We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Defence of Darwin Experience
from US$ 26.40
More Info
from US$ 11.00
More Info
from US$ 33.10
More Info
from US$ 26.40
More Info
Reviews (1,891)
Filter reviews
1,874 results
Traveller rating
1,186
587
83
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,186
587
83
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews military museum interactive displays vietnam war pearl harbour bombing raids gun emplacements short film second world war australian history personal stories air raid an eye opener well worth the visit on display couple of hours hop on hop off bus great insight
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,874 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Great place to visit and mull over what happened all those years ago.
Some great exhibits in a relaxed atmosphere. Well presented and some lovely staff

Thank gregelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved this. Lovely helpful staff who were justifiably proud of this exhibit. The virtual reality program was amazing and very well done. The 2 hologram movies were very informative. The Royal flying doctor service is a vital service up here! A sobering and informative movie on the Bombing of Darwin

Thank pollypjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lot of information boards, equipment, vehicles, weapons and artifacts on display - enough to get lost in the history and spend at least half a day there! Quality displays that are informative and are interactive as well. Involves a bit of walking but the displays are well worth the effort!

Thank Caleb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really interesting and relevant collection presented in a totally accessible way - VR headsets and holographic images take you through the experience from a variety of viewpoints. I learned so much more than I normally would in an historical education facility. After seeing this (in the very location where it happened) I realise that education in schools surrounding this attack on home ground is (or was, when I went through school a few decades ago) really lacking. I had no idea that the attack involved such a huge loss of life or that it was so unexpected (very much like Pearl Harbour and carried out by the same forces - yet it is so much less spoken of). Don't go to Darwin without spending a few hours here, it will equally open your eyes and mind.

Thank Marea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautifully presented,
well laid out gardens
Something for everyone, my dad is 83 and comfortably walked the paths.
Major part inside & then at your leisure look around outside.
Cafe & souvenir shop on site

Thank Elizatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed the whole experience especially the virtual invasion of Darwin. The theatre display was also very informative.

Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Initially I walked in thinking, this is a bit of waste of time, just random artefacts. The video presentation though really sets the scene for what happened and you do find yourself being pulled into the real trauma of the event.

Some exhibits on the grounds are better than others. Some army vehicles just seem to be left to rot on the grounds and don't appear to lend themselves to the story. No boards telling you make, model of cars/tanks... so you just find yourself walking past them

A few tour guides, or people walking about would have been nice so you could ask the odd question or 2. I actually didnt see a single worker other than at the kiosk

I would recommend going though. Probably about 1 to 1&1/2 hours should be fine..

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fascinating insight in to the experiences of Darwin in World War 2. I had heard that Darwin was bombed during the war but I was under the impression it had only occurred once. I was amazed to find out that Darwin was bombed many times and that many places at the top end of Australia were also bombed. I really enjoyed listening to the personal stories of people who were there.

Thank Dianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place has an incredible array of military hardware. It is an easy venue to navigate around and covers a couple of conflicts that Australia took part in. There is also some very interesting interactive screen displays inside as well as as short movie on the bombing of Darwin. It's another of those attractions you c as n spend hours looking over.

Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This museum is very well set out and the short film about the bombing of Darwin is well done. The displays are informative and the interactive parts are good too - there’s a wealth of information and you can take in as much or as little as you wish to.

The outside displays are mostly unrestored - they are preserved, but not restored. Lots to see there too and the various huts and sheds dotted around the site have a lot to see. There’s a fair amount of shade around the site too which is much needed in the heat!

Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews