We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“For the dedicated camper who wants the outback experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Creek Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alice Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kings Creek Station
Victoria
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“For the dedicated camper who wants the outback experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

After reading earlier reviews I was a bit apprehensive, but found this place to be a real gem and if the reviews keep the whingers away, all the better for those of us who found it so very special.
I travelled with a group of 4 camper trailers and assorted tents (17 adults, 2 children 2 and 4) The reception was welcoming and each camping area is separate from others so lovely and private, the showers were hot and clean. This place is for people who really want to be part of the landscape and to stay here was a pleasure. We went on a guided quad bike ride which I thoroughly recommend. We also bought a BBQ pack which included the most delicious eye fillet of camel! I have ever eaten. The Conway family supports the local community with the Conway Foundation, which enables aboriginal children to attend high school in Adelaide.
If you want the fancy resort head further down the road and leave Kings Creek Station to those of us who really love and appreciated this amazing country.
Dee

Room Tip: The place for those who don't mind the red dirt and the wild camels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YarraVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    72
    33
    23
    13
See reviews for
56
79
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modiin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We used one of the powered caravan park sites. We arrived late and the office was closed so we just pulled in, parked and went to sleep. We paid in the morning and no one made the slightest fuss.
The place feels more secluded than the sites at Yulara or Kings Canyon. We had a place to make a campfire alongside our campervan (need to bring your own firewood - collect at the side of the road but not in the National Park - be careful to park away from the 110 km/h road). Toilet/showers are clean. Water is potable. Kids had fun playing with the dog. Cost for 6 people was $50/night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheRockmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renmark, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

WOW! is the only words I can think to describe a recent experience. My family has been on a round Australia trip and we though Kings Creek would be a wonderful experience. Unfortunately it would have to rank as the worst! I was at the office with my family waiting to book in. There was an obvious incident with another family, but what I heard from the staff is inexcusable. There was a male staff member that was yelling profound verbal abuse upon 2 middle aged female customers and looked like he was going to assault anyone who walked in the door. One of the ladies was extremely upset and crying.
In all my years, I've never seen this sort of treatment from anyone in the tourism industry. It was an appalling display of professionalism.
We promptly went up the road to the Resort where we experienced a high level of professionalism and were well treated. The Resort facilities were very good!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bubblesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

We arrived at King Creek Station looking forward to a once in a lifetime experience. We knew that we were staying in a safari tent but I was gobsmacked when we saw our tent. It was extremely small and we had to leave our suitcases in the car. We were close to the toilet block and kitchen tent and I thought this would be an advantage, how wrong I was!!!! People crunched past our tent all night and the toilet door would bang shut as people went in and out. This added to the noise of the generator and the whip cracking/gunshots(?) from the Bushman Show (an extra $20 a head -great for backpackers but not for us). And then there was the singing.......I am normally pretty philosophical about travel mishaps and adventures but this was a bit of a rip off` Food in the cafe was OK but pricey and you had to eat before 7. Would have been reasonable for half the price. Think twice about this one....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raels216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Please... firstly it had been raining, so all the dust had compacted to mud.. which got everywhere, inside the safari tent, all through the toilets, the restaurant, etc.
Staff were nice and friendly, but I wonder if it was to just made another over-priced buck. We went to the camel 'show' they had with damper and billy tea... but had to sit through 2.5 hours of some guy showing us documentaries and powerpoint slides - not the show I'd expected really..
However, if the weather was warmer, sunnier, the beer was less expensive and they had mobile phone coverage, I'd feel better about it.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.3 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.5 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.2 km away
Lasseters Hotel
Lasseters Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.1 km away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Creek Station

Property: Kings Creek Station
Address: PMB 164, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Alice Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 957 - ₹ 8,315
Hotel Class:2 star — Kings Creek Station 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ian and Lyn Conway established Kings Creek Station in 1981. The station lies 36 kilometres from the magnificent Kings Canyon (Watarrka) and is set amongst majestic desert oaks. Kings Creek Station is a working cattle/camel station with facilities for camping, accommodation and an opportunity to experience the outback either by quad (4 wheel motorbike), helicopter or camel. Basic supplies, meals and drinks can be bought at the station shop. You could even try one of our famous Kings Creek camel burgers!!!! The station is the largest exporter of wild camels in Australia and sells camels for live export, live domestic sales and meat. 37 documentaries have been filmed at Kings Creek and the station hosted Australian Geographics' fourth expedition. In 2001 the world famous Australian Safari travelled through and stayed at the station. Kings Creek Station has also been featured on 7 Sunrise Weather hosted by Grant Denyer in 2012. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kings Creek Station Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing