We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food...a little too pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malaya

The Malaya
Reserve with
The Malaya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 5,770 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 22 - US$ 89
Cuisines: Asian, Singaporean, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Magenta, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food...a little too pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

The Malaya has delicious sounding items on the menu. We opted for a vegetarian selection for lunch today, asparagus and the tempura cauliflower...yum.

Pricing is an issue, as it is just a little too high on the scale...$3.50 for a serve of steamed rice is out of line.

Helpful?
Thank Dave_Guia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    266
    76
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service - will be back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Went on a friday night - hadn't booked and initially was seated at a table where there wasn't much of a view. However, without any prompting, whilst we were having our first drink, a table became vacant and they moved us to it. This was great because it had a great view of Darling Harbour at night.

We had the fixed menu for 2 as we hadn't been there and were unsure what to select. It was great! Really tasty food.

Service was great - I would definitely return there.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TennysonTrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Top class traditional malaysian cusine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Sydney has some great Asian restaurants and this is one of the bests. It is one of those restaurant’s one needs book well in advance. We had four people in our group and it was an awesome gourmet food experience. We had spicy prawn cutlets for an entrée and for the mains we had the original Malaya curry and eggplant dish called Szechuan. All dishes yummy and mouth-watering. The table service was outstanding as well. We will go back there again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joe_rodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“fantastic food although not cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

The food was fantastic and we had the fixed menu for 2 people. Every dish was delicious and served in a timely way.

The view is fantastic and although it rained we still had a great night.

Highly recommended if you want to impress visitors to Sydney or have a great business meal

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_travellers_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Malaya...Consistent To The Core”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Have been going to The Malaya way back when they were in Walker Street, North Sydney and then at George Street, Chinatown in the city. The prices have gone up and the restaurant itself is more upmarket, however the food is the same. Tried most dishes from their unbeatable Laksa, Satays with that finger licking peanut sauce...but in my mind there is one dish that you will not get served anywhere else on this planet. The Chicken Sambol and steamed rice. For me this will be the one dish that will take me back..again and again and again. Please Malaya do not ever change this menu offering....

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerardlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Malaya also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Malaya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing