We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tapas style meal in bar”
Review of Glass Brasserie

Glass Brasserie
Ranked #171 of 6,793 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 23 - US$ 165
Cuisines: French, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

Very much enjoyed a tapas style dinner in the bar area of Glass. Great food, super wine list, including the 2015 Grossett Riesling. Interior remains eye catching and views across George Street at night to the QVB add something special too. Worth a visit.

Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Hi John K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent dining experience at glass brasserie.

It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed great tapas, wine and ambiance in our bar area recently, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back at our restaurant again soon.

Best regards,
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 417 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2015

This is a high end restaurant & definitely more on the expensive side but worth every cent, the service is fine dining quality & the complimentary bread is delicious. We ordered a shared meal for 2 & had the lamb, the meat was absolutely amazing & cooked to perfection, the sides we ordered were also fantastic & we couldn't fault anything, we also had a pre dinner cocktail on arrival which was yum, can't wait to go back one day!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Freez93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear Freez93,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed great food, cocktails and service with us recently, and we certainly hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back at glass brasserie again soon!

Best regards,
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

On our arrival, although the doors open, initially told restaurant was still closed for the next 5 minutes - booking details not taken, not told to wait or that we would be called - slightly baffling! Understandable that they weren't rushing to accommodate us given they weren't open, but still a strange welcome as if there was an "on" switch at the start of stated hours. Take two. Taken to our table promptly and menu and drinks briefly explained. Waiter courteous and prompt, generally easy to get their attention when needed. When enquiring about the menu, however, some details were lacking such as ingredients in the side dishes and on bringing out the food some hesitation as to what they were actually serving. Ambience typical of hotel restaurant, but warmer and more relaxed. Many business meetings occurring at the same time. Food portioned very generously - made the mistake of ordering too much! All dishes cooked meticulously and constructed with multiple flavours, although not always combining harmoniously. Asian-inspired dishes particularly flavourful, the pork belly wraps done Peking duck-style a wonderful mix of earthy pancakes, salty and rich sauce, silky fat and meat, and crispy skin with tang from shallot and extra crunch and refreshment from cucumber. Scampi cooked perfectly, sweet and succulent, although a sauce of apple slightly too tangy and overpowering. Ravioli with spinach moorish, figs just providing enough sweetness to freshen the palate. Beef short rib handled gently, perhaps slightly underseasoned but comforting. Snapper with crispy prawns in an unctuous broth equally as indulgent. Too much food over lunch to consider desserts or coffee!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bryant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear DrBK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with us at glass brasserie.

Despite a cold start, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed courteous, prompt service, and generous, flavorful food last January.

It is a shame that you couldn't squeeze in dessert, but fingers crossed you will have an opportunity to sample them in the near future!

Best regards,
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed this wine bar. Great selection of wines, beautiful cheese platter and very friendly, helpful staff. So lovely sitting at a window seat late on a Saturday afternoon, with a view of the beautiful QVB. Will definitely be back and highly recommend this wine bar.

Thank Sjlockrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear Sjlockrey,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed great food, wine, service and a beautiful view during your recent visit to our glass Wine Bar.

Enjoying a cheese platter and wine whilst overlooking the stunning QVB is definitely an afternoon well spent, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you at our restaurant and bar again soon.

Best regards,
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

I'd heard a lot about Glass, so decided to have a work meeting there. Now the prices are a bit expensive but that's what Glass is all about, the service was excellent so we didn't mind paying extra. In fact the service was perfect. Every single waiter or waitress filled our cups of water Every time they walked past. The atmosphere was very nice, the restaurant is open and airy, the booth we sat in was very comfortable. The selection of food was excellent and so is the selection of wine. I had the lamb cutlets which was very nice. The portions were appropriate as well. My guests all ended up with various of the grill steaks which they all enjoyed. In summary Glass met all my expectations, I definitely recommend it for that power lunch, or if you want to take that special someone out for a special night...... What ever the situation if it's special then go to Glass and fill a glass...... One of the premier eateries in Sydney.

Thank Mazi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear Mazi69,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is truly wonderful to learn that you experienced great food, wine and service during your recent lunch at glass brasserie, and it is an grand privilege to be classed as one of Sydney's premier eateries.

We will endevour to maintain this level of guest experience, and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you at our restaurant again soon.

Best regards,
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glass Brasserie also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Glass Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing