We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed and overpriced building site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel was a huge disappointment. We stayed here twice in 4 days and after the 1st time wished we could have cancelled and stayed elsewhere for our return visit.

It started really badly. While we were visiting the Desert Park, our bags were delivered to Lasseters and we were assured would be taken to our room. When we arrived later, there was no sign of our bags and when we asked at reception, no-one had a clue where they were. My husband suggested that they give us a free drink at the bar while they sorted the mess out. Some 30 minutes later, the bags had been located. It transpired that they'd swapped our room and not bothered moving the bags. Why the new guest didn't report having someone else's bags in their room to reception beats me. Although I repeatedly gave the reception staff details of our bags, they couldn't seem to get it right, so in the end I accompanied one of them up to what should have been our room to arrange for the transfer. Even then, she wanted to move all the bags from that room to our new one even though they included the other guest's stuff. She and I moved the bags between us as they were short staffed and had no porters on duty. In fact, I never saw a porter the whole time I was there and was never offered their services either.

Our room was actually very nice and newly decorated. However, the broadband access didn't work and despite logging a problem with their off site support staff, it was never resolved. We also had a room with a bathroom for a disabled person which flooded terribly when we had a shower so the whole room, which was large, got soaked.

Our next disaster was the Juicy Rump. We had to wait 45 minutes for our steaks which were all very overcooked and tough. I'd also ordered a baked potato and was given chips. My husband complained and we were given a $30 voucher to spend on drinks or food on our next visit. They did offer to recook the steaks to be fair, but we just didn't want to wait another 45 minutes.

On our next visit, 3 days later, we were assigned a room on the edge of the building site. Everywhere we walked, rooms were either been refitted, doors were being painted or there was new building work going on. This room was nowhere near as nice as the 1st one- quite small and old fashioned, but this time the broadband access worked. For the price we'd paid, I thought we were overcharged. Naturally, we didn't bother eating here again!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the building site and ask for a newly fitted out room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iberian_Lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Hi Iberian_Lynx,

Thank you for your feedback on Lasseters Hotel Casino.

I was disappointed to read that your stays at the hotel were not satisfactory and we didn’t provide our usual standard of service. If possible, I would like to discuss the above feedback with you further. This will give us the chance to talk about the issues raised and reach an outcome. It will also enable us to follow up with the correct staff.

Please advise a contact number and a suitable time to call through using the below details.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Kate Ernest
Phone: +61 8 8950 7772
kate.ernest@lasseters.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 937 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed in a two bedroom suit and found it very clean and presentable on arrival. The only issues I have was the spar didn't work properly, the toilet would be constainly running and I couldn't watch any movies on the tv.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Hi Kevin B,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lasseters Hotel.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of the room issues you identified during your stay. For next time, please let Reception know these issues and we will rectify them as soon as possible.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Kate Ernest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Had a week in Alice & Lasseters Hotel Casino catered for everything I needed. Lovely room, great service throughout the venue, the new pool is also amazing.. am looking forward to when all hotel renovations are completed. Steaks in Juicy Rump were sensational & all staff made my stay enjoyable. Definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swervington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Hi Rick F,

Thanks for your review on Lasseters Hotel Casino. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our property. The developments are definitely an exciting time for us. You can keep up to date on our progress on our website.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Kate Ernest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was my fifth visit to Lasseters. The first was good but since then it has gone bad.

The seafood buffet ran out of seafood after 20 min and was not replenished. I was charged full price despite my showing my Lasseters card. Could honestly say it was the worst buffet I have been to.

In my room I paid for the 24 hour movie deal. the service was not working after I watched my first movie. I asked reception about this and they got it fixed after about 4 hours. I was still charged twice (2 day stay). Defiantly not worth the money.

I found the casino service to be terrible. I will not visit again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrankB514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassetersHotel, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Hi FrankB514,

Thank you for your review on Lasseters Hotel Casino.

I was disappointed to read that we missed the mark with your stay. While it is never pleasant to receive negative feedback, it does give me the opportunity to address and rectify shortcomings in our service and products.

I look forward to the challenge of exceeding your expectations should you return to Lasseters and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further questions.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Kate Ernest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Each stay was for 1 night separated by 3 days. The first time the room was good and in building 1 not too far from reception, we ate in the Juicy Rump and the food was good but somewhat noisy, all restaurants currently are on the perimeter of the casino. The second visit the room was in building 3 quite a distance from reception, especially if you have bags and was not as nice a room as the first visit, we ate in the Asian fusion restaurant which was excellent and quiet but more expensive than the Juicy Rump. The hotel is undergoing extensive renovations due for completion in 2013 so the pool was closed. The changes will be made to the Casino, the restaurants, amount of parking and accommodations and based on the model and the projected cost of $34 million it should be a significant upgrade. Compared to other hotels it represented good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.7 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
578 reviews
0.5 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,055 reviews
1.1 km away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
756 reviews
2 km away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters

Address: 93 Barrett Dr, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: ₹ 5,444 - ₹ 11,730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lasseters is the centre of entertainment in Alice Springs with two bars, three restaurants including Juicy Rump bar and grill, Tali featuring contemporary Australian cuisine with a hint of the Outback, and Tempo an exclusive tapas, wine and cocktails bar, as well as an international standard casino, 24-hour health and fitness facility, Lavish beauty salon and day spa, 205 four and a half star hotel rooms and adjoins the Alice Springs Convention Centre. Lasseters enjoys picture-perfect surroundings beneath the stunning MacDonnell Ranges, alongside the banks of the Todd River, and adjoining the Alice Springs Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lasseters Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing