We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr”

The Overlanders Steakhouse
Ranked #13 of 104 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A windmill on the wall, saddles in the rafters, cricket memorabilia by the score and a warm outback welcome. That's what you can expect to see when you walk into The Overlanders Steakhouse, an Alice Springs dining institution in the 'Heart of Hartley'. But if you think a rustic atmosphere means rough cooking and an old-fashioned dining experience, think again. A check of the menu reveals some surprises. There are the signature dishes of course...like the 'The Famous Drovers Blowout', (tastings of Camel, Buffalo, Crocodile, and Kangaroo), which you'd expect from a 'steakhouse'.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant. From the initial booking enquiry through to the last drinks it was such a pleasure to experience. The service, the food, the overall hospitality and ambience was excellent. Jenny & Mark (& Tony & the waiteresses) were wonderful. Well done & thank you.

Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theschraders, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Mr,

Thank you for your review of our business model and understanding our approach and standards. It was an absolute delight meeting you and your special friends. Continue to stay safe and enjoy your travels to The Daley Waters Pub and your journey home.

Kind regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Very antiquated restaurant, service was overbearing, continually being asked are we ready to order etc, not by one but by several waiters. Could not relax and enjoy ourselves. The steaks we ordered tasted terrible and smelled off. To be fair they did not charge for one steak. Very disappointing night out in Alice Springs.

Thank margi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theschraders, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Margi5,

Thank you for review and yes we clearly remember you both and how incredibly disappointed you were Mr. .... with your food and service levels. This may be a surprise to you, however allow me to continue on with the conversation; The Overlanders Steakhouse is an iconic Alice Springs Restaurant which has a rich presence of history externally and also displayed on its internal walls to support Alice Springs and Central Australia’s heritage and its experience. We pride ourselves on quality food and service levels and once again it is of great disappointment to us that you were unhappy on the night and we were of the opinion that we had professionally attempted on multiple occasions to resolve your concerns during and on conclusion on your visitation.
However to discover that you have continued on with the conversation we will close the conversation with wishing you both positive and safe experiences and happiness in your future travel and entertainment plans.

Kind regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Just had to come here while staying in alice. Very attentive staff and great selection of meats. Now I can say I've tasted Croc, camel and kangaroo. Good ranch house stuff and they know how to cook it.

Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theschraders, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Brian F,

Thank you for your positive review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant.

Continue to enjoy your travels and say safe.

Kind regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

This restaurant was one of the recommendations for Alice Springs. It was a short walk from our accommodation. When we were there, it was not very busy with only a handful of tables. The décor is very 'outback' with old posters of Qantas, cricket memorabilia and a huge crocodile skin as well as other bits of the local fauna on the walls! The atmosphere was cordial and we were welcomed warmly by the host. They do ask for your nationality and place the corresponding flag on your table.
I must say that while I know that we are all trying to move towards energy saving bulbs, the stark white bulbs made the place look cold and clinical...despite all the historical décor. Warm incandescent bulbs or at least better placed uplighters etc. would have given it a much more welcoming feel.
Staff were friendly, though most were 'imports'. They were attentive and courteous. Food was good and healthy portions. Partner had steak...and we found that you do have to order rare in order to get your steak medium rare in Australia. Not only here but in other steak places we have been to. I had the house special of beef ribs. They do have local game but we stuck to the more traditional fare!
Food was good and tasted nice. Ribs could be a bit warmer but it was tasty. Side were nice.
All in all, it was a nice place and the service was good though slightly on the pricy side .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PKKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theschraders, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear PKKC,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and continue to enjoy your travels in Australia.

Kind regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

the food and service were great, you pay a bit more but you when you get that great cooked meal you just know its worth it , the Steakhouse could use a bit of and update but it has it roots and charm, both myself and friend very much enjoy the our selfs.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theschraders, Owner at The Overlanders Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear John P,

Thank you for your review and we are thrilled to hear that you appreciated our food and service standards. Continue to enjoy your travels in Central Australia.

Kind regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Overlanders Steakhouse also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to The Overlanders Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing