We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complimentary room included in day tour to Uluru”
Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alice Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Alice Motor Inn is located a bit more off track than other accommodations in Alice but it is rather quiet at night and it only takes 15min by foot to reach the city center and other attractions.

The whole property is styled like an American Motel with cars spaces in front of the rooms.
Located in the middle of the big building is the tinny reception where I was greeted by some very friendly staff that could give a non local some appreciated advice on snake encounters.

A small and clean looking pool is located right across the reception if you ever do want to cool down a bit.

Starting in the very early morning you can enjoy some basic breakfast in the community kitchen. They offer toast as well as some cereals. You will also find a microwave in here.
It is a pity that some guests do not seem to clean up after themselves as requested though and leave the dishes in the sink.

I was staying in a double bed room equipped with a small kitchen area (water boiler, mini fridge and some coffee & tea to enjoy) and an ensuite bathroom with bathtub/shower.
The place did not seem to be the cleanest with some spider webs on the walls and at the ceiling but I would have imagined worse for this price range. According to the staff the room has just been through some pest control and I did not see any creepy crawlies during my two night stay.

A good way to travel from and between the airport is with the shuttle you can book right after landing. They will make a stop right in front of the gates and bring you back to the airport with some time to spare for your flight back.
If you prefer to get a taxi, you will also find a free taxi phone in the community kitchen with the transport prices at display.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top level get less noise from arriving or departing guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 215Lisa215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Thank you for your time in commenting on our property.
We try very hard to make all our guests as comfortable as possible during their stays with us.
We apologise for the one cobweb we found in Room 17. it must of been overlooked, and yes we try very hard to keep our rooms free of "Creepy Crawlies".
The community kitchen is a great meeting place for guests to catch up and exchange some friendly chit chat, travel advice etc, while enjoying our free continental breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2016

Needed a double bed in Alice, this was reasonably priced. Very friendly welcome, large older style room, comfy double bed. Found the front gate at night confusing. Breakfast was very basic - cornflakes, toast & coffee. Wifi only works in kitchen. Quiet, not noisy, a little out of town & very secure. Would go again

Room Tip: Down stairs is easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peterelliottart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the confusion with our car and pedestrian gate. we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as a base for 5 nights with our 3 kids. Was a little disappointed that the 'family suite ' was in fact just a big room with a basic kitchenette. Room is basic and a little tired but spatious clean and airy.

Staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a nice clean pool to help with the heat.

Breakfast is basic and you need to get there early on busy days to ensure you and some choice.

Overall as good budget option for a short stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
6  Thank Neil646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Spacious accommodation, clean, and well presented. Comfortable & quiet nights sleep.
Light breakfast included...fruit juice, cereal, toast, coffee/tea in the kitchen.

Staff were friendly & helpful...bags securely stowed away during camping trip to Ularu.

Supermarket/bottle shop available about 5mins walk away.

Extraordinary good value!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Thank you for your overview of our property and surrounds.
We are glad your stay was memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

You should not expect a 5 star hotel but it is quiet and clean. The air conditioner works great and you will need it while in Alice Springs, especially during this time of year. But the one thing that sold me on this place was Marilyn, the owner. She is such a nice, friendly person and so willing to help. She volunteered to make a call for me about my transportation. She is very knowledgeable about the area and can put you in touch with any of the tours of the area.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Boyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Hi Boyd,
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
i am more than happy to help our guests in any way possible to make your stay in the Red Centre as enjoyable as possible.
I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.5 km away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
314 reviews
2.5 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
432 reviews
2.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
537 reviews
1.2 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,015 reviews
3.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: ₹ 3,923 - ₹ 5,413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing