We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a dog kennel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alice Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park
Ti Tree NT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Living in a dog kennel”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed for 5 out of our planned 6 nights and left early because of continually barking and howling dogs. The amenities were not actually filthy as reported by one of your reviewers, but were certainly not clean. The park itself was of a very poor standard, with rubbish everywhere and prickles in the grass. Management were never seen doing maintenance or reviewing our complaints about the barking dogs. We left after unsatisfactory discussions with management. WE WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN,

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else & put your dog in a boarding kennel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzntez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    29
    16
    6
    15
See reviews for
17
39
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just 15 bucks a night with young kids and dogs allowed. Great value for cleaning up before heading out bush

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldoofbanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Wow not sure about all these other reviews they seem to be a few years old.
There are new owners now and the place is looking fantastic. We stayed a few years ago and the park was no where near the standard that it is now, the grounds are looking great and well maintained, also the have a great new state of the art dog wash there which is amazing my pooch wasnt to happy about it though. I think the new owners are doing a great job and are extremaly and friendly the manager even helped us set up our van. They have only been there a year but have done such a great job.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Will never stay again. From the moment we checked in the lady was rude, the toilet block was filthy, it was a hostile and grubby place. Most expensive we have stayed at $36.00 for nothing. NEVER AGAIN.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank darwin12368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjamesn, Owner at Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Wow, Sorry you had a bad experience with the park, we have just bought it off the old owners and will be tuning it around, the park has a good feel to it but yes it was run down and needs some changes, we have started and have some new staff in place. If you are travelling our way again in the future please do come and checkout our progress with a free stay.

The Newman Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulladulla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Sad to disagree with the review above, I have found both the owner AND all staff to be unpleasant, without any level of courtesy, Unhelpful is a mild word for most staff, but one was bordering on the psychotic. The latter hurled abuse at me, but it was not just me - I spoke to several fellow "greys" who had had similar experience; one friend from the NSW South coast had a wife in tears as a result. I cannot under any circumstances recommend this site. And it is not cheap at $38 per night. They even charged a bond for the dog! On the plus side, "she who must be obeyed" tells me the laundry is good; however, this morning I had to walk through a urine flood to get to the urinal. The sites are small, very small. We could have forgiven them anything in return for a pleasant nature, a smile, and accurate information; what I received was decided mixed advise re: issues like mail. I will not be back; nor will my friends. I have heard along the grapevine that the site is for sale; is anyone surprised?

Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank stw573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
idilic, Owner at Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
I am sorry to hear that you have had such a bad experience I find it difficult to understand that all the staff and myself were not friendly towards you. I am now aware of one staff member who had been very rude and abused my clients and told them that he was the manager he is no longer employed here and will never get another position here ever. There has been a small number of persons causing confict and upset within the park they also have been removed.
We do take a security deposit on pets for safety reasons which states conditions for the pets entry to our park.and a copy is issued to the client. We do not wish to see animals injured or fellow travelers or staff injured, We have had a good track record over the past 18 years until just recently one of our staff was attacked by a dog and has had several months off work and numerous operations and suffering. In this particular case the owners of the dog were not overly concerned as to the welfare of our staff member. The owners of the animal did not comply with our conditions. WE HAVE A DUTY OF CARE TOWARDS OUR GUEST AND STAFF
Our site rate has never been $38.00 Per Night.
Unfortunately the Urinal did overflow due to some person placing cigarette butts in it however it was attended to promptly. We request guest not to smoke in our amentities. There have been a few inconsiderate people causing damage, which we attend to as soon as possible.
Re the contradiction of mail information given to you, which has been related to us by fellow travelers we cannot fathom out why mail arrives quickly some days and not others. Perhaps these questions should be directed to the Post Office.
Our sites are acceptable by AAA standards and are by no means very small in size
We are pleased to hear that the laundry was satisfactory and met your wife’s approval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
2.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
2.7 km away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
404 reviews
4.2 km away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.4 km away
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
221.7 km away
Kings Creek Station
Kings Creek Station
#10 of 29 in Alice Springs
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park

Property: Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park
Address: 40 Ragonesi Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Alice Springs
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,087 - ₹ 7,408
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Caravan Park is nestled at the base of the majestic MacDonnell Ranges. Situated 5km south of the Alice Springs town centre, the park is a great base to explore the amazing landscapes, history and culture of Central Australia. We offer 1 and 2 bedroom cabins, grassy powered and unpowered sites as well as bush camping amongst the lemon scented gums. We are also a dog friendly park offering dog wash, off leash run area, dog minding and cabins with dog yards attached. all us today to book your stay at the Heritage Caravan Park, Alice Springs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing