We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra on the Esplanade
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
H Hotel(Darwin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Darwin(Darwin)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,874)
Filter reviews
1,874 results
Traveller rating
627
799
306
97
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
799
306
97
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationmitchell streetone bedroom apartmentharbour viewcoles supermarketwashing machine and dryerfree wifidarwin harbourgood sizean upgradeclose to shopsgreat place to stayenjoyable stayair concentral locationreception staffacross the road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,784 - 1,789 of 1,874 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We arrived early morning, checked in and left late the same day because of late night flights. We booked into the hotel for two nights to ensure we could get some sleep and comfort between the wee hours flights, which is quite normal for Darwin. We didn't get sleep with water pipes rattling big time throughout the morning and throughout our stay there was no hot water for a shower. The air conditioning was not working properly. Overall it was the worst hotel experience we can remember. The communication and response to our concerns from management was unhelpful. We understand things can go wrong at times but we had hoped we had more sympathy and understanding from management about our plight. Not recommended - poorly managed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C_and_GDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed for six nights (2x3 nights) here at beginning and end of four weeks in Australia. On both visits we had a suite with balcony on 5th floor facing the sea. Rooms are large and clean, the staff couldn't do enough for us, excellent service. Small bar in the large, airy reception area.

We did not eat in the hotel, as it is so centrally situated, the busy and atmospheric Mitchell Street being only a minutes walk away. Ate out in Mitchell Street most nights, although having a kitchen was great in that we brought in a meal on two nights and ate it on the balcony. It was nice to sit on the balcony with a drink and watch the sun go down. Ate breakfast outside in Mitchell Street each morning.
Garage in basement, for which a charge is applicable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caley956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

the Mantra on the Esplanade is a beautiful modern spa hotel in a great position near the sea. The rooms on the front have a beautiful view of the sea. We chose a studio apartment with kitchen, it was big with all the comforts and a sliding door separated the living room from the bedroom. Unfortunately it was on the back side so we couldn't see the sea from the balcony. Good service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossy1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

the room was clean and spacious, but ageing and in some respects, in need of a makeover.

my main gripe was with the service. they were unable to immediately confirm that the room had been paid for and tried to charge it again to my personal card. misunderstandings are understandable, but i was unimpressed with how they handled it, bordering on rudeness and disinterest.

the location on the esplanade is good. the food was good.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
Thank julesarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

booked thry hotelclub, and made follow up call to see if they could check arrange for early check in( flight arrival 4am)
unhelpful, so we had to stay in another hotel at the airport.
cockroachs in the bedroom, infestation of large ants on the balcony so not useable. when informed of the ants the receptionist said\oh we have them in out garden too' ( fat lot of help for that info!
we requested that the 2 rooms booked be together, but were place on 1st and 5th floor. said they could put us together by thursday. when thursday came they gave no feedback and ignored our request.
very unhelpful staff. not sure whether there was a bit of racism here as the other 'whiote guest' seem to be treated in a friendly manner. this is something I will never know.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews