We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveller rating
400
384
110
31
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
384
110
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free movies muesli bars non alcoholic mini bar australia square rooms are small circular quay atrium room nespresso machine great location pitt street wynyard station opera house complimentary wifi modern hotel short stay bottled water nice bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 941 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This hotel is in a great location as you can pretty much walk to all the main attractions. Circular Quay is very easy to reach and hence the Opera House. The Rocks is a bit of a walk but enjoyable. The Art Gallery, St Mary's Cathedral and the Gardens requires an up hill walk but for people with average fitness this is not a problem. The service here was great as they let me leave my bags locked up for most of a day until I departed. There is great shopping in Pitt St just up the road. I had a room for wheelchair access although I am not in a wheelchair as it was a special deal and it was very roomy. Everyone who works here is friendly and helpful. There are also great restaurants and bars very nearby. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: I had the wheelchair access room and it was very roomy and cheaper when i booked
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm135, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi lisaand4others,

thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the hotel.

we want you to come back as well...so next time you plan a trip, please contact me and I will make sure you are looked after with a special deal.

Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Room is quite tight and no bureaus or dressers so you literally must live out of your suitcase as there is no place to store your extra items. No view except the street. Location is excellent for Circular quay, Opera House and ferries- 10 minute walk. Also for all our tours we were picked up right across the street which was very convenient. Breakfast is $25.00 pp. and the coffee is horrible- take hot chocolate. There's several bars/ restaurants near by. The bar in the hotel is quite comfortable also. The name of this hotel is explained during the Rocks tour- interesting.

Room Tip: Really no good views anywhere that we could tell- just city views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barbdolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm135, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi barbdolls,

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it easy to get around Sydney.

I am surprised that you didn't enjoy the coffee at breakfast and would be good to know why, as we have a fairly good selection of Nespresso pods. All feedback is good feedback as it lets us fix a wrong.


Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Spent one night in this hotel before going on a cruise. It was reasonable but the rooms are tiny, really tiny. They didn’t have a window you could see out. The restaurant is not open on a Sunday. Location is very convenient but not where I would want to spend too many nights, especially if you have a problem with claustrophobia.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chrissiemacsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm135, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi chrissiemacsmith,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing the hotel. Yes our lead in room are are on the small side but they serve a purpose for those looking for a quiet room on a budget.

We have 5 other rooms types, which are larger in size and the price difference is kept to a minimum, especially during the winter low season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Loved the hotel overall. Staff were great and the location was perfect, within walking distance to all the main parts of town. The room was small but tidy and well resourced but there was no natural light and no view - from the window you could see into the central chamber of the hotel and, through the opposite window, the lift so if your curtains were open, people waiting for the lift would see straight into your bedroom. Bit strange but we coped!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Persemillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm135, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Persemillion,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review the hotel.

Hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed at The Tank Stream between the 29th of December and the 3rd of January. The hotel is, in my opinion, in an ideal position, located just minutes walk away from Circular Quay, the Opera House, main shopping streets, a couple of train stations and other attractions. The hotel itself was spotless and while our room wasn't large it suited us just fine. The staff were very helpful in providing directions, getting taxi's etc., and the gift tray of chocolates on New Years Eve was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm135, General Manager at The Tank Stream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Alan S,

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the additional gift basket over the New Year period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews