We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever!”
Review of Barramundi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barramundi Lodge
Ranked #14 of 17 Darwin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We arrived at the lodge at 9am on a Saturday morning. We asked if we could let our luggage before checking in. The manager said that it was completely safe so we did so. When we came back at 5pm, one bag and a luggage wasn't there anymore. We asked for the owner to come. This person wasn't really concerned by our problem. We decided to walk around and finally we found our luggage (empty of course).

The owner was still not concerned, was really rude with my partner and when I asked if I could wash my clothes (all clean clothes have been stolen), I have been asked to pay for it!!!

In addition, the room was very noisy during the night and seeing everywhere that we need to close doors for safety reason was scary!

In conclusion, after 3 years in Australia, it's definitively the worst place we have been in!!! TO AVOID IMPERATIVELY

Room Tip: Be sure that all your luggage are in your locked room and keep all your valuables with you
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jean-Francois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Barramundi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

After staying at the Lodge for a week I was very pleased with the old fashion service from Nat, Ron and Annie, in a larger hotel you are given the key at reception then left to your own devices to find the room, at Barramundi lodge you are given a tour of facilities up to your room, which I found helpful as I probably would have gone back to reception with a few silly questions. The double room I stayed in was very neat and tidy, the kitchenette a godsend as it meant I could cook in and save a few dollars on take aways. Very pleased with the whole stay made my holiday in Darwin very enjoyable. Thanks you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My family and I would like to thank Nat for our relaxing stay over the race weekend we stayed in room 1 which had a queen bed and a double bed with a single bunk. The room was clean and homely and suited the needs of my family over the three days we stayed, there was definately no home made furniture or venetian blinds, the windows were glass and metal louver windows with an outside mesh flyscreen, one of the stove tops wasn't the greatest with a bit of foil around the edge but on the whole all worked and was explained to us on arrival to the room, all toilets were clean and neat for the time we stayed overall great value for money.
My family and i will definately stay here next time we come to Darwin.
Thanks again for the relaxing stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was the only option for accommodation in Darwin one week in advance. Would not recommend staying as it is not worth $140. We were interrupted twice by reception as they didn't know what rooms they had sold already. Reception takes you to the room and opens the door with a key - this happened twice while they were trying to allocate rooms. Good thing we were in the room when interrupted as this hotel does not have the safest feel with the wiring on the windows and notes on the shared bathroom doors to keep them locked for safety reasons.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarisiaMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our recent stay at barramundi lodge was perfect! We used it as a base for a trip to Bali, terrible flight times, they were able to accommodate this. Great kitchen facilities and a very short walk to the mindle beach markets or the city. We have now stayed there twice and would defiantly stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darwin hotels
1.3 km away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 36 in Darwin
1,956 reviews
1.6 km away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 36 in Darwin
927 reviews
4.5 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
The Leprechaun Resort
#6 of 36 in Darwin
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Value Inn Darwin
Value Inn Darwin
#27 of 36 in Darwin
400 reviews
2.3 km away
Capricornia Motel
Capricornia Motel
#32 of 36 in Darwin
46 reviews
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barramundi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barramundi Lodge

Address: 4 Gardens Rd | The Gardens, Darwin, Northern Territory 0820, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Darwin
Price Range: ₹ 3,004 - ₹ 8,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barramundi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barramudi Lodge is a small family run lodge with 22 rooms. Our single rooms are shared bathrooms and shared kitchen. All other rooms are shared bathrooms with a kitchenette in the room. All our rooms are non-smoking. The single rooms open to a large reception area next to our pool and BBQ area. All other rooms open to a full length veranda. Barramundi Lodge is a 10-15 min walk into Darwin CBD area in this area you have your main Supermarkets - Post Office - Restaurants - Cafes -Nightclubs - Tourist attractions. Barramundi Lodge is a 5 min walk to the botanical gardens and a 10 min walk to the casino; straight across the road from the lodge is a golf course .We can arrange any sight seeing trips for you at the Barramundi lodge reception. Barramundi Lodge is pet friendly upon request only. Barramundi Lodge has free parking on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a coin operated laundry on-site. Barramundi Lodge has a lovely pool area with a BBQ area surrounded by palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Barramundi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing