We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and excellent service”
Review of Blue Eye Dragon

Blue Eye Dragon
Ranked #14 of 6,960 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Chinese, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City West
Description: At Blue Eye Dragon, you will feel at home as soon as you step through the Dragon gate into our beautiful bamboo courtyard. Simple ingredients treated with care, cooked with passion and served with a smile are what we do daily. The wide selection of dishes created by the one and only Jade Huang showcases the best of what Taiwan has to offer. Blue Eye Dragon is about family, creating joy and memories around the dinner tables.
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We decided to try this restaurant as it was within waling distance of Oaks Goldsborough where we were staying - just wish we'd found it earlier! It's a little tucked away but worth the effort to find it.

Restaurant is very well presented, it's smart but cozy and you don't feel crammed in. The staff were attentive but not hovering or hassling you.

The food - probably the best we had in Sydney, dumplings were delicious (tempted to order more but didn't want to spoil the rest of the meal) and could have just eaten those all night. The main's were spicy as we'd expected but had a lot of flavour too.

When we're back in Sydney we'll visit again, and recommended to friends out their so hopefully they went and enjoyed it too.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diving1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

The best restaurant in Sydney by a country mile. This place is truly a hidden gem and I don’t want to give it a good review in case it
Becomes too popular and we can’t get back in but they deserve the praise.
We had the 6 entrees and 4 mains banquet. We picked half the dishes and left it up to the waitress to pick the rest. Good decision, her selections were better than ours, especially the beef in pancakes, yum yum.
When we were leaving the manager personally asked us how we enjoyed the food and thanked us for coming.
It may not have the harbour view but the food was amazing

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Grantwatson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our first visit to this restaurant before a show at the Lyric Theatre. The food is exceptional - loved the dumplings, beef pancake, prawn cutlets to start - highly recommend all these and the mains we selected all excellent. Service is attentive and friendly. Setting in old church hall lovely with tables well spaced and noise levels very comfortable. Highly recommend and we will return. Approx $70 per person with beer/wine.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Chlotoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Tried on the basis of a TA rating and was glad I did
Had pork dumplings as a starter and they were as good as I’ve had in China
The Ling with shredded ginger was great - moist big pieces - shallots chilli and soy gave a nice overall flavour
I’d happily return!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank trevorjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This restaurant is quite literally a 100 metre walk from our apartment and generally we will order and go pick it up.

We decided to have a bit of a date night and eat in this week and once again they do not disappoint. Restaurant was busy (Saturday night) however the service was still impeccable. Quick (but slow enough to enjoy the meal) and most importantly, friendly.

We ordered pork dumplings, signature beef and some of the cabbage and bacon (from mains) are shared everything between us. Everything was delicious and not greasy in any way.

This restaurant is very unassuming and you have to know it is there to visit, It looks a little like an old village hall inside and how it is decorated is very good.

Wine list is good and reasonably priced.

If you are a local or just passing through Sydney at the Star/darling Harbour - make sure you take a visit here. Afterwards head to Harris street and hit up the pubs and bars!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Eye Dragon also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Blue Eye Dragon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing