and a fridge. The folllowing morning, we just loved it and not only because of the price of the room. After we squeezed our luggage under the bed, the room looked significantly larger. And then we went to the hostel next door (same management). The people working at the desk are extraordinarily nice. After more than a month in Japan, Singapore, etc., we were at last able to clean our clothes for almost nothing. Next to the 4-5 washing machines, there is a small swimming pool and - thanks God - a nice bar with chairs outside. We are both 68 years old but we really enjoyed the company of all the young people from a bit everywhere in the world (most of them however seemed to stay in the hostel next to the Value Inn which is probably much cheaper). Another positive point : the hotel is right in the center of Darwin. On the main street therefore but after 9-10:00PM, all is very quiet in this area. Maybe because of the aborigenes outside ?...If I remember well, the linen in the room was changed every day. Unbelievable. As we normally go to 3-4 star hotels, this experience at the Value Inn was truly enjoyable. One of the best anyway during our tour around the world.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for your review of Value Inn. We are pleased that you enjoying staying at our property and you got to meet so many different people who were also travelling from around the world. It is so great to be able to talk to people about their experiences and hints for different cities.

It sounds like you are both young at heart and we hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Regards
Value Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

More suited to Backpackers. right in the CBD Mitchell Street. Rooms very small. but clean.
Noise from the two pubs 1 right next door and Irish bar across the road till 4.am. certainly didnt need my alarm to wake me up. didn t sleep at all

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding Value Inn, Darwin. We are pleased that you found the rooms clean although compact. A large number of seniors stay with us at Value Inn
as we are a reasonably priced accommodation option. We have been addressing the noise issue with the different venues around the street.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Regards
Value Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Have stayed many times at The Value Inn for both business & pleasure. I have always found the Value Inn to be clean & tidy. Well situated in the heart of Mitchell Street, close to pubs, clubs & restaurants. Staff while busy will go out of their way to suit your needs. Reception is open only until 8pm, but sister property Melaleuca on Mitchell acts as 24 hour reception. Staff are also friendly & willing to help in any way shape or form. Guests if the Value Inn can enjoy the facilities of the Melaleuca on Mitchell, just ensure you have your room key! Many friends & family have stayed at both properties & I can highly recommend both.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelsBels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin.

We are please that you enjoyed your stay at our property in Darwin. It is centrally located and is an affordable option for 'business or pleasure"

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you stay in Darwin.

Regards
The Management team at Value Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This property is located right in the heart of the CBD, it is actually two properties, one targeting backpackers, the other frugal minded tourists. I stayed here twice during my trip to Darwin and each room was identical. The rooms are very small and simply offer a clean, safe and secure place to sleep. The staff were very helpfull and were very welcoming.

The only criticisms I can make is that the backpackers make a lot of noise, as do the procession of young drunk people migrating between the numerous bars, clubs & pubs.

There is a small fridge, a TV and a tired wall mounted A/C unit, the later draws air from outside and if you're on the ground floor there are smells brought in from the carpark. However, the beds were sensationaly comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ropesbasstard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin.

We are pleased that you enjoyed both your stays with us in our centrally located property. It is great to hear that you found the property clean and the staff friendly. We do try and minimize the external noise from Mitchell Street with double glazing of windows at the Mitchell Street end.

We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in Darwin.

Regards
The team at Value Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

If all your looking for is somewhere, to sleep, the the Value Inn is just fine. The rooms are very small, they apparently sleep 3 but I wouldn't. We were there for a holiday and only came back to the room to eat and sleep. We had room 52 on the first floor which was on the opposite side to the Malealuka (sp?) Backpackers next door, so we didn't hear a sound, Reception staff were great and very helpful. Our booking included a bottle of wine on arrival, which we never received. Cleaning staff need to pick up there act a bit. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and we would stay there again. Must add the airconditioner was ridiculously noisy!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room adjacent to the Aston (next door), no noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie_G544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VINNDarwin, General Manager at Value Inn Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thank you for your review of Value Inn, Darwin.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at our property. We have discussed your comments with both the Front Office and Housekeeping teams to ensure that they are following through on task. We did check the air conditioner in Room 52 to ensure that it was no longer noisy and it has been replaced.

It is always great to get positive criticism so that we can improve upon our services for guests. We are pleased that we are receiving reviews saying that the rooms are clean.

We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in Darwin.

Regards
The team at Value Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
3.5 km away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#32 of 36 in Darwin
47 reviews
5.2 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#8 of 36 in Darwin
329 reviews
0.3 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,984 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Darwin CBD
Novotel Darwin CBD
#15 of 36 in Darwin
1,400 reviews
1.0 km away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Inn Darwin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Inn Darwin

Address: 50 Mitchell St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Darwin
Price Range: ₹ 2,748 - ₹ 4,681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Value Inn Darwin 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Inn offers 91 budget rooms (2.5 star rating) with some of Darwin's most popular restaurants, bars and entertainment right the your doorstep.Perfect groups, couples & those people looking for a centrally located accommodation option in Darwin.Property features include:Free secured off street parking, 24 hour reception (after hours via Melaleuca on Mitchell next door) Swimming pool, BBQ Area, Lift to all floors. Room features include:Queen & single bed, Colour TV, Tea & coffee making facilities, Ensuite bathroom, Air conditioned, Bar fridge, Serviced daily. Access the facilities next door at Melaleuca on Mitchell including, 2 swimming pools, waterfall spa, pool bar, leisure deck, self catering kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Value Inn Darwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Inn Darwin Hotel Darwin
Value Hotel Darwin
Darwin Value Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing