We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place tp stay”

Darwin City Point Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Darwin City Point Hotel
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Tasmania
1 review
“Good place tp stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This motel is ideally located, just off Mitchell St. The rooms are basic, but clean & comfortable. The current manager has only been here since March, this year. He is doing his best to improve this property. Myself & traveling fishing buddy, were impressed with the assistance that was offered. There is a nice pool & BBQ, & we were provided with ice & other extras, that we didn't expect. If planning a trip to the "top end', give this little gem some consideration.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pejomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    11
    14
    23
See reviews for
19
17
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Friendly welcome - offered a back room because of front rooms being on the noisy street, but opted for the front room, and were not worried by noise. 24 hour reception was useful and the receptionist always helpful. However, the grey colour of the supposedly white towels and sheets was a definite turn-off. Only one small window to the room, with a curtain that could not be pulled back, making the room very dark.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrol04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Territory
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We arranged to stay at the Poinciana Inn on the 1st August 2009 (which happens to be one of the busiest nights in darwin, the Darwin Cup) We booked and a family room was confirmed. 4 days later, I received a phone call stating that they overbooked and we now had now room. I asked them politely to find us some alternative accommodation and to call me back once this had happened. The manager called me back and said that their was only one room available in the whole of Darwin under $350 (Poinciana were only charging $220 per night) Long story short, they would not pay the difference of $80 at the other motel after they made the mistake, thus telling me to find my own accommodation and pay $300 for it. I was upset and shocked that they could even treat their customers so poorly. Luckily, after her hanging up on me, I called the amazing guys at The Mediterranean All Suites and they got me last family room they had for $270 per night. I would recommend the Mediterranean All Suties to anyone, i stay there regularly, never having a problem! Lesson learned: DO NOT STAY AT THE POINCIANA INN DARWIN!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkin_pie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darwin hotels

australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I agree with all the previous reviewers: extremely noisy at night as the all-night revellers in the area keep you awake the whole night. I arrived in Darwin when there were two conventions in town and pretty much everything bar the backacking places was booked out and had to accept the Poinciana Inn for four nights at $125/night which was a lot of money for what I got. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the night porter Esther was extremely helpful on arrival but it's not a place to spend a holiday!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tongatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

The hotel is centrally located. You are within metres of the main eating and drinking strip. The rooms are clean and functional. The air-con is set at a constant temperature, which we found too hot, coming from a much cooler climate. You are unable to adjust the air-con settings and air-con stops the moment you leave the room as you need the key to turn the air-con on. If the rooms had ceiling fans, the air-con would have been adequate, but there were no fans, which is unusual for Darwin. The comments that others made about street noise is 100% correct. The noise from people spilling out from the (very) nearby nightclubs at 3am continues until at least 5am. Ask for a room as far away from Mitchell St as possible, but this won't guarantee peace and quiet. The staff are OK without being overly friendly. For what you get, the price is outrageous. I wouldn't say I'm overly fussy, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — inadequate air-con, street noise
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
0.4 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#28 of 37 in Darwin
388 reviews
5.2 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#9 of 37 in Darwin
300 reviews
3.2 km away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#33 of 37 in Darwin
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
897 reviews
0.5 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,869 reviews
0.6 km away
Darwin City Edge Motel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin City Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin City Point Hotel

Property: Darwin City Point Hotel
Address: Cnr Mitchell & McLachlan St, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia (Formerly Poinciana Inn)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,283 - ₹ 6,824
Hotel Class:3 star — Darwin City Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Darwin City Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Poinciana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing